We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good place to stay in Delhi”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Amarya Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amarya Villa
Certificate of Excellence
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good place to stay in Delhi”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Very nice bedrooms in a quiet location. The services is excellent and makes you feel nearly at home. The hotel is well located near monuments and the trendy Hauz Khas village (good for shopping).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benoit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    65
    13
    6
    6
See reviews for
37
86
34
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2011

I was in Delhi checking out the the Entertainment scene for a couple of nights and in late April and was looking for a reasonable bed-and-breakfast or boutique hotel within striking distance of the main South Delhi venues. Safdarjung Enclave seemed like a good central place and I managed to find Amarya Haveli on i-escape, one of my key sources for great hotels. The Haveli was full but they put me up at the Amarya Villa.

The Amarya Villa is a gem. It's nondescript white gate is the entry to a charming little villa in a prime Delhi neighborhood. I honestly don't remember any signs. It's probably what first made it feel like a home. The reception is like a little living room where you can lounge and read books or magazines. My room was up the winding staircase and I found it and the bathroom spacious, clean and tastefully done. Amarya Villa is decorated with solid, beautiful and understated Rajasthani wooden furniture perfectly complemented with fabrics which occasionally flash with colour, all brought together with a French touch. Except the breakfast room, which is afflicted with a dull grey corporate cafe-type vibe.

People often make the place, and I could see that happening at Amarya Villa. I sat briefly at breakfast with the French manager and complemented him on the wonderful job they had done. The receptionist, a young lady from Northeast India was simply superb. Good hotels have not only good people as staff but good people as guests. I met a fascinating Canadian lady at breakfast that had just biked - on a biCYCLE - from Delhi to Ladakh and back. And she was planning to come back for some more punishment next year - in the South of India.

I had work to do in Delhi, but the small confines of the Amarya Villa and its people felt like home for a couple of days and nights in April.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CHARANJIVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

We've been to Delhi 3 times so far and tried out a couple of different places before discovering Amarya Villa. Now we can't imagine staying anywhere else in Delhi.

We've tried out four different rooms--Coral and Yellow Sapphire (the cheaper options), Pearl (a bit higher up the scale) and Diamond (the suite). They're all lovely, replete with plush beds, a range of towels in different sizes, bathrobes and thoughtful touches such as travel magazines, a cellphone which you can use for local calls throughout your stay and exotic toiletries. Included in the room rate is a generous breakfast spread. We particularly enjoyed the cheese omelette, crepes and fruits.

But perhaps one of the best things about Amarya Villa is the service. India's a great place to visit but it can throw a lot of curveballs at you--flight cancellations, for example. When this happened to us, we were fortunate enough to have Amarya's staff to fall back on. After hearing about the cancellation around midnight, we ran down panic-stricken to the staff, informing them that there was a sudden change in plans that necessitated checking out around 6am the following morning. No problems. At 6am, we got a full breakfast spread and the manager was there to check us out. The following week, we arrived back at Amarya in the morning, several hours before they were expecting us. Again, no problems. The co-owner Alex assured us that our room "will be ready in 5 minutes" and made us sit down and have some iced tea. Thanks Alex. And thank you Alice for your cheerfulness and attention to detail, and Atalia for your calm, reassuring presence during our time of distress. We look forward to seeing all of you again the next time we're in Delhi.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adriangabrielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

I absolutely loved my stay at Amarya Villa - I wanted a weekend of luxury in between hostels and it's exactly what I got. The rooms (communal and bedrooms) are beautifully decorated, the service is great and the food and drinks are delicious. And it's all priced to give value for money. I would recommend staying at any of the Amarya properties as they really deliver a great boutique hotel experience.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithco10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 24, 2011

A beautifully decorated place with a very welcoming feeling and only nine rooms so it felt very personal. The breakfasts were great but best of all were the attentive staff who were happy to spend a lot of time helping plan excursions or sight seeing activities. It made seeing Delhi a real delight, rather than a bit of a slog which it would have been had I tried to do it on my own.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Ruby room which is very spacious although there is no door to the toilet area so be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2011

We loved staying at Amarya Villa and actually made two return trips to Delhi and Amarya Villa during our stay. Everyone was EXTREMELY friendly and very helpful. Food was delicious, and the rooms are so fun the way they are decorated. I felt more like I was at my own house than in a hotel. It's a bit far from most of the tourist attractions, but well worth the extra few minutes to reach them. Thumbs up!

Room Tip: AC worked well, so did Wi-fi, food is outstanding. The blue room with balcony is fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spauldo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaryaVillaA2, Manager at Amarya Villa, responded to this review, July 24, 2011
Dear Spauldo2,
We were delighted to welcome you twice at Amarya Villa and your charming comment is definitely one of those which make us want to keep on making our service better and better for every single of our guests. We are glad you enjoyed the concept, its service and decoration and it would be our pleasure to welcome you again soon.
We wish you all the best,
Welcome Home ...
The Amarya Villa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Charming Amarya Villa is conveniently located in Safdarjung Enclave, which is far from the bustling crowd, but also within easy access of most Delhi destinations. The international staff is warm and conscientious. As a solo female traveler, I felt attended to, in every way. Everyone staying in this intimate property, is treated like a special guest.
I had the pleasure of meeting Alex, an owner, while staying at the Hauz Kaus property, Amarya Haveli (also lovely) at the beginning of the trip. Alex made a point of assuring me that everything that was offered from their kitchens, including fresh salads, are safe to eat~ Knowing that in the beginning, helped me to relax and thoroughly enjoy dining there.
The cuisine is prepared fresh-to-order and is absolutely delicious.
Whether leaving the hotel early in the morning, or arriving later in the evening, there always was a friendly person there, to meet and greet.
Highly recommended!!

Room Tip: Reserve Early~
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BidiJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmaryaVillaA2, Manager at Amarya Villa, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Thank you very much for this lovely review.

We were delighted to welcome you within our walls and we look of course forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,

The Amarya Villa team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 707 in New Delhi
2,670 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Delhi
Hyatt Regency Delhi
#37 of 707 in New Delhi
2,138 reviews
7.3 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 707 in New Delhi
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 707 in New Delhi
2,596 reviews
3.3 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 707 in New Delhi
1,943 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 707 in New Delhi
2,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarya Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarya Villa

Property: Amarya Villa
Address: Amarya Villa A - 2/20, New Delhi 110017, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 908 Specialty Lodging in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Amarya Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amarya Villa opened its doors in October 2010 in New Delhi’s Safdarjung Enclave, eloquently transforming a city mansion into an idyllic home-away-from-home in the very heart of the bustling capital. The property comprises two 3-storey villas that are replete with large bay windows, a sunlit atrium and several private verandas. A cheerful mélange of contemporary chic and cosy comfort, the Villa follows in Amarya charm, tastefully blending Indian ethnic motifs with a funky modern touch.The guesthouse offers 9 spacious, sunny and stylish guestrooms that have been themed on the ‘Navratna’, India’s 9 auspicious gemstones; each stone resplendent in its unique lustre and astrological resonance, which when combined is believed to yield a profound mystical energy. The masterful chefs craft meals for each individual palate. Guests may enjoy candlelight dinners in the enchanting starlit terrace or indulge in aperitifs in the sumptuous chandeliered lounge. Meanwhile, the bustling city with its myriad sights awaits, just outside the tranquil walls.Our chefs offer home-cooked meals that are as delightful as our home itself and available any time of the day. Guests may order as they desire, from Pan-Asian to Continental fare. Our caring personal service is what sets the us apart, and our dedicated team is always on hand to service any request and ensure every guest feel right at home.Amarya Villa, is a jewel in the heart of the city, in a graceful setting of service, serenity and style.A charming blend of cozy, comfort and chic, along with caring personal service, at Amarya Villa we assure to all our guests a truly memorable experience, just welcoming them home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amarya Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarya Villa Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing