We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fraying but Staff Aim to Please”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Shiv Dev International
Ranked #555 of 1,082 New Delhi B&B and Inns
California, USA
Level 6 Contributor
72 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fraying but Staff Aim to Please”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I stayed here in an upgraded room with an internet bargain. The hotel has fallen on hard times compared to the squeaky modern photos on websites. It is conveniently located near a central metro stop that whisks you either to North or South Delhi, but this also puts the hotel itself on the edge of crowded old Delhi. To speak plainly, that meant that apart from the usual trace of street noise, we could not get over the impression that the scent of something like urine was entering our room through the air-conditioning vent. The staff is large and courteous, and it came through for us with an inexpensive taxi arrangement for the airport. Perhaps due to its sheer size the staff sometimes is slowed down by poor communication between its members -- but is basically reliable. Breakfast was astonishingly good for Delhi hotels in this price range, with a buffet one day and full menu choices the next.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Biernacki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    25
    18
    14
    26
See reviews for
21
31
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Excellent in luxury and amenities - Offerd much respected after booking service - Staffs are frinedly and help loving. YES enjoyed a royal stay - Sweet memories - will chose same again and again.

Amit
Bangalore

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amit m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed here only 1 night and arrived quite late, so pretty much only slept here. I was here with a group of 6 (3 UK, 3 Indians) and had a good stay. Rooms are quite big, clean and comfortable. My wife and I even had a swing chair in the room which was a nice surprise. Location is quite good, though in a busy area of Delhi. A week earlier I had previously stayed in another hotel in Delhi (The Sunder) and would say in comparison to that, the Shiv Dev was much better. The only down side is the breakfast was nothing special. Since I stayed here only one night it's hard to give the hotel a higher rating than I have, however I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlAndJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagpur, Maharashtra, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

nice place to leave and enjoy you free time .. i visit this place and after this every time i am stay in this hotel to visit the delhi its nice pleasure to stay with us.....and also meanitaneans and quality of sleeping is also good..

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rohit S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

hotel to every one for the budget accommodationnow try
It was a very nice experience at shivdev during my trip to Delhi. Staffs are nice & friendly. Service was wonderful . It was more than our expectation for the price we paid

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chaichana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Srinagar, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I booked hotel shivdev international and stayed there for two nights with my family. The Hotel is located near to the main New Delhi train station which is a big plus. The rooms are clean and spacious enough for the price we paid. The breakfast is served upstairs in the roof top restaurant, which is o.k . We booked the train tickets to agra from the travel agent in lobby and also a one day city tour which was a good way to go around and to our next destination. I am thankful for the staff for making our stay a memorable one.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the front side of the building to avoid the noise from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cooltraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Our stay was marred by the staff unwilling to honor the reservations that we had made for our group. In the end, we got what we had booked, but the 30 minutes of back-and-forth with a staff that was unresponsive and uncaring was frustrating. especially since we arrived in the evening and were to be on the 6am express train to Agra. We may sound like we're high maintenance and very demanding, but we are not. In the end it was the principle that was at issue. This was the only time over two weeks in India that we encountered a situation like this. While my room was fine, two of our colleagues had issues with linens that weren't clean.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Phil L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 716 in New Delhi
2,798 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#50 of 716 in New Delhi
1,697 reviews
Hotel Amax Inn
#29 of 716 in New Delhi
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Lalit New Delhi
#40 of 716 in New Delhi
3,759 reviews
Taj Palace Hotel
#7 of 716 in New Delhi
2,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Shiv Dev International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Shiv Dev International

Property: Hotel Shiv Dev International
Address: 8518-22 Arakashan Road | Paharganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #555 of 1,082 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel SHIVDEV situated in the capital of the India with all the gadgets of comforts. Our hotel is furnished with new appliances which gives extra value to your royalty. We always strive to provide the feelings of your own home far away from your sweet home and take great care of requirements like entertainment and comforts.Hotel SHIVDEV, reflects the country’s spirit of “Atithi Devo Bhava” in a harmonious blend of tradition and contemporary sophistication. We are located in place which closes to the major centres of business, commercial and shopping of the Delhi. The delicate interiors, well civilised staffing services and delicious cuisine makes SHIVDEV an Ideal choice for the visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Shiv Dev International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing