We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good hotel with great connectivity” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ashtan Sarovar Portico

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Ashtan Sarovar Portico
Ranked #88 of 706 Hotels in New Delhi
Bangalore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A good hotel with great connectivity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days in Nov 2011. Located at the corner of two very busy roads, next to a gurudwara. The hotel faces a number of small stores and repair shops so anything but a clean and quiet neighbourhood. The only advantage is having a metro station just around the corner - the Green Park station is about 150 feet away.

The common areas are clean and bright with modern decor in white. Our room which faced the street was quite nice except for the the extremely cramped space.

The hotel has a restaurant but if you chose to eat out the closest restaurant is a 15 min walk to the Green Park market. Breakfast was good.

Friendly staff, good service. Will definitely consider staying here again if I can get a better sized room. I would like to give a rating of Good (3.5).

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VagabondAthma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPPO, General Manager at The Ashtan Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vishal Kr Prasad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    140
    71
    16
    10
See reviews for
61
50
28
161
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Patna, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

As my title says , the décor stands out. The rooms are cosy and comfortable. The "inclusive" toilet concept is unique. The dining hall is done up nicely with right combination of colour and artefacts. The crockery and cutlery are of very good quality.Food is very good. Breakfast spread is quite interesting.The staffs are nice and supportive

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank baisakhi_banerjee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPPO, General Manager at The Ashtan Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for posting your review of The Ashtan Sarovar Portico. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Vishal Kr Prasad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
135 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This rather small hotel lies on a bit more quiet side street next to a busy through-road. The facilities are limited but includes a great restaurant that serves a variety of tasty Indian dishes (as well as more standard lunches and breakfasts). The staff is very friendly and supportive with all types of guidance and taxi reservations, although the stressed traveller should be aware of the sometimes limited efficiency. There are lots of small convenience stores around, as well as a "larger shopping street" within 15 minutes of walking. For transportation, the Green Park metro station is only 100 meters away and it takes you into the city centre in 20 minutes. However, be aware of the crowds in rush hour and the extra travel time needed. As always near metro stations there is an abundance of auto-rickshaws that can take you to nearby locations, such as the lovely Green Park (with an actual deer park), and the charmingly unstructured Hauz Khas Village.

Room Tip: Away from the street if want some silence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank makkipakki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPPO, General Manager at The Ashtan Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for posting your review of The Ashtan Sarovar Portico. We are glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay.

We much appreciate your valuable feedback on our hotel facilities and services, and hope to serve you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Vishal Kr Prasad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This should be 3.5 - which is how many stars I give to most business hotels. The rooms are very well designed, although cheaply built. Good value for money. Beds are comfortable. Service is good. Breakfast is ok. Location is handy - walking distance to Green Park Market. Make sure you ask for a room with a window - not all rooms have natural light. My room had a slight cigarette smoke smell - a little unpleasant. Reception does not have good local knowledge/concierge skills - I find this a little annoying although it is common - I want good advice from the front desk about where to eat, where to get a pedicure, how to get around etc.

Perfectly good option for business travel/ no frills holiday stay.

Room Tip: Ask for room with window/ natural light. Rooms are not well sound-proofed, don't get a room on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peregrineNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

+
Excellent location, heart of South Delhi, Reasonable sized well appointed rooms, Free wifi, regular breakfast spread, well behaved and polite staff, very close to metro station
_

Noise from the road. Very uncomfortable room sofa, limited room dining menu, no bar

Room Tip: Avoid road facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Odiya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPPO, General Manager at The Ashtan Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your positive comments. We are glad that the team made your stay comfortable. Your encouraging comments will help us do better.

We look forward to welcome you back soon.


Yours sincerely,
Vishal Kr Prasad
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We looked forward to getting back to the hotel to get out of the heat of Delhi when we were there.
Aircon was great, room was clean, shower was nice and cool. Television programmes were good, great variety and good quality. We liked the design of the room. It was 3 minutes from the Greenpark metro station. Greenpark metro station though is quite far away from the central of Delhi. Otherwise still pretty convenient.

Staff were willing to help but not all staff were knowledgable, there was a lady who had all the answers. Staff were always smiling :)

Breakfast was great, we enjoyed it even though we tried the vegetarian spread only as we could only have halal food. There was hot thosai and vada.

Unfortunately we had to leave earlier on 2 other mornings to have breakfast in the hotel. We requested for packed breakfast. They accomodated us but the breakfast quality was not too good; it was just a packet of juice, apple and banana. On another morning, we had slightly better breakfast - tomato and cheese sandwiches with packeted juice and apples. They try so that is good enough.

Lastly, the lobby is very pretty in the day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Muhammad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPPO, General Manager at The Ashtan Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for the feedback. We acknowledge and extend our gratitude towards your patronage. The entire team at the Ashtan Sarovar Portico looks forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

The location of this hotel is great due to its proximity to the metro. Rooms were clean, thermostat worked fine, and water pressure was good (Personally for me these are 3 important things I usually rate hotels on). What really stood out was the attitude of all the staff - from the watchman till the room cleaner, all were smiling, and very courteous and friendly. This made the stay a happy one.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the top floor so that you get more sunlight. Rooms from the third floor down a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank prakdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GPPO, General Manager at The Ashtan Sarovar Portico, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
We are delighted to receive your feedback on our services. We continue to strive to ensure stay of each of our guest is a pleasant one.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
The Muse Sarovar Portico
#95 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Hauz Khas
Iris Park Hotel
Iris Park Hotel
#142 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 175 reviews
Hauz Khas
Shreyans Inn
Shreyans Inn
#177 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauz Khas
Hotel Zara Grand – Green Park
Hotel Zara Grand – Green Park
#418 of 706 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
The Visaya
#119 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashtan Sarovar Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashtan Sarovar Portico

Property: The Ashtan Sarovar Portico
Address: C2 | Green Park Extension, New Delhi 110016, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ashtan Sarovar Portico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the upmarket commercial and residential hub of South Delhi, The Ashtan Sarovar Portico offers quality 3 star services and facilities to its guests. The hotel is situated adjacent to the Green Park Metro Station and is only 10kms from T1 of Indira Gandhi International Airport and 12 kms from New Delhi railway station.Hotel services include a multi-cuisine restaurant, business center, wifi, currency exchange, concierge, travel desk, laundry service and 24 hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Ashtan Sarovar Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashtan Sarovar Portico Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing