We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap but not nasty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Classic Diplomat - New Delhi
Ranked #538 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Cheap but not nasty”
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this place for a one night transit. It did it's job if that's all you want. It had free wifi and a great breakfast. It right next to the airport, and what airport hotels are not dodgy. Arrange a pick as the airport is wild battling a cab is not advisable.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank horsecakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal K, Public Relations Manager at Classic Diplomat - New Delhi, responded to this review, May 8, 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for staying with us and a Four * review I’m glad that you love our facilities, interior design, the house keeping and breakfast. Your compliments are really encouraging! Sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with Transfer pricing but that is a quality concern. Once again thank you for your support and we hope to see you again in the future. We are eager to welcome you at our all time favorite units at Haridwar, Nainital and Chamba. Happy Staying...

Thanks and Regards
Dhaval Patel
+91 8527055441
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    102
    80
    17
    25
See reviews for
61
54
42
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We booked online at booking.com, however when we arrived we were stunned to be told if we needed the room overnight, then it would be an extra 1000 rupee on top as the online booking only covered for a stay between 8 hours usage, from 07:00 - 18:00. I've never heard of anything so absurd in my life & if it wasn't for the fact we arrived after an exhausting 6-hour drive & that we were only going to be there for 8 hours, I would have walked out!

The 1st room we were taken to was filthy & had not been cleaned since the last guests. We were then given the room next door.....again this was the same filthy mess. 3rd time lucky & we were given a clean room, however this rooms window overlooked some kind of disused, dark corridor & would be a thief's delight. The room safe was not bolted down to anything & could have been carried straight out by any burglar, so we felt very uncomfortable for the few hours we were here.

The sports-bar was a non-alcoholic venue.

We decided to go to the Taurus hotel a few doors down for food & here we found a great hotel bar, fantastic restaurant (best Rogan Josh in India) & a much nicer hotel. Wish we would have stayed here.

Staff are quite rude.

The make up call we ordered for 04.00 was 15 minutes early.

WiFi is single person sign on at anytime which is disgusting but this is not the only hotel in India with this policy.

All in all I would strongly recommend not staying at this hotel. The Hotel Taurus a few doors down is fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

I've stayed here a couple of times and it's my go-to location when I'm transitioning through Delhi. Is it fancy? No. Is it a place where I'd want to hang out all day? No. For that I'd go to the Raddision Blu. BUT....if you want a place with clean rooms, wonderful staff that's also proximal to the airport? This is the place to go.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PursuiterGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal K, Public Relations Manager at Classic Diplomat - New Delhi, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for choosing Classic Diplomat - New Delhi.

We are delighted to receive your feedback on this public forum. Centrally located, we are a preferred by both leisure and business travelers. The team works round the clock to offer the best of services to our patrons and a review like yours inspires us to strengthen our resolve.
We once again thank you for your recommendation and look forward to hosting you again.
Once again we are eager to welcome you at our all time favorite units at Haridwar, Nainital and Chamba. Happy Staying...

Thanks and Regards
Dhaval Patel
+91 8527055441
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

After a long flight from overseas this was the perfect place to rest, only a 5 minute drive from the airport. The room was a very good size and was very clean and comfortable. The breakfast in the morning was nice and had a delicious omelette. Free wifi too.

Good experience staying here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toronto1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal K, Public Relations Manager at Classic Diplomat - New Delhi, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for choosing Classic Diplomat - New Delhi.

We are delighted to receive your feedback on this public forum. Centrally located, we are a preferred by both leisure and business travelers. The team works round the clock to offer the best of services to our patrons and a review like yours inspires us to strengthen our resolve.
We once again thank you for your recommendation and look forward to hosting you again.
Once again we are eager to welcome you at our all time favorite units at Haridwar, Nainital and Chamba. Happy Staying...

Thanks and Regards
Dhaval Patel
+91 8527055441
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Great place to stay for a night or 2 whilst in transit - away from city centre but pretty close to the airport.
Food was OK & overall service was good. Management wasn't too happy that we didn't book taxi through them, but we definitely got a cheaper price.
If you're really tired, just order room service - menu is the same in both restaurant & room.
The room we booked seemed that it had been recently refurbished, so when compared to other accommodation experiences in India, we were pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank RuthBorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal K, Public Relations Manager at Classic Diplomat - New Delhi, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and a Four * review I’m glad that you love our facilities, interior design,the house keeping and breakfast. Your compliments is really encouraging! Sorry to hear that you are not satisfied with Transfer pricing but that is a quality concern. Once again thank you for your support and we hope to see you again in the future. We are eager to welcome you at our all time favorite units at Haridwar, Nainital and Chamba. Happy Staying ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

A very long and steady chain with desinformation and misunderstandings from the reception staff who always reassured us that they perfectly got what we wanted. Very Faulty Towers look- alike, but it was hard to laugh at this, because you are the victim for the consequences. Even the bill was wrong, but of course in their favor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank claes4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Ideal as a budget hotel for the airport.About 5 minutes by car along wide roads that were not busy at 8am. Our room was fairly small,but clean,comfortable and well equipped. We ate dinner in the restaurant used for breakfast (I believe they have a larger one next door) Food and service was good. Breakfast was good with the buffet quickly restocked. No problem at all. Will use it again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank guineapig103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vimal K, Public Relations Manager at Classic Diplomat - New Delhi, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Honorable Guest, In the beginning, I wish you a very Happy Christmas & Prosperous New Year and also acknowledge & convey my thanks for your valuable comment which always help us in improving our services for which we are well known since years. You liked our FnB services is also very nice for us, we always use to serve the best traditional Indian recipe and multi- cuisine well at our all hotel units. Sir, We are having different Room well appointed and maintained room categories with different sizes and facilities you can avail another one at your next visit. Be with us and make memories for a life time. Thanx and Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Mahipal Pur
Hotel Waves
Hotel Waves
#293 of 715 in New Delhi
123 reviews
Mahipal Pur
Taurus Hotel & Conventions
Taurus Hotel & Conventions
#517 of 715 in New Delhi
199 reviews
Mahipal Pur
Hotel Shanti Palace (Mahipalpur)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mahipal Pur
Hotel Lohias Delhi Airport
Hotel Lohias Delhi Airport
#244 of 715 in New Delhi
51 reviews
Mahipal Pur
Hotel Saptagiri
Hotel Saptagiri
#585 of 715 in New Delhi
181 reviews
Hotel Le Seasons
#213 of 715 in New Delhi
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Diplomat - New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Diplomat - New Delhi

Property: Classic Diplomat - New Delhi
Address: A-4, Mahipalpur | NH-8, Near IGI Airport, New Delhi 110002, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Mahipal Pur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #538 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Classic Diplomat - New Delhi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious property having 90 well appointed rooms which suits to every needs and desire. Diplomat is famous and well known for its Courteous Hospitality. Hotels is owned and manager by Classic Group of Hotels( A leading chain of Hotels and Resorts in North India since a long time). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Classic Diplomat - New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Diplomat - New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing