We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good tourist agent, nice staff, bad rooms”
Review of Anoop Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anoop Hotel
Ranked #569 of 712 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I wouldn't recommend booking anywhere in Main Bazaar in Delhi as it's very unsafe. Although the email confirmed complimentary airport pick up no one was there when we arrived and when we called in, they said no one would be coming and it was an extra cost.
While my friend's rooms were clean and had working toilets, A/C, I was not as fortunate. We waited an extra 5 mintues as our room was undergoing toilet maintenance. After the plummer left the toilet still didn't work and the walls were mouldy.
We moved rooms. It looked nice enough - the bathroom looked very clean and the toilet worked well. However, the A/C leaked excessively (filled a small garbage can within 2 hours). While staff were nice and offerred to move us to another room again, at this point we were exhausted and it was late so we just used a larger bucket to catch the leak and turned off the A/C (the staff refused to charge us for a non-AC room). The only redeeming quality was the tourist agent downstairs who arranged a private A/C van and driver to take us around to Agra and Jaipur. The driver was very nice, accomodating to the sites we wanted to see and also stopped at some places he thought we'd like ($80US). My advice would be to get there early and check the rooms thoroughly before unpacking as there are some nice rooms but also some bad rooms. They also had a working TV that played some English movies and TV shows.

Room Tip: Check rooms before unpacking (toilet, linens, A/C, shower). Rooms 105 and 106 were okay.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mafer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Anoop Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 166 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here on the 31st of July waiting a next day flight. When we arrived, the room we booked by e-mail, was not available (it seemed that there was not reservation at all!).
They tryied to give us a room without air conditioning and in very poor condition. After protesting they shown us other two rooms and the 3rd one at the end was decent. The restaurant at the roof floor wasn't too bad with a nice view. For the price we paid probably you can find someting better.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Folk79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Stayed here from the 16th to 19th August. Rooms were big, but sheets were dirty. Bathroom backs on to another rooms bathroom with a metal grille in between (the grille is up high, but if you're tall, you can see in to the other rooms bathroom).

Service at the roof top restaurant is poor.

Wouldn't stay here again for the price (1000 rupees- double room, no ac).

Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank emmat7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here for 2 weeks while I was getting LASIK eye surgery in Delhi. I was in 3 different rooms, and they were all well-priced (700Rs double) and perfect for what I wanted - A/C, clean, working bathroom, nice tv. The service was good whenever I asked for tp, soap, figuring out the AC, etc. They also had clean, cold, filtered water for free, and an internet cafe downstairs.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bsto54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Rooms can be very good, just make sure you look at a few first. Roof top restaurant has very good food.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Isa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

I' ve travelled many times to Delhi and stayed at many different places, but since I ve stayed at anoop I wont go anywhere else, the prices are reasonable, the rooms are well sized and relatively clean.it is a generally good option to stay at. save place!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaheraKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2011

My boyfriend and I ended up staying in Anoop guest house in Paharganj after enquiring in a few guest houses along the main bazaar and finding it to have the best price. We got a double room with A/C for 800Rs a night - more than we were used to paying but Delhi is in general more expensive.

It is worth looking in a few rooms before you decide on the one you want. I say this because the room we were first allocated was quite small and we asked to change rooms as the A/C wasn't very effective at all. The second room we had was on the fourth floor opposite the restaurant (401 or 402 I can't remember) and was much roomier with a big old-fashioned A/C box that made nice refreshing fridge-like conditions for us to cool down in :) All rooms have flat screen TVs which is nice, and a phone to call reception if you have any problems. I requested another blanket for the bed one night and they brought one up within a few minutes. The staff also arranged a taxi to take us to the airport on our last night and gave us a wake up call at 4.15am. 24 hour service!

The downside to our room was that unfortunately there was a problem with the toilet in that every time you flushed it water flooded out in quite comedy fashion like a little fountain out either side of the U-bend (!) and the sink leaked too so the bathroom floor was permanently wet - but you get used to this in India with the shower going directly onto the floor anyway....we decided it wasn't worth making a fuss about but it was a bit annoying to have to leap across the bathroom to avoid the fountain every time you flushed the toilet!!! Not entirely sure how hygienic it was either (probably not very). Ah, India...

The hotel in general is nice, clean (apart from the questionable toilet water fountain) and good value. The rooftop restaurant is very nice, although maybe a bit over-priced. I would recommend the fruit salad for breakfast; 100Rs but you get a LOT!

Overall I would recommend. Hopefully they'll have fixed the toilet soon...!

Room Tip: If you can, check a few rooms before you decide on the one that's best for you
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Vivek Hotel
Vivek Hotel
#227 of 712 in New Delhi
334 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
#70 of 712 in New Delhi
93 reviews
Hotel Payal
#219 of 712 in New Delhi
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Avtar
#408 of 712 in New Delhi
52 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#91 of 712 in New Delhi
331 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Heritage Home
Hotel Heritage Home
#310 of 712 in New Delhi
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anoop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anoop Hotel

Address: 1566, Main Bazar,, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #569 of 712 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: $16 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anoop Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being centrally located in New Delhi, India, Anoop Hotel was founded in 1990. Anoop Guest House has become the hotel of choice for many creative people who come to the city. We can boast a guest book full of authors, journalist, musicians, actors, painters and sculptors etc. However, we take a personal interest in all the guests who come. It is not a question of whether you like our hotel, either in its own right or in comparison with anywhere you may have stayed before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Anoop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing