We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Leela Palace New Delhi
Ranked #1 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Mumbai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Amazing hospitality”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Reviewers keep saying nice things about the service, and I wondered what could be so good.
We found out when we stayed there. The staff was genuine, friendly, caring - better than many other 5 star properties.
The room itself was gorgeous and the buffett breakfast one of the best I have ever eaten.
Be ready to pay up for outstanding service. They take great care of you! :)

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tirath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Thank you very much for your kind endorsement on our staff services and we are delighted that you both enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Leela Palace New Delhi soon.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,329
    323
    72
    31
    15
See reviews for
484
974
169
669
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

We arrived at this hotel excited as we wanted to stay there after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. Our tour company had changed our Delhi hotel to the Leela Palace from the Oberoi Gurgaon just before our departure from Australia. The female receptionist who took us to our room sneezed, snorted and coughed after entering the lift and continued all the way to our room. On arrival at the floor of our room she had to ring reception to find out which room number we had been given. The room was very good but the guest toiletries in the bathroom were very limited - only soap , shampoo, body lotion and shower caps. The bar staff were very aloof and distant compared to our experiences at The Taj and Oberoi Hotels. We couldn't wait to finish our drinks and leave.
The Qube Restaurant - Spectacular decor but we seated next to the work station. The staff were arguing with each other and the Restaurant manager asked them to leave the work station and look after the guests. We had to ask to be moved to another table as they became too noisy. This was done grudgingly and we were made to feel in the wrong.The food was okay but overpriced. We were very disappointed to end our stay in India with less than a 5 star experience when we expected so much more.
A beautiful hotel but the staff need lots of training.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nefer14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
I assure you that my team is highly disheartened to read that we were not able to live up to our service promise.

While we tried contacting you post your comment card, I am taking liberty to reach out via TripAdvisor and hope you would give me an opportunity to speak with you in person.

Yours sincerely,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2014

I have spent really nice time in the Leela! Designed with a lot of taste, nicely combining elements of Indian culture with design Leela offered excellent environment during my business trip to Delhi. I very much enjoyed my breakfast in the garden, the roof top pool, gym and spa. Front desk and consierge as well as in general ALL employees including pool and houskeeping were very attentive, friendly and helpful. I will be happy to come back to Leela.

Room Tip: The room was great. I rate it only as very good since in similar hotels I had a larger room for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dkdamiano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
It is wonderful to read your kind endorsement. All Leela properties are unique in their architecture and are bejeweled to orchestrate an experience truly inspired by a rich cultural heritage combining the warmth of traditional Indian hospitality with our luxurious interiors.

Thank you for kind praise for our staff services and we are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I stayed at this lovely hotel for three nights on business and really found this place to be faultless.
Friendly welcoming service, excellent food, lovely rooms and amenities. Lovely pool area and excellent spa facilites too.
The sushi restaurant was superb - don't miss it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gummo0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Thank you for commending our luxurious accommodations, staff services and Food & Beverage experiences of your recent stay with us.

Chef Saito-san is delighted to note that MEGU, our modern-Japanese New York import scored high on your experience. We also thank you for being our guest at our award-wining spa, by ESPA.

We hope that business will bring you back to The Leela Palace New Delhi soon and the rooftop pool eagerly awaits your return.

With best regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014

When you arrive at your hotel at 2am you're not sure what to expect. Well considering we were picked up at the airport in a gorgeous BMW 5 series I should have known. We were greeted at the entrance by our front desk person who called us by name and escorted us directly to the rooms, we did not have to go through a classic check in process, everything was handled with the customer in mind. The stay was like that the whole time we were there (2 weeks). Beautiful hotel, wonderful service and reasonable rates. Would absolutely return.

Room Tip: There really aren't any bad rooms, the noise from the street is completely muffled, I was on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattk_97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
It was a pleasure to be of service to you and a heartfelt thank you for the glowing appreciation of our features and staff services.

I am happy to know that our seamless check-in upon arrival at 2am was a success and that we were able to uphold our service promise throughout the remainder of your stay with us.

Your wonderful review is the true testament to our daily efforts and the team at The Leela Palace New Delhi and I am looking forward to welcoming you back as our patrons soon.

With kindest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

One of the best hotels I've ever stayed in. I liked everything about this wonderful hotel. It exceeded my expectations in every way. The service was truly outstanding, the whole staff go out of their way to make the guest feel more comfortable. The decor, the food, and the rooms were all top-notch!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LulwaSalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
I am delighted to note that you and your friends enjoyed your experience at The Leela Palace New Delhi.

I am pleased to read your kind compliments on our features including the food & beverage offerings, our luxurious accommodations and staff services.

Thank you for being our guests and we hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you again soon.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zambia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2014

After experiencing the gold standard for customer service (the Oberoi) the service at the Leela felt almost clinical. The staff were professional, but not warm nor did they give the sense that they would go the extra mile. The concierge, for example, often didn't pick up the phone when we called his desk and we were told by the operator a couple of times that he would tell the concierge to cal us back which he didn't.

The restaurant staff were the best and there is an amazing champagne buffet which we loved, though we had an unfortunate incident where we made an order only to be told 30 minutes later that the station we had ordered from had subsequently closed. Only after complaining did the assistant manager, who was wonderful, and the chef come to apologise.

It is the little things that spoil the whole experience, we very much got the sense that you have to be someone important for them to go the extra mile.

Compared to other business or 'big city' hotels, it is above average, the rooms are beautifully decorated, the staff professional, but I wouldn't put it at par with what I consider to be the Gold Standard of business travel, Four Seasons.

Room Tip: We loved our floor, I think it was the 7th or 8th where the suites were. We had a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZedTraveller2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you very much for staying with us and I am happy to read that you loved your accommodation and views they present. Naturally we are disheartened for not being able to provide a seamless experience during your time with us.

Please be assured that your comments have been duly noted and revisited with our teams.

We hope to have the opportunity of being of service to you again in the not too distant future and exceed your as well as our own standards.

Yours sincerely,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,710 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,888 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 716 in New Delhi
3,653 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#24 of 716 in New Delhi
2,666 reviews
2.7 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,005 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Property: The Leela Palace New Delhi
Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers in our luxury BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms up to 2 hours for its Royal Club guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing