We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anoop Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Anoop Hotel
Ranked #534 of 695 Hotels in New Delhi
Renton, Washington
1 review
“Good budget hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I stayed here for 2 weeks while I was getting LASIK eye surgery in Delhi. I was in 3 different rooms, and they were all well-priced (700Rs double) and perfect for what I wanted - A/C, clean, working bathroom, nice tv. The service was good whenever I asked for tp, soap, figuring out the AC, etc. They also had clean, cold, filtered water for free, and an internet cafe downstairs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bsto54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    26
    42
    27
    37
See reviews for
11
35
51
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

Rooms can be very good, just make sure you look at a few first. Roof top restaurant has very good food.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mc Leod Ganj
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I' ve travelled many times to Delhi and stayed at many different places, but since I ve stayed at anoop I wont go anywhere else, the prices are reasonable, the rooms are well sized and relatively clean.it is a generally good option to stay at. save place!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaheraKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

My boyfriend and I ended up staying in Anoop guest house in Paharganj after enquiring in a few guest houses along the main bazaar and finding it to have the best price. We got a double room with A/C for 800Rs a night - more than we were used to paying but Delhi is in general more expensive.

It is worth looking in a few rooms before you decide on the one you want. I say this because the room we were first allocated was quite small and we asked to change rooms as the A/C wasn't very effective at all. The second room we had was on the fourth floor opposite the restaurant (401 or 402 I can't remember) and was much roomier with a big old-fashioned A/C box that made nice refreshing fridge-like conditions for us to cool down in :) All rooms have flat screen TVs which is nice, and a phone to call reception if you have any problems. I requested another blanket for the bed one night and they brought one up within a few minutes. The staff also arranged a taxi to take us to the airport on our last night and gave us a wake up call at 4.15am. 24 hour service!

The downside to our room was that unfortunately there was a problem with the toilet in that every time you flushed it water flooded out in quite comedy fashion like a little fountain out either side of the U-bend (!) and the sink leaked too so the bathroom floor was permanently wet - but you get used to this in India with the shower going directly onto the floor anyway....we decided it wasn't worth making a fuss about but it was a bit annoying to have to leap across the bathroom to avoid the fountain every time you flushed the toilet!!! Not entirely sure how hygienic it was either (probably not very). Ah, India...

The hotel in general is nice, clean (apart from the questionable toilet water fountain) and good value. The rooftop restaurant is very nice, although maybe a bit over-priced. I would recommend the fruit salad for breakfast; 100Rs but you get a LOT!

Overall I would recommend. Hopefully they'll have fixed the toilet soon...!

Room Tip: If you can, check a few rooms before you decide on the one that's best for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

Stayed here for 1 night passing through New Delhi on my way to Dharamsala. I chose this place because I noticed a lot of other tourists were coming in and out, and after checking out a few other really sketchy-looking places, Anoop's main entrance and lobby appeared quite legit. I paid a little more than I was expecting to for Pahar Ganj because they didn't have any singles left, and he wouldn't give me a lower price for the double even though I tried to bargain for it. The room itself was better than what I'd seen for lower-priced accomodations in Pahar Ganj, and it had a powerful fan and (to my delight) a new, flat-screened television. I do admit that the walls could have used some scrubbing. The bathroom was oddly-shaped (think of a long corridor) but appeared decently clean. Also, I would have preferred a window opening onto the outside (this room's window opened into the hotel itself). Overall, though, I didn't have a problem with the room I received and treated myself to watching "Gandhi" the night before Independence Day.

I also availed myself of the travel services downstairs. The man helped me schedule a bus to Dharamsala the next day for what I discovered to be "around" the right price, but you should always shop around agencies in Pahar Ganj first to make sure you're getting a reasonable rate, commission considered. On a side note, I also left my luggage with Anoop for the day I checked out (10 Rps), used the air-conditioned Internet cafe, and peacefully hung around inside the lobby waiting for my bus departure for a couple of hours, away from the craziness of Main Bazaar outside.

When it came time to leave, some other travelers and I had to walk quite a ways following the dude to our tour bus, which took us to Majnu-Ka-Tilla, where we had to change buses a second time after waiting for another bus for about 45 minutes at a petrol station...and so that was a bit annoying (having had to haul all of my stuff and not knowing what was going on half the time), but I guess it is all a part of the adventure...

Room Tip: Be sure and ask to see the room before you pay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmarie_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

We pre booked a night in this hotel having viewed a room. On returning to the hotel the room was changed without any other options left and as it was so late and we had already paid we had to take it. The room was dirty and the bathroom was disgusting, perhaps sleeping outside would have been better on looking back.
What a scam.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma_clare44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I went to Delhi on Jul-Aug 2011. It will take you 3-4 days to adjust your eyes and ears to the chaos of the city, especially the area where this hotel is located. The hotel send me emails saying that they will pick me up at the airport (I was arraving at 3:10am) but guess what, no one showed up there. While I have no major complains about the hotel it self, I need to advise: DO NOT contract any services provided by the travel agency that this hotel has. The manager (owner) will overprice the tour promising you that you will get back thanking him for such a wonderful trip. What a liar. I arrange a 10-day trip to Rajasthan with a car (including extra-cost for A/C since it was the middle of the summer in India) and a driver. The whole package was extremely overpriced (unfortunately, I noticed this once I was in the road and got the chance to compare my package to other toursits). I was asked to pay for parking and tolls and breakfast was not included. Later on I discovered that most of the travel agents assume this costs. The driver assigned to me barely could speak English. He was not polite at all. There was a constant battle for asking him to take me to the touristic places (forts, palaces, etc). I needed to be on top of my game in other to visit all the touristic destinations that I was supposed to visit in each town. I couldn't rely on the driver for this. On the other hand, he (the driver) was very quick to take me to the shops of "his friends" (of course there should be a commission involved) so I can spend my money on overpriced crafts, jewelry, etc.
The 50% off the accommodations that were booked for me where really crappy places. To the extend that someone unexpectedly knocked at my room's door at 2:30am in one occasion (I could'n sleep at all after that). I called the reception of the hotel and no one answer. I called to Delhi to complain with the Travel Agent that did the arrangements and I didn't receive a call back in 3 days (even though when this travel agent that sold me the package told me that he will be 24/7 for me during the trip). The last 3 days of the trip, the driver informed me that the A/C of the car was broken and that we would travel without air conditioning (A/C). When I call the travel agent, he even yelled at me saying that I was not being understanding of the situation, and that things like this could happen. It took me a spam of 3 hours and the help of a friend in Delhi who calls him for this travel agent asking the driver to get the A/C fixed.
Again, DO NOT DO BUSINESS WITH THE TRAVEL AGENT IN HOTEL ANOOP (ANUP)
By the way, the travel agent (perhaps, he is the owner) has another office in a hotel located in the same street. Before paying anything, stop by the hotel Anoop and check that you are not dealing with the same person.
BAD, BAD, VERY BAD EXPERIENCE!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank msaenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Vivek Hotel
#441 of 695 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Cottage Ganga Inn
Cottage Ganga Inn
#67 of 695 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
Cottage Yes Please
#180 of 695 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Woodland Deluxe
#416 of 695 in New Delhi
3.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Hotel Cabana
#145 of 695 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Hotel Arjun
#128 of 695 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 stars 208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anoop Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anoop Hotel

Property: Anoop Hotel
Address: 1566, Main Bazar,, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #534 of 695 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anoop Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being centrally located in New Delhi, India, Anoop Hotel was founded in 1990. Anoop Guest House has become the hotel of choice for many creative people who come to the city. We can boast a guest book full of authors, journalist, musicians, actors, painters and sculptors etc. However, we take a personal interest in all the guests who come. It is not a question of whether you like our hotel, either in its own right or in comparison with anywhere you may have stayed before. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Anoop Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing