We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be aware!! Trap!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Ashoka International
Ranked #572 of 1,053 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Be aware!! Trap!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

We were booked to stay at this hotel for three nights but decided to leave after one night because it was so bad. We were originally supposed to stay at a different hotel in Delhi but were informed we could not get to our hotel because of road closures. We were taken to a "government tourism agency" (also known as India on Steps) where the guy working there dialed some other hotels and we were informed they were fully booked. It was only upon reading the other reviews for this hotel that we began to suspect we had been scammed. Rubbish/bottles cluttering the stairways, cold showers and the "restaurant" at the hotel looked filthy.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank Dominique M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    13
    3
    37
See reviews for
9
24
10
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

Like the others saying this place is a scam we were in the exact same scenario with 'road blocks' in December this year.
Got a prepaid taxi, apparent road blocks because of riots, went to 'government' tourist office, book our entire trip through India on Steps. Not sure if the hotel is part of the scam or India on steps use them as a hotel. This was the last hotel we stayed at in Delhi and probably the worst. Flakey sheets, Very loud, doors slamming till 3am. There's a drain on the opposite side of the room to the shower?!?!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank viviensimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Not to be confused with the ashoka hotel this place is a tourist trap run by the gangs that operate at the train station, DO NOT GO HERE, much too expensive for the grimy rooms that are imploding on themselves

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank dizzyfromthefeetup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

Hotel Ashoka International is part of scam operations. We arrived at Delhi on 22rd September 2013 at 1am. After taking a pre-paid taxi the drivers drove to road block, telling we could not get to our hotel which we booked and confimed. We were brought to a 'tourist office' (Rai House, P Block, Shivaji Stadium Connought Place, New Delhi - 11000, phone: 011-43419191/92) to call our hotel. Person behind the desk dialed several phone numbers and I was told by 'hotel personesl' that we were not able to get to our hotel due to roadblocks. After spending 2-3 hours at this 'tourist office' we were taken to Hotel Ashoka International where we paid way too much for our filthy room.
By all means, book and confirm your hotel before you arrive in Delhi and TAKE the pick-up serivce!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stefanvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
312 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

After being bounced to this hotel from Hari Piorko Hotel in Delhi (another place to miss) due to the holiday, we were shown to our room. The room itself was large and moderately clean, however the bathroom was beyond all belief... Mold, dirt and the bath tub was broken, so water from the shower ran down the cracks, probably into the room below!
When we arrived we specifically asked about the Wi-Fi as it's important to our travels, they said "of course sir." However no internet ever worked and they bare faced lied to me and said the rain was the reason. Unfortunately for them the rain stopped and the internet didn't start working. We requested to go to a cyber-cafe and they arranged a driver to take us and bring us back for free. Instead he took us to a tourism information centre and left us there! Luckily the people there were very nice and helped us organise the rest of our trip.
Further more, the crockery used in the "restaurant" was filthy and the food was cold stale toast and fake butter.
AVOID THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
85 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

The bathroom was dirty and the water from the shower wouldn't drain so made the bathroom stink of stagnant water The bed sheets were filthy and oily and the room itself was dark and dingy. The air con worked but that was the only positive. The staff were okay but hung around in our room like a bad smell waiting on tips every time they entered and performed menial tasks, like dogs begging.

Don't trust the professional photos on here, they've been heavily photo shopped and not a fair representation at all.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelseadaggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We arrived at Delhi airport on 23rd June 2013 at 11am and escorted to our taxi by a man called pappu singh , he then called his boss and handed me the phone. The man claimed to be the owner of the hotel we had already booked. He said our room had a bad smell in the bathroom and we were re-booked into the 'sister hotel', called Ashoka International. After checking in and going to our room we received a call from our original hotel receptionist asking where we were after telling her the story she informed us the hotel room we had booked was fine and we were being scammed. We then approached the Ashoka receptionist who called the supposed owner of the hotel who said we were in the correct sister hotel. We then got another call from the correct hotel and they offered us a driver to bring us to the correct hotel. After a lot of discussions with the Ashoka hotel staff they realized we knew what was going and practically booted us out. If this has happened to you also please let the embassy know in detail so they can be stopped. We have put a complaint into the police commissioner, New Delhi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tessmckay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
4.1 mi away
The Ashok
The Ashok
#168 of 708 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 562 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Park New Delhi
The Park New Delhi
#56 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,779 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#46 of 708 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Samrat
Hotel Samrat
#445 of 708 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel The Royal Plaza
Hotel The Royal Plaza
#77 of 708 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Wood Castle
Wood Castle
#13 of 708 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ashoka International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ashoka International

Property: Hotel Ashoka International
Address: 3382 D B Gupta Road | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #572 of 1,053 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ashoka International 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Ashoka International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing