We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Afternoon tea at the Imperial Hotel Delhi
Ranked #6 of 133 Coffee & Tea in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chicagoan in London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

lovely experience. As Londoners, we like our tea, this was a beautiful classy experience on par with any establishment in London

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank ppasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    49
    19
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

I was living in The Imperial hotel and had an afternoon tea. It was nothing special as they did not have a huge variety of teas and if you wanted to have a cookie or cake with your tea then there is another place to go first. So, from an organizational perspective not ideal. It also seemed that the waiter forgot about me and I had to look for him to get the check.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andreas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
498 reviews
326 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Tea on the patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Lovely spot spread over the patio (ac) and the garden area. Choice of food was excellent and you could choose from a very wide range of pastries from their bakery called Baguettes. Coffee was pretty good compared to rest I had in India. Tea was lovely. Service was excellent.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lyn&MarkfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
172 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Elegant afternoon tea”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

For me, the essence of the British colonial style afternoon tea, taken in this evocative setting, is the cucumber sandwich, and these were provided by special request. Tiffin at the Imperial is highly recommended when you reach the point of your perambulations around this hot, dusty, noisy but unmissable city, when you need to wash the dust from your throat. Do not go in search of ice cold drinks to slate a tropical thirst, these will simply give you dreadful stomach cramps. Take it from an old India hand. I learned 30 years ago that the best thirst quencher in a hot climate is hot, sweet tea. And you could not take yours in a finer setting than The Imperial. 'Passage to India', 'Train to Pakistan', 'Best Exotic Hotel Marigold' fans - it is all here.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
301 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“relaxed, unhurried and perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

we celebrated our mothers 81st birthday there after lunch elsewhere. the setting is perfect out on the verandah, service very thoughtful and it was a delightful experience

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gayatri G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Afternoon tea at the Imperial Hotel Delhi also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Afternoon tea at the Imperial Hotel Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing