We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good, safe, quiet place to land in India, 20 minutes from airport”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Colonel's Retreat At The Airport
Ranked #17 of 1,095 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a good, safe, quiet place to land in India, 20 minutes from airport”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A perfect place to go between two flights. A homy felling in this B&B style hotel.
Very nice, reliable, respectful, friendly and helpful staff.
I got a large clean room, well equipped, with a heater, very appreciated by a cool night.
The included breakfast offered a good choice, tea made with bottled water.
And despite a late arrival, the driver was there, waiting for me at the airport.
I highly recommand this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonneSurprise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    40
    25
    6
    2
See reviews for
34
54
28
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brasília
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I stayed for two days in this hotel. The rooms were very confortable and the staff was helpful.

Sometimes it may take a while to get someone able to speak english in the telephone/front desk, but eventually you will have someone to help you. The staff also ordered food outside for me one day.

The location is a little tricky. If staying near to the airport is a point, it's a good location. However the hotel is far from the city downtown and main attractions. One can easily face 1 or 2 hours of traffic to get there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghori90, Owner at Colonel's Retreat At The Airport, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
this review is posted to the wrong location . This is for Colonels Retreat at the airport- dwarka- new delhi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013

This is the property you should select in Dwaraka in New Delhi ..
If you are staying in Dwaraka this gives you an excellent Home feel atmosphere with spacious rooms and spacious bathrooms with standards to that of any 3 Star property.
You can get good homely food cooked and there is shopping area nearby which you can walk around and buy eatery and all stuff...
I will always stay and recommend to stay in this place if you have to stay in Dwaraka..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Docsunnyhyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed here in November 2012 and would be delighted to stay here again. The reception area is lacklustre, but where it counts, this place gave us excellent value for our money: great food, nice bathroom and bedroom, friendly host. We saw a ping pong table in the bottom floor / reception area and were thrilled to find out that guests could use it. We played for at least half an hour. Perfect for getting some oxygen back into our systems after a long plane ride.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank atriplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Alright stay, rooms are quite cold. Average clean.. We found quite alot of "body hair" in our bed, but compared to what we have seen then it's alright.
They take high commession for ordering you a taxi. The area seems very unsafe for tourists...
Breakfast was below average...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomEddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vadodara, India
Level 6 Contributor
451 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 911 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

While going to Shrinagar on 31st September , 2012 my wife and myself were compelled to stay overnight at New elhi due to cancellation of our Jet Airways flight from Vadodara to Delhi and we were rerouted via Mumbai. I had to hurriedly scout for the nearby hotel to the Airport and I chanced upon Colonel's Retreat at the Airport in Sector 23 A , Dwarka .

Our flight to New Delhi was rerouted twice on 30th September , and hence I had to request Mr Victor , Manager twice asking him to provide us a pick up car at the Airport , which he readily did. Though the property is near the Airport as a crow flies , it takes about half an hour by car to reach the destination .

We were highly impressed by the elegant common loungeto which allthe equally impressive rooms open. We never imagined such luxurious tastefully decorated rooms with attached bath, colour T V , free wifi , electronic safe , will be available so cheap. In addition we could savour tasty dinner and healthy breakfast.

Victor was kind enough for arranging our drop at the Airport on31st morning.

The entire crew of the property deserve whole hearted praise for making our overnight stay really comfortabl and enjoyable.

We highly recommend this property. Even though one has to pay for taxi , overall the stay is very cheap .

Dr Dilip Shete

Room Tip: All the rooms are equally elegant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guayaquil
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I chose this hotel because of its so called proximity to the airport as I had to be there for a 5am checkin. Like other reviewers there was confusion about taxis. Although I had written to confirm arrival on 2 occasions in the week preceding my stay I received no reply to my question about taxi cost and there was no taxi waiting. I took a prepaid taxi and was horrified to see that it was the same cost as when I had taken a taxi from Central Delhi to the airport a couple of weeks previously and took almost the same amount of time. It takes ages to get into the city if you want to do this. I complained about the misleading information and like with other reviewers it was explained that the 2km is from the (non-working) Metro, not the airport itself! Victor and the staff were charming and helpful all the way through and the room was spotless and comfortable but the hassle about pickups etc put a damper on my stay

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresastales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ghori90, Owner at Colonel's Retreat At The Airport, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
We are about 1 km from the Western boundary wall of the Airport . On the Airport Metro , restarting soon, we are only 2 minutes away. However by road we are about 15 minutes away. It costs $8 to reach us and $ 13 to get dropped from our place. On the Metro however it will cost less than $1.

We are ideal for an early morning or late night departure because it takes less than 15 minutes to reach the International Terminal at any time of the day or night. Whilst it would take atl east 45-60 minutes from anywhere in Central Delhi.

We are normally very prompt on Taxi requests . I cant fathom why your requests did not reach us.

I am glad you found our hotel clean and pleasant- i hope you give us another chance to make a favorable impression.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
WelcomHotel Dwarka
#49 of 715 in New Delhi
1,828 reviews
Wood Castle
#15 of 715 in New Delhi
1,127 reviews
ibis New Delhi Aerocity
#81 of 715 in New Delhi
1,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Roseate House New Delhi
#3 of 715 in New Delhi
287 reviews
Mahipal Pur
Hotel Delhi Aerocity
Hotel Delhi Aerocity
#121 of 715 in New Delhi
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonel's Retreat At The Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonel's Retreat At The Airport

Property: Colonel's Retreat At The Airport
Address: A Service Road | Dwarka, New Delhi 110075, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 1,095 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colonel's Retreat At The Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just picture it. 15 minutes after leaving Terminal 3 of the Delhi Airport you'll be in your clean and comfortable Hotel Room .With a free pickup and drop to the Metro Station - which is only a 2 minute metro ride from Terminal 3 of the Delhi Airport , you could not get a more convenient location and a better price.Whether you are in Transit, or visiting Delhi for Work or Sightseeing, Colonels Retreat is ideally located and a great value.Just remember the directions- 1 km from Dwarka Sector 21 Metro Station, 300 meters from Dwarka Sector 23 Police Station, 100 meters from Syndicate Bank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Travelocity, Otel, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonel's Retreat At The Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing