We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great menu, service can be better”
Review of Zaffran

Zaffran
Ranked #80 of 12,634 Restaurants in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Greater Kailash I
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“great menu, service can be better”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

loved the mutton seekh kababs and dal at this place. the service though, literally left us cold. on a winter afternoon, food tends to get cold very fast, and typically in the case of rich food, the fat then tends to congeal.

so while the food was good, if it was served in a manner that it remained warm/hot for the time of the meal, the entire experience would've been much better.

the management might do well to address this issue

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank sachin_kamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    35
    7
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply Superb!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We went to Zaffran for lunch because we happened to be in the area to shop at Fabindia. We had no idea what it would be like, and, in fact, had never heard of this restaurant. To our surprise, the quality of the food was very impressive - quite simply, some of the best Mughlai food I have ever eaten (and I've eaten an awful lot of it over the course of a lifetime in Delhi). I would especially recommend the Murgh Malai Tikka, Palak Paneer, Rarra Gosht, and lachha paratha. I have no idea what the negative reviews are talking about. Go to Zaffran if you want well cooked, ridiculously tasty, authentic Mughlai food with a depth of flavour that will amaze you. It is on the expensive side, but so so worth it.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Becca687
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food...perfect for a wintery noon...”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great Mutton Biryani, Fab indian drinks, amazing place to sit when its sunny outside during winters...do try the aam panna as well...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go For the Mughlai, Return for the Phirni.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Yes, Zaffran's expensive. It will lighten your wallet and push you to the credit limit. But you won't mind that. When you see your credit card statement or feel a thin wallet, you'll remember it was because of a trip to Zaffran and you'll smile. Because it was worth it.

Good Mughlai cuisine is hard to do in Delhi. Any person with Punjabi blood in Delhi will swear that their Nani or their Mumma makes a better butter chicken or a nicer naan. There is no winning that competition. Yet, if exploiting the kindness of strangers is not your forte, Zaffran is probably the next best option for Mughlai food that does not involve a trip to a five star Hotel and a bank loan.

But my recommendation of Zaffran goes beyond just the Mughlai food. It is by far the best place for a Sunday Brunch in South Delhi. It is pretty popular mind you, and therefore do not expect to have the place to yourself as you stuff your face. Rather, with its rooftop location, warm ambience and excellent spread, it is a soothing way to spend a Sunday afternoon. It is best perhaps in winters and springs when the warm sunshine and hearty food is just what the soul needs.

If I had to recommend one thing in the Brunch spread (and on the menu) I would have to say that the Phirni is out of this world. Served in clay pots with a dash of kesar, I have had fellow diners frantically scouring the bottom of the pots with their spoons for the last flecks and looking up somewhat guiltily with the "will you judge me if I order two more of these for myself" look.

Do not miss it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alok26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What you see when you enter the restaurant is what you get, warm welcome, good Food , clean”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Nice place, nice and gentle people, Food is excellent, looks very clean.
Nice shops around the restaurant

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Anitawijnia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zaffran also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Zaffran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing