We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent Hotel for the price but inefficient staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpina Hotels & Suites
Ranked #155 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Decent Hotel for the price but inefficient staff”
Reviewed November 18, 2011

The Hotel is quite clean and the rooms are small but tidy. The rates are quite good (when compared to the options). The staff is friendly but not quite efficient. When I got there I learned that my room confirmation was 'missed' by the GM even after he sent me an email confirmation a couple of days ago. Moreover, I was asked to check out two days earlier than scheduled they were full booked and couldn't accommodate me . However the hotel arranged for me to be moved to a hotel a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramses1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    23
    20
    9
    8
See reviews for
20
14
9
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2011

Alpina hotel is to be searched for its existance amongst the multistory buildings of the area and one can easily miss it for just another residential building. I had to spend nights and because of festive season in Delhi, remaine confied to the room most of the time. Hotel being in a residential area does not offer a view outside the window and it is advisable not to peek into the neighbour's windows. Access to the rooms if through a ground parking place and the reception is at the first floor...quite an unusual thing. The rooms are clean and the best thing is the free wifi inside your room. The restaurant provides good Indian food at very reasonable price and the taste is authentic as well as homely. Shopping place is at a walking distance which makes the stay convenient. Hotel does not provide newspaper in the morning which could help travellers in planning their day in the city. Overall a good hotel but ....

Room Tip: All rooms are alike and no good outside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bhupendraa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Stayed with my wife and daughter for 2 nights at the start of a trip round Rajasthan. We've been in India for the last 2 1/2 years so knew what to expect from a mid-price hotel.
Rooms were small, but fairly clean. Basic breakfast - mostly indian. Room service was available pretty much 24hours for snacks. Free wi-fi.
Big plus was that it was quiet at night as it's not on a busy street. However the building is a typical cheap concrete structure so if you had noisy neighbours or people moving around in the corridor the sound will travel straight through. There was slightly wierd background music playing all the time in the corridor which was audible in the room.
Most of the staff were helpful except for the reception attendant, who was thoroughly miserable. I had to argue with him at around midnight when we arrived, as we had booked an extra bed but there was none in the room. Apparently none were available ... except they were when I insisted!
Wouldn't particularly choose to stay there again, though it was OK.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UK_Expat_100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I am a travel agent and just returned from India. Alpina Hotel was my first accommodation, which could not have been more inviting. This hotel has been totally redone since early this year. Hence every picture I saw online before booking was as tastefully decorated and clean as the pictures show. The helpfulness of staff, and the luxury of the rooms made my stay for 2 nights a great start. If you enjoy the flavor of a small Boutique Hotel, you will love this place for its warm intimacy and location.

I made an inspection of the hotel, and want to also recommend it for anyone, company or organization needing a conference room, or a terrace to hold a reception. They would be able to accommodate a moderate size group for business, and even a small wedding reception.

The hotel is just a short ride by tutuk to the old city and many important sights, and a short walk to an enclosed mall if anything is needed. What was particularly impressive to me was how quiet the rooms were from all the busy street traffic. I even had a garden view from my window, which was on one side wall of the hotel. I did use the restaurant and was very pleased.

If you should need any information before booking, please contact Mr. Prem Parkash, Gen. Mgr, who helped me in making arrangements for a private guide to see the sights, as well as shuttle service from the airport. I found the Indian people so helpful in assisting tourists and do it with such grace. Alpina's staff is no exception to the rule.

I know you will find my experience can be yours as welll. You can reach Mr. Prem by email to his attention at info@alpinahotels.com

I

Room Tip: I loved being on the first floor. Since I am a single traveler, I felt it convenient to leave my ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saundra3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

My wife & I stayed there for five nights in early August 2011. The room was clean and very nice. The staff and manager were very helpful. They were very flexible concerning check-in and check-out hours. The restaurant was good and reasonable. It is in an upscale neighborhood. We took a "tuk-tuk" to the metro & back. There is a local shopping area within walking distance (less than 1/2 mile) with American restaurants such as Domino's, Subway, and Ruby Tuesdays (ask directions to it).

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jerecer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

stayed there for 3 nights great staff and service absolutely clean and new modern fixtures and fittings and in a very peaceful area transport by tuk tuk is freely available good breakfast very well prepared .quality noted thanks for the lovely stay will definately stay there again rates were affordable

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SKYErain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 23, 2011

My wife and I are currently on a 'round-the-world' tour and during our stop in New Delhi, we stayed at the Alpina. It was a great place to stop. The staff was nice, the rooms were clean, and provided us with a nice place to stay on our stopover.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonbrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near New Delhi
Greater Kailash II
Rockland Inn
Rockland Inn
#191 of 707 in New Delhi
199 reviews
Greater Kailash I
Hotel Meridian Plaza
Hotel Meridian Plaza
#146 of 707 in New Delhi
122 reviews
New Haven Hotel
#215 of 707 in New Delhi
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Queens Residency
#65 of 229 in Gurugram (Gurgaon)
24 reviews
Hotel Comfort Zone
#306 of 707 in New Delhi
18 reviews
The Allure - A Boutique Hotel
#200 of 707 in New Delhi
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpina Hotels & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpina Hotels & Suites

Property: Alpina Hotels & Suites
Address: E - 506 2'nd Road, New Delhi 110048, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Greater Kailash II
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #155 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Alpina Hotels & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy yourself in the vibrant, upscale center of New Delhi at the Alpina Hotel. This boutique hotel is located in the heart of New Delhi's party, eating and business district. Relax in the plush rooms with personalized services. Take a walk across the street to experience fine multi-cuisine restaurants, bars and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alpina Hotels & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpina Hotels And Suites
Alpina Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing