We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in the world in most reviews, and rightly so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Leela Palace New Delhi
Ranked #1 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One of the best in the world in most reviews, and rightly so”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Leela is a bit far South in New Delhi, but easy to connect to all the high lights of Delhi. As a hotel it is right up there with the best. A great service, amazing food, beautiful rooms, very helpful staff are all making it the place of choice to stay when in Delhi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulblo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Thank you for commending The Leela Palace New Delhi as ‘One of the best in the world’ following your recent stay with us.

Your commendation of our services and accommodations is highly appreciated.

My team joins me in thanking you for giving us an opportunity to be of service to you and your family and I do hope we will get a chance to welcome you back again.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,303
    319
    72
    31
    15
See reviews for
479
967
162
662
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Understated luxury, spectacularly beautiful.... fabulous location in South Delhi. Would highly recommend it for a luxurious stay. Lavish breakfast spread. Its very conveniently located and getting around Delhi is very easy from here. Staff is attentive and helpful. Wonderful Stay. The best is Delhi.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ira D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
We are delighted to read that our centralized location, overall quality of our hotel and the staff services met with your expectations. Your gracious compliments will certainly serve as an added inspiration for the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back at The Leela Palace New Delhi soon.

With kindest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
171 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 491 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

Must stay for experiencing luxury and great service. Conveniently located in the diplomatic area of Chanakyapuri it is the newest hotel in the city and the best. Service is great and very attentive. High class offerings of restaurants. Must stay to experience the royalty treatment.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elite_traveler_927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your kind comments and for taking a note of our centralized location in Delhi’s elite neighborhood, Chankyapuri.Your high recommendation of our features and staff services is greatly appreciated and it is our sincere endeavor to offer the finest Indian hospitality experience to each of our guests.

I am pleased that that you and your family enjoyed your recent stay at The Leela Palace New Delhi we are eagerly looking forward to welcoming you back again.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

This hotel has some of the best trained and delightful staff I have come across anywhere in the world. They are all concerned with giving their Guests the best possible experience and care deeply that you enjoy your stay at the hotel. We booked a Club room and from the moment we were met off our flight and escorted to the waiting car, until the moment we had checked our bag in on departure, the staff were exceptional. Our room was spacious, luxurious and spotlessly clean. In the Club lounge, drinks and snacks are served by personable and welcoming staff. We ate in the Indian restaurant, where once again, we experienced fantastic service but felt that the ambience and food quality did not do the hotel justice. We happened to mention this to a member of staff back in the Club lounge a little later in the evening, when asked about our dining experience. Within a few minutes, we were asked if we would spare a few minutes to have a discussion with the Executive Chef to express our thoughts about where improvements could be made . This is a testament to how much all the staff care about their Guest's experience and their concern for the reputation of the hotel. The Leela Palace was truly a 5 star experience and I would have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 849 which had great city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for the glowing feedback of your recent stay at The Leela Palace New Delhi. We are grateful for your highest recommendation of our Royal club accommodations and its staff services.

It is our earnest endeavor to listen to our guests and improve in the indicated areas to continue delivering the best-in-class services and magical experiences. Our Executive chef joins me in thanking you for your time to share your feedback in person.

We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back soon and experience the changes made.

With best regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2014

We stayed one night at The Leela at the beginning of our tour of the golden triangle. It is a lovely hotel, and we had a very comfortable, quiet, well furnished room. The staff were friendly and helpful. There was a mix of guests; business and tourists, which was nice as it can be somewhat disconcerting to be surrounded by suits when in holiday mode.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank penbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
I am pleased to read your kind compliments on our staff services and stay with us.

Thank you for choosing us as the starting point to your golden triangle tour and I hope you had an exciting journey through India.

I look forward to welcoming you back again and hopefully for a longer time to experience our palace in all what we have to offer.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

A 4-5+ star hotel must be compared to its peers and this one definitely is wonderful. The reception was professional and prompt, the service staff there when needed, the rooms wonderfully appointed - everything worked as it should. A true luxury hotel with one exception.
We had dinner the first two night of our stay. We ate in the two main restaurants; the rooftop and the main floor. Both were not acceptable, the food was old and tired, tiny portions at excessive prices. Dinner was else where thereafter. Breakfast on the other hand was fine; not fantastic but acceptable.
A final note: the roof bar makes a superb dry martini.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelled_from_TO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Leela Palace New Delhi and for your wonderful review.

While it is a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our accommodations and staff services along with the dry martini at the Le Cirque bar, I am concerned to read your feedback on the presentation of the dishes and experience.

Please be assured that we have taken your notes very constructively and will put them to use in the launch of our new summer menus.

We sincerely hope to welcome you back to The Leela Palace New Delhi in not too distant future.

With kindest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cham, Switzerland
Level Contributor
93 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I usually stay in The Imperial when I come to Delhi, but this time opted for the Leela Palace. On the positive side the staff are excellent, efficient and friendly. The bedrooms and bathrooms are spacious, well decorated with great attention to detail, and most importantly the bed was comfortable - I had a great sleep. The breakfast was excellent and fresh juice bar was particularly good. The roof top swimming pool is nice with a modern feel, but it could have been designed to have a bit more depth.

On the negative side, the décor in the Leela can best be described as faux Indian colonial style, which may not be to everyone's taste - it layered on thickly and if you are looking for cleaner and more modern style go elsewhere. I found the position and selection of the furniture somewhat inconvenient, for example the bench at the end of the bed had pointed and sharp edges, when I got out of bed in the early morning I managed to hit my leg on the edge. The prices for the in-house restaurants and car-transfers are eye watering and make Switzerland look cheap. For example, although the Megu Japanese restaurant had excellent sushi, the price made me appreciate the fish had clocked up a lot of air miles to reach my plate. Overall an excellent hotel, with great staff and attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Our sincere thanks for giving us the opportunity to being of service during your recent stay in Delhi and the kind review titled “First class hotel and service”.

While I am glad that our staff services, spacious accommodations and the experience at our award-wining restaurants, The Qube and MEGU met with your expectations, I do take a careful note of the other indicated areas.

We eagerly look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,657 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,860 reviews
6.6 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 713 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#19 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,640 reviews
2.7 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,982 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#44 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Property: The Leela Palace New Delhi
Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers in our luxury BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms up to 2 hours for its Royal Club guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing