We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nina Kochhar Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #75 of 1,076 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Walton-On-Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not quite what we expected”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The photos on Nina's website give the impression of space, which is not quite the case when you arrive. The accommodation comprises of a two bedroom flat, with the bedrooms and kitchen leading off the living room. Our first impression was that we were in the middle of a council estate.

That said the proximity of the metro gave us an easy journey into the centre of Delhi.

Nina is charming and was able to offer us advice as to what we should visit in Delhi. Unfortunately our first impression persisted and we spent the minimum time possible in the B&B.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFribbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
23
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed November 25, 2012

The room is clean so as the bathroom. The wi fi was broken but Nina allowed us as much as we wanted to use here privat computer :)
We could order food when ever wich was very good!
Location is very nice. Next to kashmir gate metro.
We'll be back.. :D

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GunnarDanWiium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at Nina's place for two days. My first trip to India and it was a very good choice for me. Nina helped me a lot with all my questions I had about my trip through India. She patiently answered all my questions I fired at her in the time before my stay.

To me it was a very pleasant experience to be part of an Indian house environment. Her house is safely situated very close to Kashmere metro station. As soon as I found out about this metro system it was very easy, and cheap, to explore my way around Delhi.

The food which was served was very delicous and with care prepared. I loved sitting on the rooftop and drink my tea. Just be in Delhi and listen to the honking horns in the background and watch the birds in the sky.

This is your place to enter into Delhi in a very comfortable and homely atmosphere.

<in Dutch>

Een heerlijke plek om aan te komen in Delhi. Ik voelde me erg thuis bij Nina en voor mij was dit fijn om wat te wennen aan het Indiaanse leven. Nina weet veel van India en de toeristische trekpleisters en ik had mooie gesprekken met haar over het leven in India.

Namaste,
René

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingRene75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I was looking for a hassle-free stay in Delhi and was not disappointed with my 3 nights at Nina's place. The location is very central, 5 min walk to the metro station, though the neighbourhood might not have a lot to offer in itself, but I was there too short to really appreciate it. As said in all the reviews, Nina is very kind and helpfull, trying her best to make her hosts confortable at home and happy about their stay in Delhi.
One drawback though : the place might lack of privacy for some travellers, it's really a homestay where you'll share the life of your hosts, which was fine for me, but you need to be aware about that. And considering that point and the Delhi market, it is probably a bit overpriced, but I'll still recommand it to any person who looks for a genuine experience.

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank murielofparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reutlingen, Germany
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I spent one week at Nina’s lovely place and felt at home from the first moment. As young women I was a little concerned about travelling to Delhi on my own but the great hospitality of Nina and her wonderful flat allayed my fears quickly. Nina’s B&B is situated in a nice, green and quiet apartment complex. The flat is cozy and furnished with a lot of love and with attention to every detail. While having a cup of tea on the amazingly green roof terrace it is hard to believe one currently is in a large and busy capital city. The breakfast every morning was delicious and provided a perfect start for a busy sightseeing day. Nina was, with all her hints and advises, such a great help for getting around in Delhi. I can really recommend staying at Nina’s home when discovering Delhi; it is a unique place with such a friendly and warm-hearted host.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaKristinMueller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harrogate
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

We are two old friends who love an adventure and hotels were off the agenda and having researched homestays decided to stay at Nina's lovely apartment in the heart of Old Delhi

We were not disappointed as our host was a source of great information and went far beyond our expectations and organised our trips to Agra and Shimla down to the finest details

We would not hesitate in recommending this quirky homestay to those who want to discover the real Delhi coupled with the pleasure of staying with a great hostess

We can't wait to return as our only complaint was that our 6 day trip was not long enough

Room Tip: Nina only has one room so make sure you get on with your travel companion!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizaHarrogate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 16, 2012

Nina is an absolute charm and provides warmth and hospitality that is very hard to find. The feeling you have staying in Ninas home is like visiting an old friend. Nina has a wealth of advice and knowledge of all things Delhi, and is also able to give advice on travelling throughout greater India.
The breakfast is fantastic and personalised (we were very well looked after as vegetarians).
The room is very clean, spacious and comfortable.
Thanks Nina and Dinesh,
we look forward to our next visit to civil lines!
Jordan and Brett

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appletree103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Nizamuddin
Hotel Tara Palace Daryaganj
Hotel Tara Palace Daryaganj
#99 of 715 in New Delhi
57 reviews
Maidens Hotel
#11 of 715 in New Delhi
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
OYO Rooms Kashmere Gate
#368 of 1,076 in New Delhi
2 reviews
Heritage Inn
#214 of 1,076 in New Delhi
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nina Kochhar Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nina Kochhar Bed & Breakfast

Property: Nina Kochhar Bed & Breakfast
Address: 43 - A Oberoi Apartment Shamnath Marg | Civil Lines, North Delhi, New Delhi 110006, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 1,076 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nina Kochhar Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing