We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Walnut Castle
Nearby Hotels
Eros Hotel(New Delhi)
$69
$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$157
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$137
$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$138
$94
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$184
$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$117
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$187
$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$123
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Leela Palace New Delhi(New Delhi)
$287
$160
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$171
$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
13
21
28
20
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
13
21
28
20
15
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 97 reviews
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Arrived in Delhi at about 12am so didn't arrive to the hotel until 1am. Location of the hotel is quite good as it round the corner from restaurants and markets and a few minute drive from the tourist friendly Connaught Place. Hotel itself is situated down a offset alleyway which isn't very appealing. The main positive of this place is the doorman as he was very friendly and wasn't shy to help (as always people work for tips in Delhi). We were travelling with 2 other friends and requested two twins rooms but were only provided with one. Our room was okay, bed sheets clean but had awful blankets which kept you awake all night as they were itchy. Bathroom was standard but no hot water on any day we stayed there, 3 in total. Friend room was okay to but could sit on toilet as it was poorly planned. Our friends' sheets were dirty on every occasion.

Breakfast is very basic with vegetarian daals and small chappatis. Tea was very nice though and you have to ask for toast and jam. Wifi is a bit hit and miss there, not very secure either so don't buy stuff online which using it. From desk staff during the day are nice but the night manager is a shame to any front desk staff. Rude and abrupt he did not help nor did he talk to us properly on any occasion. They did let us leave our stuff in there "store room" while we had our tour of the Golden Triangle only for us to find out the "store room" was actually a corner round the back of the lift.

Anyway this was an okay night stop but no more, not comfortable nor enjoyable.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank VSV90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2012

While in Delhi I was staying at a wonderful hotel but was conned into changing it for a 'much better' one by a travel company I booked a car with. (see separate review of Diamond Tours India) I was horrified to end up at the Walnut Castle, I immediately complained to the company and was told my room would be upgraded.....it never was. Very basic, not clean around fridge, on floor and on the old furniture. Staff gathered in groups and leared at breakfast and when trying to get wifi, breakfast sub-standard. No dining room, breakfast eaten beside toilets in a corridor! I was glad to leave.
Positives - clean sheets, hot water. Cheap (although not though tour company) Certainly much better hotels in the area for the money.

Room Tip: Away from elevator!
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripitakaTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

i arrived in india for the first time 3/3/12, had only booked a taxi for 2 weeks for driving me around rajasthan. hotel was selected by my driver. as i have not been to delhi before i assumed it was a good choice, after now more then two weks in india i know that you can get better hotels for better price (if you book on your own you do not have to pay the commisiion for the driver)

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vienna1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelWalnutCastle, Owner at Hotel Walnut Castle, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2015

Please accept our sincere apologies for your disappointment at your recent stay at our Hotel.

I am extremely concerned to read your comments with regard to your overall experience at the hotel

It is always our highest priority to us to ensure that our guests and customers leave the hotel happy and satisfied at all times.

I would greatly appreciate to allow us for opportunity to speak with you personally.

I do sincerely apologize for any inconvenience and disappointment caused and look forward to hearing from you.

We are totally renovated and with new amenities with totally educated staff.

Also you are please requested to remove the bad review and give us a one chance again to improve us.

Deepak Jain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2012

We stayed here for one night in mid february and that was one night too many. We were in India for 3 weeks and stayed in a variety of hotels/homestays and this was the only place where I felt reluctant to sleep in the bed - Luckily I had a sleeping bag liner to use. The sheet was very dirty and badly stained, it looked like it had not been changed and the room was also not very clean - breakfast was very disappointing. Perhaps it was acceptable for a very cheap budget hotel - however the hotel was booked for us and we were possibly misled into thinking this was a mid-range hotel, which it clearly is not. On a positive note the staff were very helpful and were quick to respond to our request for clean sheets.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RMG52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2012

the hotel is very well stuated in a quiet residential area of Karola Bagh, very close to the metro, and the lively street evening market. the lounge area is cosy, with TV,providing a warm homely atmosphere, with 2 dining tables right there. Breakfast was only adequate but the dinner menu was short but very good and very reasonably priced. My main criticism was the tiny geyser,only enough hot water for one very quick shower. Otherwise the room was quite small but comfortable. While we were there Kingfisher airline cancelled many flights and as we were to fly the next day we were worried about our flight. the staff were exceptionally helpful and made many phone calls to check n the status of our flight. I would recommend this hotel as a good, standard hotel with not too many frills.

Room Tip: Our room was very near the front entrance and was a little noisy when guests arrived or departed in the early hours of the morning, so perhaps a room a little further from the street would be better for a light sleeper.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edwyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews