We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Jerk!”
Review of Hotel The Spot

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel The Spot
Ranked #86 of 1,076 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Neptune Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Such a Jerk!”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I'll never suggest anyone to come here! it sucks! my time! and management is also poor! Better try another hotel!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ambrish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Hotel The Spot, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
This Review by Mr.Amit k is a Fake Review with Fake name just to spoil the Goodwill of our Hotel. It Might be a trick used by our competitor .

We feel so because Mr. Amit K is a Indian Name but he lives in Florida & more over he came India for the Business purpose.

If he stayed in our Hotel, send a scanned copy of the Bill he received at the time of Check –In -Out!!!

1. He stayed in our Hotel in March 2012, & giving a Review now which is really very strange.
2. Please compare the other 6 Reviews with Mr. Amit’s K Review are no where similar to his Review.
3. In our Check –In Register Records Mr.Amit K is not Arrived in our Hotel in March 2012.
4. This person, we don’t know why he used such a un-parliamentary language!!!

More Over, from which website he booked our Hotel Room , If he booked through any website or Direct Booking , Please send the Reference Number and the confirmation mail send by us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    67
    36
    26
    30
See reviews for
20
57
70
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

The Spot is the best budget place I have stayed in New Delhi. I stayed with friends the first time, and our room was the most comfortable room we had stayed in in all of India. I then went back 3 separate times on my own and each time the staff remembered me and made me a good deal on the single room. Though the single was a very basic budget room, the room was comfortable enough and well shaded from the Delhi heat. The staff is the best part of the hotel… they don't try to sell you tours and provide you with what you need. I'm always comfortable when I stay, even as a solo female, and will go back as long as I'm a budget traveler!

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows or have windows blocked by cooling units. If this is a concern for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelOutlandish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

It is a good, clean and cheap hotel with nice people.

We were able to check in before time and also kept our lugage for a couple of days. Thanks a lot for that!

Recomended

Room Tip: 14, 24 are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francisco A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

excellent management of the rooms, WI FI, location, booking train and bus tickets, the owner ashuk is a nice person and will help u to fill good in crazy main bazar. Enjoy your trip (:

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ofri_Uziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

This place is just next to the Hotel Namaskar, a little more pricey but we thought the rooms were quite a bit better. Everything was very clean, the AC is from window units and frankly they could do with a service as they are not especially effective, but between that and the fan it was OK in Delhi in April (38 degrees out). The bedding provided was an undersheet and a blanket so you need to bring your own oversheet - the pillowcases and undersheet were clean but if you are fastidious your own undersheet would be a good idea too as the one on our double was a bit thin and small. We had to ask for towels but they provided them at no additional cost. Laundry was reasonable and returned same day when we handed it in early, and they changed money for us (actually at the place next door so we could have done it ourselves) at a good rate.
The guy on reception was very friendly and helpful without being pushy.
The reasons I am not giving this a 'very good' are as follows:
(1) there is a roof terrace but it is not really geared to guests - it's full of junk with only a few crappy chairs and tiny side tables, and NO shade, so completely unsuitable for sitting out in summer. The included breakfast was quite OK (but if you don't take sugar in your tea and coffee be sure to make this VERY clear!) but you have the choice of eating in your room - not very nice - or on the baking hot and scruffy terrace. It would take very little effort to tidy it up a bit, put up a canvas awning for shade, a few plants, and some cheap furniture to make a pleasant breakfast spot.
(2) the staff except for the main guy on reception need to be trained rather than just employed. They have a bad habit of coming to your room on some pretext and then hanging around the open doorway making inane conversation - this is REALLY annoying.
(3) we paid the boy to take our bags downstairs when we were leaving. When we got down, EVERY single zip that wasn't locked had been opened. They really let themselves down on this one - nothing was taken but that was completely unacceptable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sparklebcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

I have stayed in Paharganj before and I wish I knew about The Spot back then. It was a great price (rs400 for single, rs500 for double) and so much better than other rooms in the area I paid the same or more for. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was a great size and had a large LCD TV with good cable. They have free wifi on the 2nd and 3rd floors. (The 2nd floor signal reaches the first floor but is weak.) They also have an internet cafe in front for a small fee.

I had breakfast one morning on the rooftop, but so far they do not have tables up there. I had to use another chair to place my food on. Hopefully soon they will have tables. And they have room service, but it would be helpful to have menus in the rooms. I used it only for ordering bottles of water.

I have had problems with other places allowing my Indian friend to share a room, but they allow Indians to stay as long as they do not have a Delhi ID. Whenever I return to Delhi, I plan to try to stay here again.

For directions, turn down the alley when you see Nirvana Cafe in the middle of the Main Bazaar.

Room Tip: First night I was in room on first floor at top of stairs but it was noisy. They were nice to move m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kerri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genoa, Italy
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2011

I came to this hotel after a bad experience in another one in the same area; an Irish lady told me it was a good hotel and that it was cheap, I saw some rooms and I decided to change. My room was clean, with fan, air cooler and LCD TV, all this for 400 rupees! The staff was kind and helpful, they also have room service (I didn't need it, because it's full of little shops and restaurants around, but you can order almost everything, from a bottle of water to a complete dinner at cheap prices!)
You can reach it by metro from the airport, it's very fast, but then to reach Main Bazaar you have to go through New Delhi Station, that is always crowded and there are lots of security controls, I had to open my backpack at the exit.
The last day I booked a taxi to go back to the airport and it was not too expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CiampaDolmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Payal
#205 of 716 in New Delhi
162 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#82 of 716 in New Delhi
318 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#51 of 716 in New Delhi
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#318 of 716 in New Delhi
95 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Aman Continental
Hotel Aman Continental
#103 of 716 in New Delhi
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel The Spot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel The Spot

Property: Hotel The Spot
Address: Gali Chandi Wali | Main Bazaar Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 1,076 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel The Spot 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel The Spot is one of the best New Delhi Budget hotel providing all the basic facilities for backpackers. We are highly rated budget property in New Delhi providing decent and safe accommodation for our guests with Clean and modern furnishing. We are a hostel with 24 private rooms, with all the basic facilities a backpacker needs, expects and aspires. We are the first choice of budget travelers in the city to stay, explore, and experience the Indian lifestyle. You have all access to use Free Wi-fi, Internet, Air-con.. computers in the cafe and books to read, Travel Advice's and all assistance in booking your trip all around India, Free City Maps. I am available more than 12 hours in the hotel itself and guests can see me personally. For any kind of queries or concerns related to your stay and travel plans in India, you can directly contact me at my Travel Desk. Normally, I reply to all the queries related to your travel plans and requirements through email within 6 - 8 hours. Me and my staff assure you safety and decent accommodation at our hotel. "Our Guests are our Friends" We are serving the hospitality industry from last 14 Years.Our experience speaks loud. We provide 24x7 Airport Pick-up services for our guests. I have my own "Travel Desk" at my property, where I aim to provide my guests with the genuine custom Tour and Travel Solutions and FREE Consultancy. What you can Expect and I Deliver: • Safety • Healthy & hygienic accommodation • The Trip you will remember for a lifetime I provide the following Travel Solutions at my Travel Desk: • Booking Train Tickets, Air Tickets , Bus Tickets around India • Dedicated Taxi for Delhi Day Tour • Custom Tour Packages • Golden Triangular tour ( Delhi - Agra - Jaipur ) • Rajasthan Tour • North India Tours ( Varanasi, Haridwar, Rishikesh, Dharamshala, Amritsar, Shimla, Manali etc ) • Custom Tour Packages for Mumbai - Hampi - Hospet • Goa Tour Packages • Kerela-Allapuzha Tour Packages ( House Boat stay ) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hotel The Spot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing