We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Delhi riksha drive” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Delhi Rickshaw Ride

Old Delhi Rickshaw Ride
Ranked #80 of 426 Tours in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Old Delhi riksha drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

In Delhi, we hired a driver with a car for visit diffrent places. In Old Delhi the driver negotiated a 2 hours riksha drive for us (200 rupees) and the riksha drive took us to see Red Forth, Chandi Chawk - all the bazaar alleys, Jama Majid Mosque - all that really worth visit/experience and not to do by walking (neither possible by car). At the end the riksha driver wanted to show us an airconditioned nice shop - say NO Thanks to that proposition - we went to see the shop; really expensive and sort of unease atmosphere. But the whole experience was great, just to remember dress up in a correct way; jeans or long skirt is needed even tough it's really warm, and shawl to cover head at the Jama Majid mosque and its environs. And ask your car driver to negotiate the riksha drive prive, much easier and cheaper that way.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Nelli2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    37
    10
    1
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fascinating tour and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

We decided that we really wanted to visit Old Delhi - and what better way to experience it, then going by Rickshaw.
Bookings & payment were made easy and the experience was excellent. Certainly no dull moments - so lively and rich with culture and heritage. This is really a cultural and historical tour of Old Delhi - rather than a shopping experience.
Fantastic guides and very hard working rickshaw pullers - highly recommended.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Saskiadubois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best way to experience Old Delhi!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

Took the 3 hr ShahJahan grand tour of Chandni Chowk with When in India tours. This is undoubtedly the best way to experience the history and thrill of the Old Delhi and without any of its hassles. It was quite impressive seeing all those sights and crowds while being comfortably perched on my 5-star rickshaw - complete with headphones, umbrella and refreshments. The tour guides are fantastic - both fun and informative, and there are plenty of stops in this tour if you like to walk around a bit or take pictures. The tour covers practically every nook and cranny of the Old Delhi area, not only covering the famous monuments but also several old streets and local stuff that will give you a real glimpse of Chandani Chowk. The tour has its own private restored old Haveli which is absolutely stunning and this is where you get to hang out and eat brunch towards the end of the trip. I highly recommend taking this rickshaw tour!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank vnagpal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Rickshaw ride to remember!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

I had read a lot about Old Delhi and its food. Luckily I booked myself on a rickshaw tour called –When in India Tour. They not only took us to some interesting places but also served us some excellent food! I was really impressed with the red and white rickshaws, which looked very good. Once we boarded the rickshaws, the guide gave us head phones and we could hear her live commentary about the various places which we were crossing. I never expected audio aids on a rickshaw tour in Old Delhi!! The markets looked very beautiful. The streets were decorated with fancy overhead hangings, and one should not miss the maze of electric wires hanging all around! The tour was fun and very informative also. I really wish there were more tours like these to explore the other parts of Delhi as well.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank monica j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, Delhi, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enchanting Old Delhi with WII Rickshaw Tour !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2011

"When In India Rickshaw Tours" is a must if you love and want to know more of Old Dilli's history, culture and cuisine. Their customised rickshaws are comfortable, safe and an experience one cannot miss. They help you glide through the enchanting lanes of Chandni Chowk known as the Moonlit Square of India. Thank you Taru and Ritu for the wonderfully organised tour. Its an experience that my friends and I will always cherish. The yummy (complimentary) snacks at the end of the tour was an added delight. We look forward to the next tour already!!! Know more at www.wheninindia.com and Taru and Ritu will take care of the rest ! Happy Rickshaw Riding :))))

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Parineeta P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Delhi Rickshaw Ride also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Old Delhi Rickshaw Ride? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing