We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ashtan Sarovar Portico
Ranked #94 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

This place is literally hidden. It sits on a side street so you can't quite see it from the main road. The hotel is small, clean and quite modern. The room was beautifully decorated, and it had everything you would expect from a major western chain hotel. There was only one restaurant and it had only a few Western choices. The breakfast spread was quite good, but had way too many Indian choices. The only negative was the location. It was in a residential area that probably wasn't the best address in town. This being my first time in Delhi the area was a bit of a shock to me and it was intimidating for me to just go out walking. In any case I soon realized that Delhi isn't much of a walking city and no matter where you stay you will probably rely on a cab or an auto rickshaw. At least the Ashtan is in Delhi as opposed to most decent Delhi hotels which tend to be in the Guragon and Noida area, so the cost of a cab wasn't that much.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brianonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    143
    74
    16
    10
See reviews for
63
52
29
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
midlands
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We were part of a wedding group booked at Ashatan,and had nearly 35 rooms booked.We found the staff,the managment,the service & the food excellent !!! I speak on behalf of all the guests.
We have stayed in excellent hotels all over the world but none compared to The Ashtan. The staff were extremely helpful and pleasant.
Centrally located, very near to the Metro, green park market within 5 minutes walking with excellent choice of beauty salons and boutique clothing.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeeeMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
britishC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2012

I was able to get a room without a credit card, the room, cleanliness and service was
excellent.
I can highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aronbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk.England
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2012

First impressions and you may feel a little uncertain regarding location but dont be ,this is a great little boutique hotel,spotlessly clean,amazingly helpful staff who are so attentive,great selection of food at breakfast and evening meals are excellent.It is a two minute walk to Green Park Metro and plenty of ATM'S around.The area is amazing for 'people watching' especially at 6-7am when everyone is off to work/school and in the evening.Although first impressions of area make you feel a little concerned you grow to love it and see 'real India' life.Nice large room,all mod cons in room,and a bonus to have free wi fi,we stayed in nine hotels in India during this trip and this was the only one with free internet,a real bonus to stay in touch with family.One night we crossed the main road and turned left to find a great little upstairs bar/restaurant called 'rhythm Bar' that we would recommend if you want a change from eating drinking in hotel.We have have no hesitation in recommending this hotel and would most certainly use again,perfect place,thank you Ashtan Sarovar for making our stay in Delhi so memorable,hope to return one day soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ange55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

Hi friends . I have not stayed in this hotel , but i did book for this hotel for 3 days through a travel agent named travel guru they confirmed my booking . I called the hotel and they informed that my booking was confirmed . But just 3 days before my travel the hotel sent me a mail stating that the booking was cancelled as there was no rooms available ......just imagine once u do all ur booking and some body say this .please be careful when u do a booking with this hotel

Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank prijo_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baroda
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Expensive considering what they offer.
Would look at other options.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prathit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
325 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

The location is good and quiet central, next to Metro station. The rooms very neatly done with all modern amenities, Rain shower was welcome accessorie. Good quality sleep. The breakfast was of high quality and decent spread. The reception was helpful and brisk. They even managed to get me Blackberry mobile charger. I really liked the place as its excellent value for money and will stay again in next visit.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nareshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hauz Khas
Iris Park Hotel
Iris Park Hotel
#139 of 715 in New Delhi
183 reviews
The Visaya
#111 of 715 in New Delhi
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauz Khas
Shreyans Inn
Shreyans Inn
#171 of 715 in New Delhi
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ashtan Sarovar Portico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ashtan Sarovar Portico

Property: The Ashtan Sarovar Portico
Address: C2 | Green Park Extension, New Delhi 110016, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Ashtan Sarovar Portico 3.5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the upmarket commercial and residential hub of South Delhi, The Ashtan Sarovar Portico offers quality 3 star services and facilities to its guests. The hotel is situated adjacent to the Green Park Metro Station and is only 10kms from T1 of Indira Gandhi International Airport and 12 kms from New Delhi railway station.Hotel services include a multi-cuisine restaurant, business center, wifi, currency exchange, concierge, travel desk, laundry service and 24 hour room service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Ashtan Sarovar Portico reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ashtan Sarovar Portico Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing