We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a well budgeted stay in delhi”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Shiv Dev International
Ranked #563 of 1,095 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Ulsan, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a well budgeted stay in delhi”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Had a very good time here, Stayed with my family, rooms were well maintained and the staff was very helpfull and reaching up to our needs most of the time. The quality of breakfast served was good.I have stayed in many hotels but the care this hotel gave was excellent. They will take care of all your travelling needs and get u the best deals for sightseeing. rooms were quiet spacious and well maintained. If it Delhi again then definetly am going to stay here and also recommend the same.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manojkumar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    18
    14
    26
See reviews for
21
31
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laramie, Wyoming
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

I am surprised to see others who have given Shiv Dev a good rating. I stayed there for four nights this year and hated every moment of it. My group had three rooms and the important thing to note is that this property essentially has two separate sides. There are even separate staircases and elevators. The husband/wife couple had a double room in the better side, and their room was pretty good with a clean floor and bathroom. I was on the slum side and everything was literally filthy, including cockroaches in my bed and an overall terrible smell. After three nights I could not stand it anymore and asked to be moved to a room on the better side of the hotel for my last night. They said that, if I moved, they would charge me a higher room rate and would apply that higher rate EVEN TO THE PREVIOUS NIGHTS I had spent in the hellhole of a room I had been in. I could not believe this! Two of us changed US Dollars to rupees at the front desk, and we both got shorted on our exchange by what appeared to be intentional miscounting. If you think getting a dirt cheap room is your goal, then you can get it at Shiv Dev. If you want trustworthy staff and cleanliness, look elsewhere. Travelers should be aware that Shiv Dev is in a slum neighborhood and Delhi can be quite a surprise for middle class Europeans and Americans who do not know what to expect. Half a block away from Shiv Dev there is a Bloom Rooms hotel. It is spotless--the manager showed me a room there, and I should have moved to that location.

Room Tip: If you are going to stay there in spite of my review, at least demand a room on the "cleaner si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

i recently stayed in shivdev for 3 days with my wife. it was an official trip which was changed to holiday trip. the hotel staff were pathetic. rooms were congested. dont go by tripadvisor reviews. i was made a fool of it. really worst stay. i booked through yatra for a studio room(deluxe a/c) which itself includes complimentary breakfast. but they told there is no mention in eticket. then i argued with them and got my breakfast. there are many hotels near railway station which are far better than shivdev. so, just avoid shivdev.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank praveendvm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broendby, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

they will not give the room I paid for. I paid 2 time to get my room. they will not give you the room, you paid for. they didn't pick me up from airport, they didn't give my free bearkfast. they don't care. the area near new delhi train station was very dirty. 90% of hotels was there. the price of tickets was very high for turists. no big shoping centers. I will never visit india. and I will never invest in india. every things was dirty.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Said Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had been to this hotel with a large group of law students from Pune. We had visited Delhi for our study trip and stayed in this hotel for 3 days. We had a very good experience. We had complimentary breakfast which was served on terrace. We had a problem with our bed. But once complained they changed our room to a better one. Person named Maamu was very helpful and took good care of all the guests. If you are visiting delhi for some work this is a nice hotel to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kimaya_Pai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

When you think about hotel that would so comfortable rooms , excellence services and friendly staffs ,Hotel Shiv Dev International is the best one. For myself i have been occupied for short times but the hotel more convenient to connect with other places , in the hotel staffs so friendliness , room so comfortable and cleanliness . It's so valuable for budget. I would prefer this hotel for future accommodation during my trip to delhi.

Room Tip: Better choose this hotel and go for prior booking as no one is left untouched with the grand service...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank papiya644043
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Well Guys this Hotel is Really Nice in terms of Quality n Service for the Price as also has WiFi in Hotel.
We booked here Deluxe room for 3 days for Rs:1500 per day including tax from 28th feb to 2nd march 2013,also u could get Standard room which also has set-topbox t.v and a.c for Rs:1100(Just bargain).
They also have RoofTop restaurent which was Good.
Its very close to New Delhi railway station.
Worth it for the Price.

Room Tip: Standard is also Nice but I stayed in Delxe which have LCD+A.C and Small fridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TejasParekh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,836 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#30 of 715 in New Delhi
715 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#53 of 715 in New Delhi
1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 715 in New Delhi
3,821 reviews
WelcomHotel Dwarka
#47 of 715 in New Delhi
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shiv Dev International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shiv Dev International

Property: Hotel Shiv Dev International
Address: 8518-22 Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #563 of 1,095 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel SHIVDEV situated in the capital of the India with all the gadgets of comforts. Our hotel is furnished with new appliances which gives extra value to your royalty. We always strive to provide the feelings of your own home far away from your sweet home and take great care of requirements like entertainment and comforts.Hotel SHIVDEV, reflects the country’s spirit of “Atithi Devo Bhava” in a harmonious blend of tradition and contemporary sophistication. We are located in place which closes to the major centres of business, commercial and shopping of the Delhi. The delicate interiors, well civilised staffing services and delicious cuisine makes SHIVDEV an Ideal choice for the visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Shiv Dev International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing