We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, hassle free stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Red Maple Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #34 of 1,062 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Panjim, India
Level Contributor
156 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Comfortable, hassle free stay”
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Okay, first up, New Delhi hotels are expensive and clean OR not so expensive but filthy. So I decided to try this B&B at South Ex 1 for an overnight stopover. I booked online through a travel portal (hotel website does not have booking engine) and then buzzed a telephone number to ask for a pick-up. Sure, said Mr. Haminder Saini, the owner of this property. Next day, when I landed at the airport, it was Haminder himself in his Toyota Corolla, saying that all other cars were pre-occupied and since he had committed, he himself came to the airport. Point scored!

This 5-room B&B is fairly recent, having opened up for business in 2010 during the Commonwealth Games. The rooms and their linen and furnishings are clean and worthy of a 4 star hotel. Internet is free of charge. Breakfast is not the gourmet spread, but made to order by their Nepali cook (friendly guy). You can order for lunch and dinner from them or there are the usual McDonanld's, Moti Mahal (Indian Mughlai food), Slice of Italy (Italian ofcourse) and others - you can walk over to them or I suppose they would deliver too.

For tourists, this is a central place from where you are almost equidistant to most attractions in Delhi - just walk over to the Delhi Metro's INA Market station and move around. In Delhi, it is the best way to get around. If you prefer cabs, then go with radio taxis like MeruCab, EasyCab and others. Moreover, Haminder also has a tourist agency which provides tours to places in and around Delhi. He will be happy to create an itinerary for you.

The B & B is located in South Extension - Part 1, which is an upper-middle class / decent neighbourhood. The only issue is that it is not on the road and you may need to hunt for it the first time.

My Recommendation: absolutely go for this B & B even if you are with family and need a reasonably priced, backpacker-free hotel with 4-star amenities (no swimming pool, gym etc).

Most backpacker type tourists (I got nothing against backpackers; just that they usually prefer cheap places) go to seedy Delhi hotels in Paharganj and Karol Bagh which you should avoid like a plague. Or if you have the urge to splurge, you always have the $500+ rooms in Delhi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tripwiz_in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    31
    14
    4
    1
See reviews for
41
46
25
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2011

Oh what an EXCELLENT stay this was! We arrived at Red Maple late in night from the train station and were initially skeptical of it, given the address. However, we were pleasantly surprised to see the building and the inside. What a fabulous property and amazingly well maintained too. The staff is courteous beyond imagination and made us feel at home right from the gate. Breakfast next morning was delicious and very well laid out. The entire B&B is excellently decorated and it speaks highly of the taste of the owners.

Red Maple enjoys an excellent location in South Delhi and just walking distance from the South Ex-1 market. The owner, Mr. Inder stopped by to say hello and he is a thorough gentleman.

It was a pleasure to stay here and we would love to go back again and again. It's worth every penny that you pay. You will want to extend your stay and just not want to leave this place!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank The_Young_Monk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were first time travellers to India and did not know what to expect, specially in a big city like New Delhi. After going thru trip advisor, we decided to book this place. We requested for an airport transfer and hotel promptly confirmed the same to us on direct payment.
Upon arrival we were met at airport with a smiling driver holding a plycard in our name. He drove us straight to the property in no time.
Well, the moment we stepped in to the property we could feel the freshness of the place. A short formality of check in over juices and fresh towels, we were taken to our room, which was exactly as the one we were shown on trip advisor. The staff and the owners were too warm and kind and guided us about sight seeing attractions, foods, safety issues, restaurants and interesting places to visit. In a day of our arrival, we felt as no strangers and our journey of discovering India started on a very positive note. For first time travellers and for people who love to know the culture and experience warmth. The place to start your journey is Red Maple BB.

Room Tip: All Rooms have access to balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed here for two nights after another Delhi B&B let us down, cancelling our booking without reason. We were delighted to find that Red Maple was available, reasonable and convenient for our plans. Staff made us feel welcome and assisted us with arranging transfers, printing rail tickets and providing a packed breakfast for an early start. Rooms are comfortable (bed was too short but I'm over 6ft and few places in India have big enough beds!), my only gripe would be that the air con is too noisy to have on at night and there wasn't enough space between the end of the bed and the wall - I walked into the end of the wall-mounted telly in the middle of the night. We had a lovely stay here.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWG1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2011

My husband, 2 small kids and I arrived here at 2am and were kindly greeted with glasses of water and juice for us and the people who dropped us off. The room we were taken to was set up for the 4 of us, including, a very comfortable cot that we pulled right up against the king bed.
The room was spacious and had every amenity you could think of. The bathroom and room furnishings rival any 5 star hotel in India. Beds were comfortable and bathrooms (one of the main reasons I chose this place) lived up to and surpassed our western standards. Even tho the morning breakfast ended at 10am, they catered to my husband's need to sleep in and served him a complete breakfast daily past 10am. Delicious Indian and Continental breakfast, a very friendly, knowledgeable staff and excellent location - can't ask for more. One caveat: KNOW how to get to the hotel. None of the local cabbies or rickshawalas have heard of or know how to get to this B&B. After walking around for 45 minutes the first night, we asked the staff and quickly learned the exact route (which is really simple once you know it). Highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MDtravelers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2011

After a crazy day in Delhi, Red Maple was the most relaxing place to come home to and that's exactly what it felt like - home. We stayed for 6 nights in October 2011 and came back after trips to Jaipur and Agra and always got the same room and the same lovely welcome. Pryianka and her husband were most welcoming and even took me to the local tailor to have a sari made for my friend's wedding. The waiters were so sweet and the food was better than some of the 5* hotels that we ate in. We had a couple of extremely late nights at our friend's wedding celebrations and the staff were more than happy to wait up for us which was really kind. Our room was very modern and very clean and you get 2 bottles of water everyday, which is really handy for your days out. Red Maple is as good as any hotel in Delhi, if not better and definitely EXCELLENT value for money. According to our Indian friends in Delhi South Extension Part 1 is one of the best residential areas and an up and coming area, so it is definitely worth a stay. It is around 7km from city centre but only a 200 roupee taxi ride. After the craziness of central and old Delhi we were always happy to come back to South Extenstion Part 1 and we would fully recommend Red Maple to anyone! You really don't need to think twice!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChloeandRog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2011

Delightful, helpful staff, stylish & clean accomodation and transfer from airport really useful. Very comfortable beds & linen & evening meal options a bonus. Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishbournefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.3 mi away
Boribista Hostel
Boribista Hostel
#10 of 914 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colonel's Retreat
Colonel's Retreat
#4 of 1,062 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 684 reviews
1.5 mi away
Vandana's Bed and Breakfast
Vandana's Bed and Breakfast
#74 of 1,062 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Grace Home
Grace Home
#7 of 1,062 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thikana
Thikana
#6 of 1,062 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort BnB
Comfort BnB
#82 of 1,062 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Maple Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Maple Bed and Breakfast

Property: Red Maple Bed and Breakfast
Address: 49 Amrit Nagar | South Extension Part I, New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 1,062 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Maple Bed and Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Maple Bed and Breakfast is the latest in Perfection of home stay in New Delhi! Quality Accommodation ideal for Leisure and business travelers and International service standards, it offers luxury at its very best at affordable prices. Centrally located, professionally managed and with rare reviews from clients. Feel the difference of staying with international Star facilities in a luxury home. Directions - Directions to Red Maple BB. Just before entry to South Extension PART ONE Market (approx 10 Yards). You will find main Entry Road leading to South Ext Part I, neighborhood. You will notice and pass McDonalds Restaurant on the right hand side. Keep on going on this road and take the 4th right turn, when you see a municipality board with "Amrit Nagar" written on it. Immediately take the first left, drive for approx 50 yards. As soon as you see the Park, you will notice the property stands out in White on the right hand side. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Red Maple Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Maple b&b
Red Maple Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing