We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little bit too expensive for what it is” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Amarya Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amarya Villa
Certificate of Excellence
Basel
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A little bit too expensive for what it is”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We, two couples, stayed in Amarya Villa in december 2012 for 2 nights. We had the rooms Zircon and Sapphir which are very simple, room zircon is very small. Bathroom and shower are - let's say - indian average. The staff is friendly and the location is also ok (closer to the airport than the city center). During the night dogs bark all night long outside the hotel, so I could not find any sleep. The second night, I was so tired that I heard them only from time to time. All in all the hotel is ok for a one or two night stay, but it's not really what it looks like on the web. Should be cheaper for what it is.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank phototravellerbasel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaryaVillaA2, General Manager at Amarya Villa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for reviewing about Amarya Villa!

We are sorry you didn't have the opportunity to stay in one of our Deluxe, Executive or Suite rooms, they are fairly bigger and would meet your needs for your next stay with us. As for the dogs, we have warned the neighbourhood about the fact that we are a hotel welcoming guests from western countries, but it is rather difficult. We truly hope you managed to find a quiet place during the rest of your trip in indian cities.

We are ready to make your second stay perfect, we hope to welcome you again!

Warm regards from Delhi,

The Amarya Villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    65
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
86
34
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

I loved my stay at Amarya Villa! one of the best retreats in a City that i have been!
The house is beautifully decorated in an Hindu-European style, there are flowers at the entrance, it's very peaceful and in a quiet and nice neighborhood. The staff is highly friendly and super gentle and helped me in whatever I asked for. The room is super cosy, the toiletries are amazing from an Ayurvedic hand made brand. The bed is very very cosy. I stayed in Topaz room. The only thing to notice was the pressure of the shower that was really bad to have a good shower.

Internet is available everywhere. The living room is a great place to stay (although sofas need to be more comfortable) , with magazines to read, lounge music. The restaurant has a nice decoration too, good food, super nice staff. Highly recommend to stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicaslx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaryaVillaA2, General Manager at Amarya Villa, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
A million thanks for this review!

We are glad our service lived up to your expectations! We took good note of the failing details and took action regarding these issues.
Please feel free to come back anytime, we hope to welcome you again.

Warm regards from Delhi

The Amarya Villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

What a great and attentive welcoming in Dehli! We spent 4 night before going to Mumbay.We receive very good advice about what to do and see in those few days. The hotel is beween a little palais and a B&B. It's very comortable, lighted, clean and well decorated. The traditionnal indien breakfast was really good, we had also a lot of facilities to have a driver and to organise our days. The staff was devoted to us like I have rarely seen in other place with similar price! It's a details but the hairconditionnair was "unexpected" a very good quality :-)

Room Tip: Rooms are all decorated in a different way, I guess the rooms on the back of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaryaVillaA2, General Manager at Amarya Villa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Lane,

Thank you very much for this helpful review!
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in India with your friend.
Please come back whenever you want.

Kind regards,

The Amarya Villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

I stayed three nights in this adorable small hotel with my husband and two college daughters. While it is not a super luxury hotel, it is very comfortable and clean and smartly decorated. The bed was great and the breakfast was really good. What it lacks in 5 star amenities is more than made up for with incredible service and personal attention. From the moment we checked in (served a delicious tea while we did paper work) the lovely friendly staff made sure that our every need was met. The owner even sat with us to plan out a detailed two day itinerary exploring Delhi complete with restaurant and shopping recommendations which all turned out to be spot on. The driver who they arranged for us was delightful and helpful. One of the nicest conveniences that they provide is a cell phone for each room which in invaluable for keeping in touch with driver while touring. There are a few quirks in the hotel, such as less than perfect hot water availability and a lack of attention to cosmetic maintenance, but as I said the personal attention of the staff more than makes up for those small details. I'd stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank r d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaryaVillaA2, General Manager at Amarya Villa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you very much for this review!

It was a great pleasure to accomodate you and your family in our home. Please come back again, we will make your second stay perfect!

Warm regards from Delhi,

The Amarya Villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ile-de-France, France
Level Contributor
106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

The pictures on the net look just great but reality is far from what you see.
The decoration idea is great and done with taste (modern trendy Indo-European) but the quality of the furniture, blankets, materials is really poor. The people are very nice there and their food is good but this is not enough to compensate the poor quality of the premises.
The rooms were too cold (we were there in december) and the hot water was not enough for even one shower.
Too expensive for what they offer. the place would be great if it was 30 to 40% cheaper.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank temtem2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaryaVillaA2, General Manager at Amarya Villa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Temtem2910,

We are very happy you took the time to post a rewiew about us!

However, we have to admit we are quite surprised by your comments about the furniture and blankets. The furniture has been selected in antique shops for their quality and elegance and has never been an issue among our guests. So maybe we are missing something out and you are the first one to mention it. Our silk & cotton blankets are provided by a specialised hotel supplier in New Delhi and has neither been the subject of a complaint ever, so again, we might be mistaken about our selection but we struggle to find the ground of this remark.

We are sorry you had to experience the coldest days in New Delhi in over 40 years. The unexpected weather conditions had taken us aback and obviously the hot water was running short at one point. We are sorry our staff did not explain to you how to use the revertible A/C to heat your room. We have taken actions to be ready next winter.

Hoping you will give us a second chance, we look forward to welcome you again!

Warm regards from New Delhi,

The Amarya Villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel was centrally located, the bed was comfortable and warm and the breakfast delicious. Unfortunately, that's where the praise for Amarya Villa ends for us. It was cold and foggy when we arrived and my partner had a bad cold. He went to bed for the long cold afternoon, while I spent my time wrapped in a shawl in the cold lounge (which looks so warm and inviting in all the photos). The seating was hard and uncomfortable (all the cushions did not help), no heating in this thoroughfare, the reception area seemed to be as cold as ice too. I felt sorry for the staff who were also trying to keep warm. Our room was warm, but we could not move. There was no room for our bags except the floor around our bed. The room was becoming 'grubby', it needed a new paint job and the cushions on the bed had drool stains! The bathroom was clean (I think) but again, did not 'look' clean. If the weather had been warmer, our impressions may have been different, but the room would still have had it's flaws. We were expecting something in the boutique line as advertised (and which the price reflected), but instead got a 3 star motel standard of accommodation. The staff were very nice.

Room Tip: Don't choose the "Coral" room unless you can't climb stairs - small and opens onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaryaVillaA2, General Manager at Amarya Villa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Dear Teapotty1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Amarya Villa.

The circumstances in which you stayed with us were extreme. Delhi suffered from the coldest winter in 44 years, and the night you stayed at Villa reached -1°C which was unpredictable for us. After almost 10 years of operations in India, we have to confess that we never saw such a cold weather in the north of India.

However, this does not excuse the condition of our rooms which have now been renewed. Actions have been taken straight after Christmas and we are ready to welcome you back in Delhi.

We would like to apologize for the issues you encountered. We hope you will give us a second chance.

Warm regards,

The Amarya Villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgeron
Level Contributor
45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Very nice place, beautiful room, relaxing, warm welcome.
A French touch in Delhi, except that the food is not at the level of the rest of the hotel; at least the wine (not French) is good.
Advice more oriented on the trendy place in Delhi than on typical Indian matters, in line with the style of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_et_D751617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaryaVillaA2, General Manager at Amarya Villa, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you for reviewing about Amarya Villa!

We are very happy you enjoyed the place. Sorry the food did not live up to your expectations, we are currently working with the Chef to improve the menu, quality of product and presentation of the dishes. We hope next time will be the one!

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Best regards

The Amarya Villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,623 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#36 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 706 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,545 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Claridges New Delhi
The Claridges New Delhi
#23 of 706 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,870 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#7 of 706 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarya Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarya Villa

Property: Amarya Villa
Address: Amarya Villa A - 2/20, New Delhi 110017, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 901 Specialty Lodging in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amarya Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarya Villa opened its doors in October 2010 in New Delhi’s Safdarjung Enclave, eloquently transforming a city mansion into an idyllic home-away-from-home in the very heart of the bustling capital. The property comprises two 3-storey villas that are replete with large bay windows, a sunlit atrium and several private verandas. A cheerful mélange of contemporary chic and cosy comfort, the Villa follows in Amarya charm, tastefully blending Indian ethnic motifs with a funky modern touch.The guesthouse offers 9 spacious, sunny and stylish guestrooms that have been themed on the ‘Navratna’, India’s 9 auspicious gemstones; each stone resplendent in its unique lustre and astrological resonance, which when combined is believed to yield a profound mystical energy. The masterful chefs craft meals for each individual palate. Guests may enjoy candlelight dinners in the enchanting starlit terrace or indulge in aperitifs in the sumptuous chandeliered lounge. Meanwhile, the bustling city with its myriad sights awaits, just outside the tranquil walls.Our chefs offer home-cooked meals that are as delightful as our home itself and available any time of the day. Guests may order as they desire, from Pan-Asian to Continental fare. Our caring personal service is what sets the us apart, and our dedicated team is always on hand to service any request and ensure every guest feel right at home.Amarya Villa, is a jewel in the heart of the city, in a graceful setting of service, serenity and style.A charming blend of cozy, comfort and chic, along with caring personal service, at Amarya Villa we assure to all our guests a truly memorable experience, just welcoming them home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Amarya Villa Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing