We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really comfortable stay. hospitable staff and comfortable rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ashtan Sarovar Portico
Ranked #98 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Really comfortable stay. hospitable staff and comfortable rooms!”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I stayed here for a night on 24th August, 2013. I was allotted a front facing room ... ( though one sees traffic all the time) it is less than 20 meters from green park metro..which is very convenient to travel all over Delhi/ NCR.

The interiors of the room are very plush and comfortable...and the hotel has really classy interiors. the staff is very courteous and really polite.. they have a nice breakfast buffet at their cafe 21..which is really nice and the breakfast is simple but delicious and courteous staff.

Room Tip: Take a front facing room for any view..other 3 sides face the walls or other buildings.... but if u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SktPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPPO, General Manager at The Ashtan Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Vishal Kr Prasad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    142
    74
    16
    10
See reviews for
62
50
29
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

"The Ashtan" is a perfect value proposition for my short business trip. Well placed in the heart of delhi and easily commutable from anywhere you are. The rooms are spacious , food is marvelous and all staffs are friendly. Overall I would recommend this hotel for all people who want to taste luxury but with a budget in hand.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deb9142c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPPO, General Manager at The Ashtan Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Vishal Kr Prasad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Fine location, nice service, enjoyable complimentary breakfast ,neat and clean rooms, compact( not large). Overall enjoyable stay. In a double room suit, if you have a child , the entire stay may become uncomfortable. Overall a nice hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Vinod J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPPO, General Manager at The Ashtan Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Vishal Kr Prasad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh, Chandigarh, India
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I've stayed a couple of times & have always been satisfied with the value for money that this chain provides. Be it Ashtan or The muse (at nehru park), both are centrally located, safe, provide parking space (tight but available) and above all, well maintained & clean rooms.
The location could not get better - just behind the gurudwara on aurobindo marg, 2 mins from the subway station at green park. Very close to Hauz Khas, India Haat, etc. No street noise even though it's almost on the main road.
The room is not large but is sufficient for a couple with a medium sized suitcase. It provides a flat screen t.v. with dish connection. The bed is comfy & the room accommodates a writing desk as well. Internet is good & free of charge. However, you may dislike the idea of a glass wall between the bathroom & bedroom (though you can turn down the blinds).
The bath is very functional - a cubicle with good shower pressure & toiletries provided. The wash basin is small & water accumulates around the basin area but just wipe it! A cupboard with hangers is also provided & daily newspapers.
B/fast is good, considering that you pay $70/night only (depending on your time of stay). You get porridge, eggs, meats, indian snacks (aloo parantha, south indian, etc) along with fresh as well as tinned juices. Wholesome for the price but could be better. Consistent quality & good service.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the alley (to avoid the noise/chatter from the lobby downstairs) on the high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SDM1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPPO, General Manager at The Ashtan Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and posting your review on Tripadvisor. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and our hospitality.

We hope to be of service to you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Vishal Kr Prasad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

While booking this hotel i assumed that it was worth the penny i'd plan to spend for my trip. To begin with it was at a location with the worst view i've ever had. The rooms smaller than the average room size in most hotels. The saving grace was the interiors but scaled down. The buffet breakfast didn't have much to offer and really made me feel like i was doing a task ... unpleasant feeling. In-room dining service was brisk but again the taste just made me dine outside after the first attempt. Housekeeping did do a good job overall. This is the first time i ever had to call the reception / housekeeping to complain about the lack of hot water in my bathroom. Right from my first day until several attempts and add to that the A/C was not functioning correctly which needed another service personnel. FACEPALM !!! ...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPPO, General Manager at The Ashtan Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset let me thank you for your feedback wherein you have outlined the dissatisfying experiences you had during your stay with regards to the hotel services.

Please accept our most sincere and profound apologies.

I have shared your feedback with the concerned head of departments for immediate corrective action.

We hope you will not hold this experience against us and will offer us another opportunity to look after you in a manner that you expect and so rightfully deserve.

Please write me a mail at gmgppo@sarovarhotels.com the next time you are visiting New Delhi so that we can really look after you well.

I hope to welcome you back to The Ashtan Sarovar Portico in near future.

Kind Regards,

Vishal Kr Prasad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 17, 2013

A short unplanned trip to delhi made me look for hotels through an old friend who recommended Ashtan. How true he was. The reservation guy quickly gave me a rate including wifi n bfast. Though I wanted without bfast yet the boy insisted and said that you should always have bfast and then step out....that was nice of him. Very modern room and even more comfortable was the bed, unlike the curved ones u get in the bigger hotels. Though I eat light bfast wss more than enough and very filling....prompt service made it only better. Really nice hotel with smiling people all around. Thanks Ashtan team.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satty4u1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPPO, General Manager at The Ashtan Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Vishal Kr Prasad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
152 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We've used this hotel for our conferences on several occasions.
The fact that we went back was itself a testament to the VFM proposition this hotel is.

However, the last time around, we were astounded to learn that "we do not have any reservation for rooms or banquet space" when my colleague was checking in at night after a flight from Mumbai. To add insult to injury, the person at reception quite rudely walked away while my colleague was trying to explain the sequence of events.
We had to scramble around (getting hold of confirmatory mails etc at 9 p.m.is difficult), and their attitude softened only when we located a copy of the confirmation sent by their GM (no less).

While they grudgingly provided a so-so room to my colleague; we still had to organise conference space for about 30 participants at 0830 the next morning (preferably in the neighbourhood). Luckily our research located Hotel Iris nearby; the Sarovar persons (after some quibbling) were kind enough to 'guarantee' payment as we did not have time to set up a credit line. They also (grudgingly) agreed to transport invitees the 2 Kms to the Iris
next morning.
The explanation given (ridiculous as it may sound) was that "the banquet marketing person has left", evidently even a confirmation from the GM means nothing in this place.

We did not receive any apology for this shocking failure on the part of the hotel, and for the consequent harassment / stress it caused.

We later learnt informally that the banquet space had been booked for another corporate (at a higher revenue), which left us wondering whether this 'failure' was due to monetary considerations !!

Beware - I wouldn't want anybody to go through a similar stressful experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trips56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPPO, General Manager at The Ashtan Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

At the outset let me thank you for your feedback wherein you have outlined the dissatisfying experience you had at The Ashtan Sarovar Portico during your stay with regards to the hotel services.

Pease accept our most sincere and profound apologies.

We are aware of all the inconveniences caused and assure you that all corrective steps have been taken to ensure such issues are not faced by any of our guests in future.

We hope you will not hold this experience against us and will offer us another opportunity to look after you in a manner that you expect and so rightfully deserve.

We look forward to working towards regaining your faith and confidence in our hotel.

Kind Regards,

Vishal Kr Prasad
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hauz Khas
Iris Park Hotel
Iris Park Hotel
#144 of 715 in New Delhi
179 reviews
The Visaya
#116 of 715 in New Delhi
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauz Khas
Shreyans Inn
Shreyans Inn
#169 of 715 in New Delhi
58 reviews
Hauz Khas
Hotel Park Residency
Hotel Park Residency
#460 of 715 in New Delhi
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashtan Sarovar Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashtan Sarovar Portico

Property: The Ashtan Sarovar Portico
Address: C2 | Green Park Extension, New Delhi 110016, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ashtan Sarovar Portico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the upmarket commercial and residential hub of South Delhi, The Ashtan Sarovar Portico offers quality 3 star services and facilities to its guests. The hotel is situated adjacent to the Green Park Metro Station and is only 10kms from T1 of Indira Gandhi International Airport and 12 kms from New Delhi railway station.Hotel services include a multi-cuisine restaurant, business center, wifi, currency exchange, concierge, travel desk, laundry service and 24 hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashtan Sarovar Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashtan Sarovar Portico Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing