We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to see Old Delhi”

Old Delhi Rickshaw Ride
Ranked #81 of 499 Tours in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Best way to see Old Delhi”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I paid 400Rs for 1 1/2 hours and felt as though I got my monies worth. All of the wholesale shops were closed (Sunday) which was a shame as I would have loved to see the colourful displays of materials, spices etc. However, we rode through the old town with the greatest of ease without the hustle and bustle. A great day!!

Visited March 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    40
    10
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pero, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Unmissable experience”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

If you feel uneasy about walking through the Old Delhi maze of streets and bazaars in your tourist attire, this is by far the best solution. Take the Metro to Chandni Chowk and, when you exit, get into a cycle rickshaw. Where can you find one? Don't worry, it'll find you.
You'll soon be surrounded by a swarm of rickshaw drivers offering to show you around. Some will try and lure you with ridiculously low prices, like 10 rupees for a full tour of the Red Fort, the Spice Bazaar, the Mosque etc. No matter what price you negotiate at the outset, it will need renegotiating at the end of your tour. This is pretty annoying but you can't change it so stand your ground and don't cave in. I didn't have a lot of time, so we took a quick tour, just stopping at the main landmarks for a photo op, then plunged into the narrow alleys which would have probably made you hesitate if you'd been walking on your own. After less than an hour, we were back at the Metro station. I gave the guy 200 rupees (which I thought was fair, considering he'd asked for 10) and he pulled the same face he'd have pulled if I'd given him 2,000. No worries, he can always rip off the next tourist.

Visited January 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
316 reviews
151 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Unique experiece”
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great way to see the little streets of Old Delhi. Do not go on sundays because many shops will be closed. Take the street food at your own risk.

Visited January 2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Rickshaw ride in Old New Delhi”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Well, this is an event that has to be experienced to be understood. While on tour we took a rickshaw ride in Old Delhi. The streets were teaming with people, every kind of mode of transportation, and thousands of people, all trying to make their way through the streets. We were two to a rickshaw, following , or trying to follow, one another. It was quite the experience. I don't know how they do it, but it must be that since these crowds are normal to them, everyone made their way through. The amount of shops and what was sold was overwhelming. If you couldn't find what you wanted there, it just didn't exist. It was a bumpy ride, but well worth the experience.

Visited December 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

I have extremely mmixed feelings as far as my 6 months of Rickshaw rides in India and Dehli.

On one hand, they're fast, practical and cheap. You can go everywhere and there's always a rickshaw somewhere available to take you.

This is an excellent way to see and experience the country.

On the other hand, the constant fights with the drivers, because of their insisting high prices and rip off were exhausting, annoying and overwhelming. No doubt dealing with the drivers and their greed was the worse of India.

Visited January 2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Delhi Rickshaw Ride also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing