We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Airport Transit Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Classic Diplomat - New Delhi
Ranked #534 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Booked this on the Internet and was not disappointed. If you are looking for a stopover/transit hotel near the airport and don't want to pay a fortune then this one is OK.
I arrived after midnight following a late flight into Delhi - the front desk was helpful and efficient, a porter took my bags to my room which was clean and the bed comfortable. The aircon worked fine and toiletries were provided in the bathroom. For the price paid I think it was good value (for a transit hotel).
However, rooms have little or no views and the hotel is in a street full of other hotels but I think this would be the best hotel in the street.

Warning:
Watch out for dodgy taxi operators at the airport who will tell you your hotel is full and your booking has been cancelled. They will offer to take you somewhere else for a rip off fare - stick with your original booking and plans.
Fortunately this was not my first trip to India so was on the alert but this scam would be easy to fall into if you are tired, jet lagged and confused by the chaos outside the airport.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pande67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

211 - 217 of 264 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2012

We chose this hotel because it is close to the airport. The exterior is attractive, perhaps more so than some of the other local properties. The doorman was quick to help with our luggage and invite us into the comfortable lobby. Our room on the ground floor was comfortable and well appointed.

The main problem was with the staff, doorman excluded. Having gotten used to wonderfully attentive and helpful hotel staff during our two week holiday this place was disappointing. The front desk staff were inefficient, unfriendly and wanted to charge us for the cab ride to the airport in the morning even though our booking said it was provided. They wanted to see proof. When we booked we didn't have access to a printer but I had saved a screen shot of the booking and showed that as proof so we got our free taxi to the airport.

If you want a comfortable room close to the airport this place is fine. Don't stay for the service and print a copy of your booking receipt.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hydehaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2012

i stayed one night on 14th january. i had to take early morning flight so i look this hotel. though airport transfer was included in the price, front desk guy charged me extra 300 Rs for that in the morning and did not even give me receipt. since i was already late for the flight i didn't fight over it and just moved on.
but no one likes to get cheated, even if it is as little as your morning coffee. i would not trust this hotel ever again

Room Tip: avoid this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank rahulverma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

Perfect hotel if you´ve booked an early morning flight as we (2 girls) did.
Our room was spottlessly clean and very modern. Although the hotel is in a very noisy area close to a highway junction (as all the airport hotels in New Delhi), our room was surprisingly quiet. The hotel staff was helpful and funny. The transport from/to the airport worked perfectly. The hotel is just 15 minutes away from terminal 3 and you can easily get a taxi there. Good choice for an airport hotel!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Toddycat_2204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2012

Booked this hotel for an early morning flight. Clean, decent rooms but noisy. Arrived late so decided to have room service - big mistake as I was really ill for the next week. Good for a short airport stay but nothing longer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TED129London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

Classic Diplomat is a hotel close to the Delhi airport, which makes it a good option for people who have an early or late flight. It's far away from downtown, so if you are staying in Delhi for a few days, it might be better to stay in dowtown Delhi. The hotel was very clean, the furniture looked pretty new and overall I was satisfied with the comfort and quality of the hotel. The staff were friendly and tried their best to make our stay pleasant. There was free internet, which was an added bonus. Only two small complaints - there was no hot water at night, only in the morning, and one day when we were going to Aggra early in the morning, the concierge suggested we request to have breakfast to go, but the breakfast was never ready and we had to leave without it. Not a big deal, but I guess if they are not able to prepare the packed breakfast, they should not recommend that we request it. I think overall this is a good option for airport transfers, business travelers and short stays.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fnsio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

I was staying at a budget hotel aroudn the corner from this place - found it by accident on my search for some decent breakfast. I was due to leave Delhi that day. Little did I know that my flight would be delayed and would end up having to spend an extra night in Delhi. Cue Classic Diplomat! Wahtan amazing oasis. The new manager sent flowers to our room for our anniversary, the food was gorgeous, the service impeccable and all with a beautiful smile. The manager even gave me his personal mobile to phone Bangkok? to let our hotel know we were going to be a day late! Above and Beyond expectations! Good luck with your expenasion plans...you deserve the very best! :-)

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which was quiet. You don't need to spend more on a luxury suite, all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Mahipal Pur
Hotel Shanti Palace (Mahipalpur)
Mahipal Pur
Hotel Waves
Hotel Waves
#264 of 715 in New Delhi
124 reviews
Mahipal Pur
FabHotel Transit Delhi Airport
FabHotel Transit Delhi Airport
#372 of 715 in New Delhi
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mahipal Pur
FabHotel Star Delhi Airport
FabHotel Star Delhi Airport
#316 of 715 in New Delhi
106 reviews
Mahipal Pur
Hotel Delhi Aerocity
Hotel Delhi Aerocity
#113 of 715 in New Delhi
652 reviews
Mahipal Pur
Taurus Hotel & Conventions
Taurus Hotel & Conventions
#516 of 715 in New Delhi
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Classic Diplomat - New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Classic Diplomat - New Delhi

Address: A-4, Mahipalpur | NH-8, Near IGI Airport, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Mahipal Pur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #534 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: $36 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Classic Diplomat - New Delhi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious property having 90 well appointed rooms which suits to every needs and desire. Diplomat is famous and well known for its Courteous Hospitality. Hotels is owned and manager by Classic Group of Hotels( A leading chain of Hotels and Resorts in North India since a long time). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Classic Diplomat - New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Classic Diplomat - New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing