We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hyped up but not very good”
Review of Amara Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amara Hotel
Ranked #341 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Was recommended but...
Room AC goes off when you are not in it. Thus rooms take a while to cool down. Someone cooks curry all night and it vents into the hotel hallways...hot curry wafting in while you try to sleep, we felt ill after hours of this and wanted fresh air. Breakfast is not very good, served in a super hot basement. I wouldn't go to that one again.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more and get a better place.
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 86 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2012

We use this property in place of our company guest house purely due to its location. For the price we pay it is not much, however practical. Simple straightforward rooms with a little more than average service. The food is nothing great and I end up eating out all the time. I keeo going back because it works for me location wise.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KurienCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2011

We were put up at this boutique hotel in Greater Kailsh during our trip to Delhi for a wedding reception of a cousin.

THE WOW FACTOR......
The proximity - five minute walk - from the M block, GK market, makes it's locaation really convenient and desirable. The roOms at this hotel are tastefully done up and give the feel of a warm, cozy, welcoming accommodation. The kettle, safe, practical closet, iron & ironing board on request add to the comfort & convenience of the traveller. The soothing wooden flooring, the dark & rich wooden interiors, flat screen LCD TV, comfortable furniture are indeed pleasing. The washrooms come equipped with the trendy fittings & fixtures, separate shower area and excellent toileteries. The buffet meals, including breakfast were consistently delicious. The hotel deserves an excellent five star rating for all this.

THE DISGUSTING SERVICE.....
On arrival, this began with an ice cold shower in the peak of winter season since the hotel switched off the hot water boiler - well aware that we had just arrived and would need hot water. We excuse the hotel for oversight on the first day. We tell them that we will be attending late night wedding parties, would need the hot water as late as noon for our showers. The next morning we get hot water and are pleased with the staff's presence of mind. On the third morning at 11 am, during a nice hot water shower, completely lathered in soap - the water suddenly turns ice cold. Completely covered in soap, I call the reception about 4 times to request them to turn on the boiler. Each time they say it has been turned on and eventually I end up taking a cold water shower on a chilly December morning. Besides, I must mention, each time I needed regular drinking water, I had to call the reception 3-4 times. On one occassion at around 12 am, I did not get it at all and had to sleep without water after medication. The hot bathing water and regular drinking water are very basic requirements of any traveller seeking a comfortable stay. Had Amara Hotel delivered on this, it would have been a whopping five star overall rating instead of an average three I have given them here. PS: I mentioned all this to the hotel manager on checkout. There was no apology or assurance to fix this for future guests. Instead, he just said - "we will see". This clearly gave the impression that guest discomfort makes no differnce to them as long as they get paid for the room !

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gkhattar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Nice hotel, well located near M block in GK II. Rooms are well furnished and basic amenties are available. The staff is helpful. You can give the food a miss and walk down to M block for a good meal. Overall value for money. Highly recommended for business or solo travellers

Room Tip: Take the rooms facing the front of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rhoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Great comfort at this hotel located in the posh GK-II area. The rooms are well furnished and spacious, provide basic amenities including 24x7 hot water, TV and Internet Connectivity. The complimentary breakfast is worth giving a miss unless in dire need to dash out with no food options. The staff is courteous and helpful. Makes the stay in Delhi very pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jyotsna_Taparia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2011

I travel to Delhi on a regular basis and when I'm not staying with friends, I stay at the Amara Hotel near GK-1's M-block market. It is conveniently located in south Delhi and you can reach the airport in 30-45 minutes, give or take a few. It is basic, but the rooms are well-appointed and the hotel is clean, something not always easy to find in India. Food within the hotel is limited (the free breakfast is all but flattering), but there are plenty of restaurants, coffee shops, etc. nearby. Most importantly for me, the prices are decent, usually around Rs. 4000/per night. I've gotten better rates in the past. My only advice - confirm the rate in writing before you arrive. Overall, convenient, clean and affordable.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JFergUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, traveled with family
Thank RakeshNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Greater Kailash/Nehru Place
Hotel Meridian Plaza
Hotel Meridian Plaza
#194 of 779 in New Delhi
132 reviews
Grand FFOUR
#134 of 779 in New Delhi
52 reviews
Greater Kailash/Nehru Place
The Allure - A Boutique Hotel
The Allure - A Boutique Hotel
#156 of 779 in New Delhi
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Regale Inn
#233 of 779 in New Delhi
105 reviews
Greater Kailash/Nehru Place
Solo Victoria
Solo Victoria
#607 of 779 in New Delhi
18 reviews
Greater Kailash I
The Legend Inn
The Legend Inn
#60 of 779 in New Delhi
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amara Hotel

Address: C - 30 Greater Kailash -1 | Near M block market, New Delhi 110048, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Greater Kailash/Nehru Place
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #341 of 779 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: $51 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Amara Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amara Hotels is located in New Delhi, in the heart of Greater Kailash -1.entertainment district. , just one km from Nehru Place India's Biggest IT Business district. Amara Hotel New Delhi is 20-minute drive from Central Delhi and a 30-minute drive from Indira Gandhi International Airport. And Nizamuddin Railway Station is 10-minute from the Amara hotel. The hotel is also 4 km away from the historical Qutub Minar, Humayun's tomb. Luxurious carpets, large windows and hardwood flooring give rooms an elegant feel. Fully air conditioned, they come with a flat-screen TV, DVD player and minibar. Bathrooms have a Shower , bathrobes and toiletries. And Provide Laundry Services. The hotel’s tour desk assists in currency exchanges and car rentals. Free Private Parking . 24-hour business centre is available and offering fax , pen & pencil , projector , and photocopying services is available And Provided Free WI-FI. serves a selection of delicious Indian food, Chinese dishes and Continental cuisine. Local Indian and European cuisine can be enjoyed in the hotel’s restaurant and 24 hrs Room Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Amara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing