We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good hotel for a business travellers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Visaya

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Visaya
Ranked #94 of 691 Hotels in New Delhi
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good hotel for a business travellers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The hotel is very close to Hauz Khas metro station. So if you want to experience quick ride to Connaught place, this is great place to stay w/o having to pay exorbitant rents in areas closer to Central Delhi. The ride to/from airport is pretty short. The rooms are clean, spacious and quiet. The lunch seemed quiet expensive for the variety of food, but the food was tasty. Staff is courteous and helpful. A/C in my room wasn't working and I was quickly transferred to another room at 10.30pm! Proximity to Delhi

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Am0dD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-thevisaya, General Manager at The Visaya, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your comments and am happy to note that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed dining facilities. Thank You for giving your feedback to the reception about the air conditioner, I’m glad we acted quickly to solve the problem and I’m truly sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.

Thank you for all your positive comments. We hope to welcome you many times in the future.

Sunil Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    164
    50
    19
    10
See reviews for
61
86
29
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

On a tour around India I stayed at the Visaya on three separate nights. It is a pleasant enough hotel with clean, reasonable sized rooms, good service and a nice restaurant. From what I could tell the location in the south of New Delhi is a little out of the way with nothing much around the hotel – although perhaps it was hidden by the smog that hung over the city during my stay. There is wifi available in the rooms but this is chargeable. The food quality in the restaurant was high standard and with friendly, efficient service. It is not possible to get any alcoholic drinks in the restaurant although they will go out to bring alcohol to your romm if you request it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank geoffhoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-thevisaya, General Manager at The Visaya, responded to this review, November 18, 2012
Dear Mr. Hopkins,

Thank you your valuable time for writing such a detailed feedback of our hotel.

I am happy to note that you had a comfortable stay and enjoyed dining facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a richer experience.

Warm Regards,

Sunil Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here for three days for business. The on site restaurant is great, but be warned, they don't serve alcohol. My room was clean, quiet and spacious. The bathroom was very pretty, there was no tub, but that didn't bother me. The staff there were very friendly and helpful. One negative - you have buy internet service by the hour - I hate that!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snowydog18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-thevisaya, General Manager at The Visaya, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment.

I am delighted to note that you liked the services and the dining experience at the hotel. Your feedback is noted and it encourages us to pledge ourselves to better guest experience & services.

We have noted your comment regarding the internet charge and such comments assist in in making the services guest friendly. We would certainly try to incorporate your suggestion.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Visaya in your next visit to New Delhi.

Kind Regards,

Sunil Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Its a beautiful hotel situated in peaceful location. The enviroment was healthy. Interior decoration is very good especially rooms decoration, garden beauty and main restaurant room. Food prepration is also good mainly the breakfast. I find the staff is very caring and cooperative. All at my cost its a good experience to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Salil909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-thevisaya, General Manager at The Visaya, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment.

I am delighted to note that you liked the interiors and services of the hotel. Your positive feedback on the breakfast is very encouraging. Our efforts are always aimed at creating unique and memorable experiences for all our guests with attentive and personalized service. It is a matter of pride to know that you experienced attentive service throughout your stay. Thank you so much once again for sharing this with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Visaya in your next visit to New Delhi.

Kind Regards,

Sunil Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

A concept hotel which captures the very essence of peace in this bustling city of Delhi. I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone to experience the wonder of tranquility of the "mantras" amidst the hustle and bustle of the city. Comfortable and beautiful rooms which always is accompanied with a smile from the staff.

If I had to pick hard for some room of improvement - Free wifi would be much appreciated. I think its common courtesy as well as a standard procedure nowadays expected from a hotel of your magnitude.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gl0bal_child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-thevisaya, General Manager at The Visaya, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment.

I am delighted to note that you liked the interiors & services of the hotel. Your feedback is noted and it encourages us to pledge ourselves to better guest experience & services.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Visaya in your next visit to New Delhi.

Kind Regards,

Sunil Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Having stayed in many hotels across India, the Visaya was the most beautiful hotel of all. Rooms, interiors plus the garden and restaurant room are beautifully designed and decorated. A delight to stay in. The hotel is small what I found a nice change to these anonymous chain hotels. Breakfast I found good average but then sitting in the breakfast room or garden is an extra point. The small gym in the top is nice, too. A big plus is the location of the hotel. Close to the airport but also close to the next metro station (ca. 500 metres) from which you have a direct link of 25 min to Gurgaon - or to central Delhi. Taking the metro in Delhi is much nicer (and cheaper) than going through the horrible road traffic. Frontdesk, otherwise very helpful, seemed not aware that this is a big plus of the hotel location and did not recommend the metro for going to Gurgaon right away. Will stay there again, definitely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannesF23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-thevisaya, General Manager at The Visaya, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your valuable recommendation.

We are delighted to note that you liked the decor & location along with your stay & the services of the hotel. Your feedback encourages us to pledge ourselves to better guest experience & services.

I have also noted your feedback regarding the metro services and have personally reminded the reception staffs on actively offering the metro services also.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcome you back to The Visaya.

Kind Regards,

Sunil Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Visaya has a great location in the Panchshil area of South Delhi. Convenient from the Airport, it is a reasonably nice and comfortable hotel. Rooms are reasonably large, and so are the toilets.

I was there for just one night, and chose the hotel because of its great location and reasonable price. The breakfast was ok - nothing to write home about, and also not at par with the rest of the services at the property.

What was annoying though is their accounting. I got an online rate of 3400 Rs, and they claimed t have charged 17 odd % Service Tax on the rack rate of Rs. 7500. All well and good so far - as many hotels in Delhi do that. But in reality, the invoice showed service tax on only Rs. 3400, and the rest of the amount was levied as a service charge. I.e. They claim to charge ST on the rack rate, but actually charge it really on the room rate. The difference, which they collect as tax - i.e. to be required to be paid to the government - is not really tax - it is just a fee that they pocket with cheap accounting tricks.

The misleading and lying is unfortunate. When I saw my invoice and quizzed them, they claimed it was tax - but yet, refused to write it as tax in my invoice! Eventually, some staff did accept that it was a common practice at this hotel and that most guests did not realize it... The difference is not huge - just about Rs. 400 - and they could just increase the room rate by that much - no one is going to select to stay elsewhere because of the small difference!

Btw, the restaurant has a small garden connected - very pleasing to sit and eat there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiranb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-thevisaya, General Manager at The Visaya, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

The content of your feedback regarding our accounting practice is of great concern to us. I sincerely regret that we failed to answer the tax enquiry satisfactorily.

Please be assured that the hotel does not deploy any accounting practice that results in such misrepresentation. We are a law abiding organization and fulfill all statutory obligations related to taxation and accounting practices. The service charges are not an income stream for the hotel, all earning thereof are distributed amongst the staff members.

We have taken your feedback very seriously. An explanation of our charges will be kept as a ready reckoner at the front desk. This will ensure complete transparency.

I have also noted your feedback regarding the breakfast not being on par with the rest of the services at the hotel .We would like to assure you that corrective action has already been put in place to improve this significantly.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Visaya.

Kind Regards,

Sunil Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Greater Kailash I
iLodge @ Nehru Place
iLodge @ Nehru Place
#153 of 691 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 27 reviews
Mantra Amaltas
#136 of 691 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauz Khas
The Ashtan Sarovar Portico
The Ashtan Sarovar Portico
#92 of 691 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Hauz Khas
Iris Park Hotel
Iris Park Hotel
#125 of 691 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Greater Kailash I
The Muse Sarovar Portico
The Muse Sarovar Portico
#100 of 691 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Visaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Visaya

Property: The Visaya
Address: N- 82, Panchshila Park, New Delhi 110017, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #94 of 691 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Visaya 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘The Visaya’ is the premiere boutique hotel of New Delhi (India) providing a holistic and luxurious hospitality experience. Panchshila Park is a prime and centrally located area in heart of South Delhi, just 20 minutes away from domestic & international airports, enjoying convenient driving distances from every commercial, industrial and leisure zone of the capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, ETB, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Visaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing