We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and efficient way to kill a night in transit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express New Delhi International Airport Terminal 3
Ranked #23 of 1,000 Specialty Lodging in New Delhi
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed one night with a friend on our way to Kathmandu. We had a 10 hour layover before catching a 6:30 AM flight. Make sure you either have the connecting flight boarding pass, or a confirmed reservation. I had some online reservation issues and wasn't sure if I actually had a valid reservation or not. The surprise was seeing someone at the gate with my name on a card (first time ever) who guided us through the transit procedures and the very thorough Indian security procedures. The hotel is accessed in the waiting area of T-3 before the gates and isn't clearly marked. It was good to have the guide get us there. Make sure he/she registers you with the security (army) staff at the hotel entrance. They're supposed to record your passport information, which we didn't do, and it almost came back to bite us the following morning when we checked out.

Check-in was pretty fast and the rooms are what they are, small with two beds and a long dresser with a TV. But moderately comfortable with a good bathroom and shower. We showered, relaxed a little, went down to the terminal (take your passport and boarding pass) to get a bite and some coffee. They offered a wake-up service as well as having I-phone docking clocks. Up at 4:30, checked-out at 5:00 and at our gate by 5:30. Much easier than leaving the airport and probably much more comfortable than the sleeping pods.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

438 - 444 of 539 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

the perfect spot for making transfers in Delhi that require an overnight stay and little time in between flights - it is a bit difficult to find so make sure someone from the hotel will meet you at the gate and escort you through various rings of security.........otherwise, an esthetically pleasing and comfortable spot - excellent wifi and helpful staff

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcyf64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed one night after 5 month birding trip across subcontinent. If you have not prebooked it is difficult to access due to the over-officious security (all jobsworths) who denied the hotel existed. A friendly guy at the airport helpdesk phoned and one of the very friendly hotel staff came down to escort us round the back way into the hotel. Even this meant further security scanning of our luggage and removal of sharp objects fro m inside our luggage !! We understand and appreciate the safeguards but it was way over the top. The room itself was very comfortable and modern with refreshments available. It was very quiet and peaceful with no aircraft noise. A nice restaurant with good menu and a very good choice of breakfast options. It was a good option staying here avoiding the hassles and scams that are rampant in Delhi. After checking out you are straight into the departure lounge. It was a bit expensive but worth avoiding the Dehli hassle.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RabandAli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have been staying in the eaton hotel 2 times, the hotel is located at terminal 3, in case your next flight is domestic there is no reason to stay at this hotel: they stay is not quicker due to several "security" measures and adminstration which takes a lot of time, then you will notice that the only service the hotel is providing is a poor breakfast and wifi(if you ask for it), there is no bar, mini bar or restaurant. The hotel is very expensive, it is better to stay at one of the hotels located near the airport, which most times have complimentary roundway pickup service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

I stayed overnight at the Eaton Smart hotel in September 2012 after an international longhaul flight. Overall the visit was comfortable and convenient for an overnight stay at the airport waiting for a morning domestic flight connection. The hotel has wings for both International and Domestic connections, so this review will focus on the Domestic wing.

First things first: You must have a departure from Terminal 3 to stay in the hotel. Passengers arriving on flights can access the hotel 24-hours before their next departure, while people arriving land-side can access the hotel 6-hours before departure. The hotel has both regular rooms and "Aquapod" shower rooms for a quick fresh-up before a longhaul flight.

A representative from the hotel greeted me immediately as I walked off the plane and escorted me through the Immigraiton and Customs halls toward the hotel. To enter the Domestic Wing hotel a copy of your itinerary is required and must be shown - along with ID - to security staff about 5 times as you pass through areas of the airport to allow entry to the hotel. Your bags will also be x-rayed prior to entering the hotel. There are rules about checked luggage not being allowed in the hotel room and that it must be stored in the hotel luggage room after screening (I had carry-on only). The whole process is somewhat of an inconvenience, but having the hotel rep assist with the process helps make it palatable. Check-in was easy and quick. Payment for the room is done at check-in, and a full folio receipt is provided at check-out.

The rooms are on the small-ish side but are completely functional. The decoration is somewhat minimalist and dark; Black tile on the floor and walls make the room feel dark, which may not be bad if you're trying to reset your internal clock. The bed and linens were comfortable. Amenities include a small fridge and alarm clock with iPod/iPhone dock. When I arrived the room was very humid and I had to crank the A/C to bring it down to a tolerable level. It also took a while to figure out the myriad of light switches throughout the room. There's not much of a view out of the room's windows: you look down on an enclosed rec area for hotel staff with a table tennis table, but natural light does come in from above during the day.

The gym is open 24-hours and is a basic setup of 3 treadmils, a couple of stationary recumbent bikes, an eliptical machine and a few free weights. The in-house spa is open 6pm-6am and provides lots of various services and prices that won't break the bank (I didn't get a chance to sample the spa). The restaurant was pleasant, and the breakfast included with my room tarrif was pretty good.

Pros:
- Convenience of being in-airport for transfers or pre-flight fresh up.
- Hotel staff assistance in getting to the hotel (probably impossible without their help).
- Very quiet!

Cons:
- Wifi is complimentary but required a unique log-in that I had to perform numerous times during my stay. I had the issue with two separate devices, so I don't think this was just me.
- The dark design of the rooms and their size doesn't give a warm & inviting feeling.
- The TV system is a little weird and takes about 10-15 seconds to change from one channel to the next.

I would stay here again and would recommend it to other travelers transiting through Delhi primarily because of the convenience of being in-airport.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PuckStop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

The hotel is located on the 5th floor of the departure area at Delhi's International airport. The rooms are adequate with free if somewhat spotty WiFi. The TV channels are limited to about a dozen mostly Indian channels. The restaurant has a nice view of aircraft parked and the taxiway but middling food quality.

Somewhat bizarrely, there is a CISF government guard as you exit the elevator who insists on signing your name into a register. Ditto when leaving!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveleasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

As a transit hotel, this is fantastic - but its very difficult to find and the Bureaucracy of the New Delhi Airport conspires against you at every turn.

I arrived from Jaipur in the morning, with a connection to Newark that evening. I had tried to book online but had internet issue in Jaipur.
I went to the information counter in the domestic terminal. They told me to go out of the terminal and go into the international terminal to access the hotel.
I went out of the terminal and tried to enter the international terminal - no entry for 3 hours before flight and you have no boarding pass.
So its 39.6 degrees C ... they send me to the other end of the terminal in the heat to the domestic airline counters and a lounge where you can sit for 80Rps. Here they are of little help but offer to call the hotel .... they put me on, you have no reservation, no, but i tried to book ....
After some discussion they send a guy for me with a special pass. He takes me past the international terminal guard point and to a full security check with bag scans etc. We ascend to the 5th floor, it costs around $100 for 8 hours or so.
The room is modern, comfortable bed which was Queen sized, flat screen TV, Internet worked fine, despot overlooking the main terminal area its quiet, although you might be able to faintly here the calls for flight departure if you were very noise sensitive. Shower, sleep 7 hours, wake up call no problem. Escorted to United check in. The business lounge is actually on the 4th floor directly below Eaton hotel.
I would use this for transit again.
Did not eat, 2 bottles of water provided

Lessons for me:
Reserve ahead
Print a reservation slip to get you past Indian Bureaucracy.
They will meet you at the gate - let them meet you.

I note that some people have booked to stay here and expect to be able walk in and out and do Delhi sightseeing etc. This hotel is behind security in a very convenient location but a national focus point for security - the guards need to be there. If you want to go shopping or see the sights stay in a hotel in Delhi.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DoesNotGetOutMuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
ibis New Delhi Aerocity
#76 of 777 in New Delhi
1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Metro Tower
#342 of 777 in New Delhi
226 reviews
Mahipal Pur
Hotel Delhi Aerocity
Hotel Delhi Aerocity
#104 of 777 in New Delhi
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express New Delhi International Airport Terminal 3? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express New Delhi International Airport Terminal 3

Address: Level 5 | Indira Gandhi International Airport, New Delhi 110002, India (Formerly Eaton Smart – New Delhi Airport Transit Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 1,000 Specialty Lodging in New Delhi
Price Range: $158 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express New Delhi International Airport Terminal 3 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express New Delhi International Airport Terminal 3, offering 93 ROOMS relaxed affordable and hassle free stay every time. Located inside the Indira Gandhi International Airport, the hotel is the perfect spot to freshen up before your next flight. Start the day right with our complimentary Express Start breakfast and stay connected with free Wi-Fi Internet through-out the hotel. Experience our high quality bathroom and bedding to recharge after a long flight. Experience 24hours accessible Gym, in-house Spa, business facilities &round the clock multi-cuisine restaurant “Great Room” that serves Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner& in between meals.Kindly note that the guest must have a departure flight from Terminal 3 to stay at the hotel.Guests are advised to mention their flight details while making the reservation for smooth check-in & check-out. The maximum length of stay for any guest cannot exceed 24 hours. Guest are advised to read the terms and conditions carefully. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, IHG, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express New Delhi International Airport Terminal 3 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing