We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moved us to their "sister" hotel”
Review of Hotel Golden Wings

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Golden Wings
Ranked #147 of 1,076 New Delhi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Moved us to their "sister" hotel”
Reviewed January 6, 2014

We booked two rooms for two nights here at the start of January, although we never stayed as we were once again the victim of a Delhi Hotelier scam. It appears that many hotels will continue to take bookings even when they are full, when you then arrive at the hotel, you are told that your room is in an annex or “sister” Hotel just around the corner.

Of course, what has happened is the owner has passed on your booking to another hotel with a commission for himself. We were “relocated” to the Signature Palace Hotel around the corner. We viewed the room and it was disgusting. The Signature had dirty sheets which also had damp patches on them, a leak from the ceiling and everywhere was very dirty. The towel on the bed was grey although originally was white. We ended up going back to the hotel we stayed at when we first arrived in Delhi, the Hotel Smyle.

Having looked at the reviews of the Golden Wings I don’t think it is a bad hotel per se, and our advice to anyone staying at the Golden Wings is to be very careful to ensure that you have a room at the hotel rather than being farmed out to another one. How one can confirm this, I can’t really be sure, but I would suggest booking through a reputable bookings site (rather than calling up like we did) and try to book well in advance since we booked a few days before and it must have been full by that point.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGoldenWings, Owner at Hotel Golden Wings, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Sir, sorry for the. Sir as you know January is a winter & foggy season in New Delhi. Trains & flight from New Delhi are delayed or rescheduled every day in January. on the day of your arrival all the trains from New Delhi Railway Station were rescheduled due to heavy fog and all our rooms were occupied due the reschedule of trains & no one vacant the rooms. Sir we were try to arranged your room in the next hotel for obey your booking & your convenience. sir, we always obey all the advance bookings but we are also helpless, due to natural calamities. sir we feel again so much sorry for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    17
    2
    4
See reviews for
19
18
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Agartala, Tripura, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I have planned to stay at this hotel for 3 days in last week of December 2013. I have booked a triple bed room almost 1 month before through direct call to the hotel. They have confirmed my booking and even 1 day before my arrival I have called the hotel for confirmation of my triple room and they had replied that I room is booked.
But when I arrived at hotel they told me that no triple bed room is available they can arrange similar room in some nearby hotels. As I have opposed to shift other hotel they have arranged a double room with an extra mattress at their hotel.
They have provided a room in the ground floor just behind reception, lots of noise and shouting from the hotel staff till the late night. After spending one night at this I am shifted to other hotel.

Room Tip: Dont stay at ground floor. Though the rooms are good still dont book this hotel in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gagan_NITA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bangalore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Rooms were good. Service was also very good. I liked the food as well.Manager and staffs were polite and helpful. Only thing I didn't like was the location. Hotel is in a narrow street where auto can't go directly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Kumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

Basic rooms, our one had no window. With A/C, close to New Delhi train station. Although did get a bit lost trying to find it. It's down a very narrow street right at the start if the main Bazar road. Good thali place on right on the corner you turn to get to hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MKGirlUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Over all, great experience: friendly and helpful staff--they even ran after me when I forgot medicine and other belongings in the room after checking out--that showed that they cared. The rooms were spacious, clean wifi equipped. Front desk was helpful and the location was ideal.

The one con: warm water was advertised but non-existent. Oh well, 9 out of 10 ain't bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleD9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelGoldenWings, Owner at Hotel Golden Wings, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for valuable feedback for Hotel Golden Wings. We appreciate that you liked the stay at our hotel. Hot water is available regularly during the winters and within 2 minutes after requesting at our front desk during summer season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

we stayed 2 nights in golden wings hotel. the room was acceptable clean, especially the bathroom. hot water is there, but the hot water was not available in the morning (around 5am) when we need to catch an early train to Jaipur. wifi works in lobby area. they provide morning call. the staffs are ok.
i stayed in level 3 and had no sleeping issue whereas for my friend, he's in 2nd level. he could not sleep since the next door guests was talked very loudly. he had inform the staff but the noise continued after a while.
there was a little bit misunderstanding about the booking. i booked the hotel through Agoda under my name, but when my friend came they insisted that there was no such booking although he brought with him the copy of booking. After some arguments then they "found" the record and let my friend to check in.
the hotel situated in a very small alley, sometimes rocky, beware of deep holes as well, quite dark at night when most shops are closed, but go ahead, keep going and follow the direction :) you may not believe that there's such a decent hotel in that area.

Room Tip: if you book this hotel online, please bring the hard copy of booking with you. at least there's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ppiglet2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I am regular business visitor to delhi. My friend recommended this hotel to me six months back and now I don't book any other hotel. New construction, cleanliness & excellent service are some of its attractions.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rajiv a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Aman Continental
Hotel Aman Continental
#103 of 716 in New Delhi
208 reviews
Pahar Ganj
FabHotel Mohan International Paharganj
Hotel Star Villa
#411 of 1,076 in New Delhi
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
No photo provided
Hotel Prince Palace (The Green)
#312 of 1,076 in New Delhi
1 reviews
Yes Please Guest House
#170 of 925 in New Delhi
14 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel U and Me
Hotel U and Me
#163 of 1,076 in New Delhi
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Golden Wings? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Golden Wings

Property: Hotel Golden Wings
Address: 135 - 136 Krishna Street | Pahar Ganj, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 1,076 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Golden Wings 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly placed right in the center of town as well as a 2 minutes stroll from the Railway Station, this newly built budget accommodation provides for a perfect reside in this bustling city of New Delhi. Ideal for corporate and leisure travelers are the well-appointed rooms boasting elegant decor and professional management leaving no room for grievances. Along with a tour desk in-house, where you can plan your itinerary, guests can take advantage of the 24 hours room service. Comfort and convenience are the hallmark of Hotel Golden Wings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Golden Wings reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing