We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Shiv Dev International
Ranked #568 of 1,106 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I had booked for a twin bedded room and was provided one with all kinds of facilities.... one of the best i would say.... I could not find any negatives in the hotel. Excellent food. Thanks to Atul of Shivdev, everything went on quite fine. It was a very pleasant stay in Delhi. Looking forward to stay again over there. Thank You.

Room Tip: Twin bedded rooms are really good. AC works absolutely fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JestinMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 124 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

I booked an Executive Room via a booking site 6 months in advance of my stay. I got a good rate as a result but the room we were allocated was nothing like the Executive Room description on their website. We asked the staff on reception who assured us on a number of occasions that we were in the right room and in the end they conceded that the website contained false information.

To compare the website to reality, it states the following (with the reality in brackets):

"A spacious split level room (no split level) with a cabinet partition differentiating the living area and the bedroom (no partition). This 250 sq. ft. room (possibly but I doubt it) has got the following highlights.

¨ Wall to wall lint free carpeting. (no, a tiled floor)
¨ Writing desk with Internet connection. (no writing desk, wireless internet is provided however)
¨ Refrigerated mini-bar. (there is a fridge but nothing in it)
¨ Wardrobe. (yes)
¨ Direct dialling local/Intl. with voice mail. on process (cannot comment)
¨ Interactive TV. (there is a TV .. not sure about Interactive)
¨ Complimentary mineral water bottles. (nope)
¨ Shaving kit, Dental kit and Bath kit. (nope, we got soap & toilet roll only when we asked for it)"

We didn't even have one of the nice hanging chairs that we saw in some rooms.

Alongside this, we found the service to be poor. For example, there was no hot water one morning so I had to have a cold shower. My husband called reception who sent someone up. "Just run the water for 5 minutes and it will be fine" (he just wasn't listening when I said that I had run the water for 10 minutes in the process of having a cold shower.) Eventually he decided that the diesel for the generator had run out. When we asked Reception how long it would take to fix the problem, the guy plucks the figure of 10 minutes out of the air, without even asking anyone what the problem is. As is often the case in India, the staff tell you what you want to hear rather than telling you the truth.
We also got contradictory advice about taking a taxi to the Grand Prix Circuit which resulted in us missing the Practice Session on Thursday which we planned to see. We got to the Circuit but we were too late

Breakfast was included in our rate but this was a badly organised affair ... cold food & frequently running out of cup, bowls, milk, hot water etc.

The stay hit rock-bottom when my husband walked into a glass door to the restaurant which had no markers identifying it as a glass door. It took an almost broken nose for the staff to put some tape on the door.

To balance this review, the room was an OK size, fairly clean and the shower was hot most of the time. It's true that the location isn't the best but it is close to the Railway Station & Connaught Place

Room Tip: Just don't base your choice on the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walsined
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

During my stay in Hotel Shivdev for 6 nights, I couldn't find any major backwards in room condition and the service. I was very much satisfied during my stay and since this is my first time traveling to New Delhi, it's just like the hotel has given me the first impression of Indian hospitality. All requests were attentively taken care of and the standard room which I booked for turned out to be the best room I've ever stayed in a budget hotel, with clean sheets, beautiful interior, and also a unique hanging chair inside the room. The location might not be so eye-catching and preferable for common tourists who want to have some quiet personal time since it is located in a dense and crowded little alleyway near New Delhi Railway Station.

In short, I like the warm service from the hotel and little bit dislike the location.

Room Tip: Do not pick room that straightly heads the road side if you prefer a quiet resting time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martinus_Yang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here in an upgraded room with an internet bargain. The hotel has fallen on hard times compared to the squeaky modern photos on websites. It is conveniently located near a central metro stop that whisks you either to North or South Delhi, but this also puts the hotel itself on the edge of crowded old Delhi. To speak plainly, that meant that apart from the usual trace of street noise, we could not get over the impression that the scent of something like urine was entering our room through the air-conditioning vent. The staff is large and courteous, and it came through for us with an inexpensive taxi arrangement for the airport. Perhaps due to its sheer size the staff sometimes is slowed down by poor communication between its members -- but is basically reliable. Breakfast was astonishingly good for Delhi hotels in this price range, with a buffet one day and full menu choices the next.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biernacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Excellent in luxury and amenities - Offerd much respected after booking service - Staffs are frinedly and help loving. YES enjoyed a royal stay - Sweet memories - will chose same again and again.

Amit
Bangalore

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amit m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here only 1 night and arrived quite late, so pretty much only slept here. I was here with a group of 6 (3 UK, 3 Indians) and had a good stay. Rooms are quite big, clean and comfortable. My wife and I even had a swing chair in the room which was a nice surprise. Location is quite good, though in a busy area of Delhi. A week earlier I had previously stayed in another hotel in Delhi (The Sunder) and would say in comparison to that, the Shiv Dev was much better. The only down side is the breakfast was nothing special. Since I stayed here only one night it's hard to give the hotel a higher rating than I have, however I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlAndJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

nice place to leave and enjoy you free time .. i visit this place and after this every time i am stay in this hotel to visit the delhi its nice pleasure to stay with us.....and also meanitaneans and quality of sleeping is also good..

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Amax Inn
#24 of 715 in New Delhi
749 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,905 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#42 of 715 in New Delhi
3,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#55 of 715 in New Delhi
1,717 reviews
WelcomHotel Dwarka
#26 of 715 in New Delhi
2,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shiv Dev International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shiv Dev International

Address: 8518-22 Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #568 of 1,106 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: $16 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel SHIVDEV situated in the capital of the India with all the gadgets of comforts. Our hotel is furnished with new appliances which gives extra value to your royalty. We always strive to provide the feelings of your own home far away from your sweet home and take great care of requirements like entertainment and comforts.Hotel SHIVDEV, reflects the country’s spirit of “Atithi Devo Bhava” in a harmonious blend of tradition and contemporary sophistication. We are located in place which closes to the major centres of business, commercial and shopping of the Delhi. The delicate interiors, well civilised staffing services and delicious cuisine makes SHIVDEV an Ideal choice for the visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Shiv Dev International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing