We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disaster”
Review of Hotel Oakland

Hotel Oakland
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Oakland
Ranked #671 of 1,123 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Absolutely one of he worst hotels I've ever stayed at. Stayed for two nights in a standard room. There is only one positive thing to say about the hotel and that is that the cleanliness fortunately was not at par with the overall standard. Had it been that it would have been disgusting.
The hotel is really run down. Everything seems old and in poor condition. The rooms are acceptable but still rather poor. They are quite spacious and the AC although really loud works. The bathroom was ok even though the toilet flushing didn't work all the time.
The breakfast was one of the worst I've ever had. Both in terms of variety and quality. Now speaking of breakfast here comes the absolute worst thing about the hotel and something I've never experienced before. The first night we were called at 3 am in the morning to be informed that breakfast was served from 7 am. I was like: "ehh why are you waking me up to tell me that". The duty manager just responded: "breakfast at 7 am". After he hung up I could hear that the phone was ringing in the next room. So I suspect he called other rooms. We agreed that the manager had probably been drunk and laughed it off. However the next night we got the same call twice first at 3 am then at 4.30 am: "This is to inform you that breakfast is served from 7 am". The last time I could only respond in disbelief: "why, why, why are you waking me up to tell me this?". Reponse: "Ok sir, breakfast at 7 am, ok sir". What a disaster!
Stay away from this joke of a hotel. Surely there are better deals in the vicinity.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank casperdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 16 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2013

Great Things :

Bang Opposite to Nehru Place , Biggest IT market in Asia
Service is quick
The GM Rakesh is professional and reaches out to people for extra care
Has 2 banquet halls fully equipped with business facilities
Value for Money
Spacious rooms

Needs Improvement
Entrance to banquet hall (located in basement ) is not clean
Just a budget stay, dont expect a luxurious stay
Travel desk is pricy for Airport transfer
Buffet Limited is limited
No fitness centre
Near to tourist places like lotus temple, qutub minar etc

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raghav1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The hotel looks old, the rooms are spacious but old. Upon check in they asked to photocopy our passport which was okay since this is a standard practice in Delhi. However, a staff came knocking on our room to ask for it the second time which we think is unnecessary. Excuse was the first time it was photocopied, it was not done right. I felt unsafe during my stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynnel_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

This hotel is a blur on the hospitality industry wherein guests are supposed to be spoken to politely and their complaints addresses. But at this hotel the general manager, Mr Rajesh, behaves like a 'gunda' and screams back at guests for complaining. If you tell him the coffee was served cold, he tells you that you sipped it late. If you tell him the pakoras are not nice, he says they are the best one can get! if you say you want one plate paneer tikka, he insists you take two! He is rude with guests and does not have the etiquettes to speak to ladies.
If you get mad at his behaviour, he shouts back saying I do not want any noise in the lobby and asks you to come and see him in his room! Would a lady ever do that!
Wrong billing, slow room service, bad food, no soap, no tissues in the bathrooms...name it and you will find it there! And if you have to stay in Nehru Place, there are much better options like the Parkland, The Solace, etc.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshuSab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

The only thing I want to let you know is that his hotel has hindu god's pictures / paintings mounted in the bathrooms..!! Its just strange and the best part was that the hotel manager and staff knew about this and did nothing.

Breakfast is horrible.. street food is way better..!! 5 min walk into the Nehru Place market and plenty of good options...!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shahkintu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2011

I traveled to Delhi for a business trip and was recommended Hotel Oakland at Nehru Place. It was a week long trip and I was hoping for a good accommodation.
The hotel is located at walking distance from the Nehru Place metro station which is a good thing. The reception area had a business feel to it. I checked in late at night and the people at the reception desk looked too tired to even greet with a smile. After some quick formalities I checked in to my room. It seemed like the room had been closed for ages and they never thought of getting it ventilated before my arrival. It was really stuffy and I had to put the AC and Fans at full blast for couple of hours. I opened the drapes of the window but had to close it immediately because the view outside was filthy. The air conditioner was took ages to cool the room.

I think the hotel was in a cost cutting mode because it had not been maintained for quite some time. You could see the wall chipping away on the edges and there was dust and debri in the corners. Some light bulbs were not functioning, some electrical points were not functioning. The room felt dark and damp. The bed was not comfortable either.

The bathroom was big and was kind of a relief till I noticed that the water did not drain that easily in the shower. Please note, hot water will not be available from 12pm to 4am.
I used to order morning tea, but it was no good. Even food was nothing to boast about. Plates were never cleared after meals inspite of calling room service. At times I don't see any security guard outside or anyone in the reception area, there could be a security risk.

I will not prefer to visit this hotel again, unless its just a day or two.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ljose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

Hotel Oakland,
Nehru Place- New Delhi

The Oakland (formerly Parkland) Hotel is a boutique hotel meant for the business traveller and is ideal for short sojourns to Delhi.
The location of the hotel is ideal at Nehru Place and caters very well if you have business interests in the heart of New Delhi or Central Delhi.
The location also helps that the shopping malls with good eateries and restaurants are at a very short distances, add to that a decent movie theatre as well.
In case if you want to host a grand dinner for a few friends- the Intercontinental is within 500 mts as well !
For the technologically inclined the IT hub of Delhi – Nehru Place is right next door. You could get some really good deals if you have the keen eye and the time to search around the large markets.
Plenty of hawkers abound so be careful about your belongings.

The service is decent and the room service was very helpful during my stays and obliged with drinks (soda/ coffee) even at 02:30 Hrs in the morning!
The medium of communication is English all through and should help the expatriate staff, although not all are very comfortable speaking the language.

The rooms are very good at this rate while the buffet dinner is not advisable at all. Do go in for another diner if you can- or else have sometime at hand and order something from the menu.
The Hall for the meeting is not very good and is suffocating at times as well- located as it is in the basement – but that’s seems to be the norm in most hotels these days.


Pros:
- Great address/ access
- Easy accessibility from the Railway Station and the Airport (Takes around 20-25 mins in the lean hours while 1.5 Hrs during peak hours)
- Courteous Staff and Good Service
- Good shopping areas very closeby
- Affordable Business hotel
- Very well laid out Spacious Rooms
-Small but clean bathrooms
- Free Wifi!!
- Courteous and well informed staff

Cons
- Early booking suggested
- Mediocre Buffet (good restaurants abound in the vicinity- access them)
-

Good value for Money, lean and good stay option

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DipankarPatnaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hotel Amax Inn
#20 of 777 in New Delhi
810 reviews
Connaught Place/Janpath
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#27 of 777 in New Delhi
2,934 reviews
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 777 in New Delhi
3,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#55 of 777 in New Delhi
1,770 reviews
The Lalit New Delhi
#34 of 777 in New Delhi
4,210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Oakland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Oakland

Address: B - 14 | Opposite to Devika Tower, New Delhi 110048, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #671 of 1,123 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: $38 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Oakland 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Oakland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing