We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of National Gallery of Modern Art

National Gallery of Modern Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Independent Delhi Museum Tour with Private Car Transfer
Ranked #38 of 412 things to do in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This quiet museum houses an excellent collection of modern Indian art but is rarely crowded.
Bucharest
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I didn't know anything about Indian painting before visiting this museum and thus was quite surprised to find such a vibrant contemporary art scene. There are many mandala like, and spiritual inspired works the like of which you won't see in museums in Europe. The museum also has a large collection 19th century works but I didn't like these so much, as they seem derivative of the more skillful works painted in Europe at the time. If you are a student don't forget to bring your id and you will pay only one rupee instead of the regular 300 Rs. foreigners ticket.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank danno81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    107
    22
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Guwahati, India
Level Contributor
508 reviews
331 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 469 helpful votes
“Colonial art”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

The NGMA has an extraordinary collection of not only modern art works of contemporary Indian artists, but also has a section on art works and etchings of colonial artists who painted on life during the British rule. It is recommended to visit this place with a lot of time to spare.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bornav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga
Level Contributor
140 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Well worth seeing!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

I came here toward the end of the day so only had time to visit the new building. I very much appreciated its organized layout and progression from older works on the lower floors to newest ones on the upper floors.The juxtaposition of Indian and British artists was interesting, but I enjoyed the Indian art the most. Few sculptures in this building but the ones they had were very good, imho. Many nice sculptures outside but it was impossible to read the info posted on them.
I would definitely go back. One big disappointment, though - no inside photos at all allowed and yet they did not have one single catalog on the permanent collection, nor any postcards at all. Wow - I would have purchased both. Had I known, I would have taken notes on some of the artists I wanted to see more of. Shame for them to lose out on a revenue stream. There were very few visitors the day I was there, so if you're looking to get away from crowds, this makes an enjoyable respite.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank uostatechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhagalpur, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place for art lovers, not so modern though.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Watch out for sculptures on the ground floor, they are good. Bottom floors have traditional paintings which are modest, but the real thing comes in upper floors. It was relief to see some abstract and experimental works by Indian artists, particularly by "Indian Turks". One more exhibition is in work.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank coneoraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“brimming with contemporary art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

Skip the boring bottom floors near entrance all about the Brits and Europe bla bla and head straight for upstairs Block 2 area and save your energy cause the place is overloaded with everything you don't get to see about modern art in India. From the hilarious (check out Atul Dodiya's "Tomb's Day" series) to pop art (huge 1950's style paintings of Bollywood movie starlets by Balkrishna Arts) to the absolutely sublime. I was delighted to finally find this museum here.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerInAsia2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Gallery of Modern Art also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to National Gallery of Modern Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing