We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very good western food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Brown Bread Bakery

Brown Bread Bakery
Ranked #263 of 12,554 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $8
Cuisines: International, Italian, Indian, Israeli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Delivery, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Pahar Ganj
Description: Restaurant 24h open with German Bakery and Cheese Shop. Brown Bread Bakery and Organic Food P.Ltd is the very first organic bakery with restaurant in India with branches in Varanasi and Delhi. Since 2015 we started also a Vegan restaurant Varanasi. The company supports the projects of Learn for Life by using the profits for funding the school and to provide fair working conditions for all the staff. We use as many organic ingredients as possible for our products. All our bakery items are made from different kinds of organic grains which are always grinded freshly. The grains, the rice and the lentils are produced by certified small farmers which we visit and check regularly.
Varanasi, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“very good western food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

If you have been travelling for a long time in India, you start missing western food like cheese, ham and BROWN bread.
I was there several times- for breakfast and dinner.
The cheese varity is so great and you can enjoy each of them. The same it is with ham- which is imported from Italy. But the most which I enjoyed after months of travelling in India was the brown bread! When it is still warm from baking it is the best.
The atmosphere in the restaurant is so calm and relaxing, the waiters are really friendly (sometimes a bit slow- but this might be due ti the fact that everything is organic and fresh) and on the rooftop you can watch the busy streets. Moreover in the evening they have a rooftop cinema.
I really enjoyed the meals and and the atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lisa_teresa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    42
    18
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not so good experience at the hyped german bakery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Had read good reviews about this place.. So, me and my 2 friends were really looking forward to the yummy food. But, sadly the food wasn't up to the expectations. We ordered chicken Salad, Omlette, lasagna apart from some juices. The lasagna and the salad wasn't up to the expectation. The Omlette that was served was cold, not properly cooked and smelled of stale cheese. So, we asked them to replace it with fresh mozzarella cheese. But, instead the guy brought it back this time cooked with some really foul smelling cheese. So, we asked them to replace it again. By the time, he brought the Omlette, we were already full and wasn't in mood to eat that Omlette.
The service is really laid back, which is okay. It took him 40 mins to get the 1st Omlette.
Apart from this, they serve organic breads which are quite nice, especially the multi grain bread.
The ambience is quite nice.

Helpful?
1 Thank ExploringparHorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

Great food! Great service! Great atmosphere! There is nothing more to say! I took a peak into the kitchen and it was amazingly clean!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vinzenzkrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice oasis in delhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

A lovely place in the touristic part of delhi. I visited this place 4 times with my girlfriend. We only had breakfast.
We have been at the one in varanasi aswell but this one is better

+ side
Staff are really nice.
Great bread when its newly baked.
Nice buffet
Lovely cheese selection
Free wi-fi!

- side
A bit long waiting for everything
Smoking is allowed inside, the restaurant is not very airy so its sometimes very bad air inside.
Two of the days the bread was a bit dry and boring.

Overall a nice place. A must if you are in delhi.

Helpful?
Thank Maxcstrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Some organic food above the hustle bustle of Delhi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

After enjoying the nightly Arti puja, our group had dinner here. I thought it was worth the walk up the 6 flights of stairs. It was fairly quiet with a little breeze. I especially like the warm rice pudding for dessert. The Dal Makani was very good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brown Bread Bakery also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Brown Bread Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing