We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“calm, clean and welcoming”
Review of The Visaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Visaya
Ranked #113 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“calm, clean and welcoming”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed here for three days for business. The on site restaurant is great, but be warned, they don't serve alcohol. My room was clean, quiet and spacious. The bathroom was very pretty, there was no tub, but that didn't bother me. The staff there were very friendly and helpful. One negative - you have buy internet service by the hour - I hate that!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snowydog18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-thevisaya, General Manager at The Visaya, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment.

I am delighted to note that you liked the services and the dining experience at the hotel. Your feedback is noted and it encourages us to pledge ourselves to better guest experience & services.

We have noted your comment regarding the internet charge and such comments assist in in making the services guest friendly. We would certainly try to incorporate your suggestion.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Visaya in your next visit to New Delhi.

Kind Regards,

Sunil Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    185
    63
    24
    14
See reviews for
75
97
36
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
delhi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Its a beautiful hotel situated in peaceful location. The enviroment was healthy. Interior decoration is very good especially rooms decoration, garden beauty and main restaurant room. Food prepration is also good mainly the breakfast. I find the staff is very caring and cooperative. All at my cost its a good experience to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Salil909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-thevisaya, General Manager at The Visaya, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment.

I am delighted to note that you liked the interiors and services of the hotel. Your positive feedback on the breakfast is very encouraging. Our efforts are always aimed at creating unique and memorable experiences for all our guests with attentive and personalized service. It is a matter of pride to know that you experienced attentive service throughout your stay. Thank you so much once again for sharing this with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Visaya in your next visit to New Delhi.

Kind Regards,

Sunil Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A concept hotel which captures the very essence of peace in this bustling city of Delhi. I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone to experience the wonder of tranquility of the "mantras" amidst the hustle and bustle of the city. Comfortable and beautiful rooms which always is accompanied with a smile from the staff.

If I had to pick hard for some room of improvement - Free wifi would be much appreciated. I think its common courtesy as well as a standard procedure nowadays expected from a hotel of your magnitude.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gl0bal_child
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-thevisaya, General Manager at The Visaya, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment.

I am delighted to note that you liked the interiors & services of the hotel. Your feedback is noted and it encourages us to pledge ourselves to better guest experience & services.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Visaya in your next visit to New Delhi.

Kind Regards,

Sunil Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Having stayed in many hotels across India, the Visaya was the most beautiful hotel of all. Rooms, interiors plus the garden and restaurant room are beautifully designed and decorated. A delight to stay in. The hotel is small what I found a nice change to these anonymous chain hotels. Breakfast I found good average but then sitting in the breakfast room or garden is an extra point. The small gym in the top is nice, too. A big plus is the location of the hotel. Close to the airport but also close to the next metro station (ca. 500 metres) from which you have a direct link of 25 min to Gurgaon - or to central Delhi. Taking the metro in Delhi is much nicer (and cheaper) than going through the horrible road traffic. Frontdesk, otherwise very helpful, seemed not aware that this is a big plus of the hotel location and did not recommend the metro for going to Gurgaon right away. Will stay there again, definitely.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohannesF23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-thevisaya, General Manager at The Visaya, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your valuable recommendation.

We are delighted to note that you liked the decor & location along with your stay & the services of the hotel. Your feedback encourages us to pledge ourselves to better guest experience & services.

I have also noted your feedback regarding the metro services and have personally reminded the reception staffs on actively offering the metro services also.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcome you back to The Visaya.

Kind Regards,

Sunil Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

The Visaya has a great location in the Panchshil area of South Delhi. Convenient from the Airport, it is a reasonably nice and comfortable hotel. Rooms are reasonably large, and so are the toilets.

I was there for just one night, and chose the hotel because of its great location and reasonable price. The breakfast was ok - nothing to write home about, and also not at par with the rest of the services at the property.

What was annoying though is their accounting. I got an online rate of 3400 Rs, and they claimed t have charged 17 odd % Service Tax on the rack rate of Rs. 7500. All well and good so far - as many hotels in Delhi do that. But in reality, the invoice showed service tax on only Rs. 3400, and the rest of the amount was levied as a service charge. I.e. They claim to charge ST on the rack rate, but actually charge it really on the room rate. The difference, which they collect as tax - i.e. to be required to be paid to the government - is not really tax - it is just a fee that they pocket with cheap accounting tricks.

The misleading and lying is unfortunate. When I saw my invoice and quizzed them, they claimed it was tax - but yet, refused to write it as tax in my invoice! Eventually, some staff did accept that it was a common practice at this hotel and that most guests did not realize it... The difference is not huge - just about Rs. 400 - and they could just increase the room rate by that much - no one is going to select to stay elsewhere because of the small difference!

Btw, the restaurant has a small garden connected - very pleasing to sit and eat there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kiranb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-thevisaya, General Manager at The Visaya, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Guest,

The content of your feedback regarding our accounting practice is of great concern to us. I sincerely regret that we failed to answer the tax enquiry satisfactorily.

Please be assured that the hotel does not deploy any accounting practice that results in such misrepresentation. We are a law abiding organization and fulfill all statutory obligations related to taxation and accounting practices. The service charges are not an income stream for the hotel, all earning thereof are distributed amongst the staff members.

We have taken your feedback very seriously. An explanation of our charges will be kept as a ready reckoner at the front desk. This will ensure complete transparency.

I have also noted your feedback regarding the breakfast not being on par with the rest of the services at the hotel .We would like to assure you that corrective action has already been put in place to improve this significantly.

We thank you for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to The Visaya.

Kind Regards,

Sunil Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Centrally located boutique property in south delhi. It is convenient located from Airport, South delhi, central delhi and noida business/tourist districts! Comfortable rooms with attentive staff! Recommended

Room Tip: Take a room facing the back side towards panchsheel club
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank indiantrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm-thevisaya, General Manager at The Visaya, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment.

Your encouraging comments regarding the staff is most appreciated and it has been communicated to all team members.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Visaya in your next visit to New Delhi.

Kind Regards,

Sunil Johar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Visaya for few days while we were in Delhi. Nice, comfortable boutique hotel. The rooms are spacious, clean and slightly modern. We stayed on the 2nd floor and in the morning, we could hear bit of noise from the traffic. Nothing annoying though. We had bit of issue with the room temperature. We were group of 9 people occupying 4 rooms. Though each room has its own temperature control, none of it seemed to be adjustable (it was always too cold). Other than that, it was a comfortable enough.

Service was very nice, staffs were helpful and friendly. Breakfast was included in our room charge. It was typical English breakfast with instant coffee included in the menu (there's small extra charge if you wish to have fresh black coffee or latte). We had dinner one night at the restaurant, and it surprisingly served very good Indian food. I won't recommed the mango lassi from the menu though (they apparently used mango juice instead of real fresh presed mango). But the Indian dishes are worth the try.

Overall, it was a nice quite comfortable hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subterranean1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.5 mi away
juSTa Panchsheel Park, New Delhi
1.4 mi away
The Ashtan Sarovar Portico
The Ashtan Sarovar Portico
#94 of 715 in New Delhi
370 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mantra Amaltas
Mantra Amaltas
#151 of 715 in New Delhi
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Carlson Saket, New Delhi
1.1 mi away
Svelte Hotel and Personal Suites
3.3 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#64 of 715 in New Delhi
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Visaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Visaya

Property: The Visaya
Address: N- 82, Panchshila Park, New Delhi 110017, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Visaya 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘The Visaya’ is the premiere boutique hotel of New Delhi (India) providing a holistic and luxurious hospitality experience. Panchshila Park is a prime and centrally located area in heart of South Delhi, just 20 minutes away from domestic & international airports, enjoying convenient driving distances from every commercial, industrial and leisure zone of the capital city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Visaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing