We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“World class Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Leela Palace New Delhi
Ranked #1 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Details:
Nights: 3
Room Type: The Royal Club Room #389
Other Hotels we looked at: The Imperial, Oberoi and Taj Palace

Highs + Lows:
Highs:
Service: Truly End to End Service, they go above and beyond what typical hotels would do. What truly made it was the service didn't end when we checked out of the hotel. As we arrived at the airport to leave Delhi there was a Leela greeter to help us with the check-in and any last minute things we forgot and also the chaos that is Delhi airport.

Grounds: The hotel lobby and room decor are exquisite - high end furnishings, regal interior decor - was reminiscent of the rooms at The Plaza Hotel in NY, or Hotel de Paris in Monte Carlo, with an Indian twist. Flower displays everywhere were beautiful. The rooftop pool is gorgeous and heated so we were able to take a dip on a chilly night.

Excursions: we booked a trip to Agra via the Leela and they had the most amazing guide. Extremely knowledge and spoke perfect english and easy to understand all the history and wonder of the Taj.

Drivers: You can book a private car (the hotel has a fleet of 24 BMWs) by the hour for about $25 dollars (1500 INR), they will take you anywhere you want and all spoke perfect english so it wasn't a pain to communicate. (A trip to Agra with a private car cost about 35,000 INR) We wanted to try Karim's, a restaurant nestled in a bustling bazaar. The driver walked us personally there and waited outside while we ate. Amazing service.

Food: We ate at the the Qube for breakfast and it was one of the best Buffets on our trip to India. It rivaled most Vegas buffets. But in general, the breakfast buffets in the nice Indian hotels outside of Delhi aren't so lavish. We also ate "tapas" at the Library which were delicious.

Lows:
The only low part that related to this hotel was during the excursion to Agra our guide (3rd party that works with Leela) took us to a tourist trap factory after I briefly asked if there was any good shopping. I've been in that kind of tourist trap factory before so I knew full well what they were trying to do - they give you an "educational" tour of how things are made and then try to force you to buy from them at prices that rival the department stores in the U.S making you feel really uncomfortable. A basic pashmina scarf for $90 US? (You can get this for a third to a quarter of the price at Khan Market) or how about low quality emerald studs for $5000? And usually, the tour guide who brings them there gets a back end commission. The tour guide wasn't pushy about it and he was extremely nice otherwise so I just shrugged it off.

Conclusion:
This was our first time to India and Leela was the first hotel we stayed in. It was a great hotel to help ease into the craziness that is Delhi. This hotel truly exemplified's Indian Hospitality and Service. Everything was spot on and i would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChungWNg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

I am pleased to read your detailed review of our services and am very happy that the experience met with your expectations. We take pride in tailor-making magical experiences for each of our guests and such reviews are the true testament of our hard work.

While my team joins me in thanking your for the highest endorsement of the staff and taking note of our special touches across the hotel including the floral displays and Food & Beverage offerings at The Qube and The Library bar, we have taken your feedback seriously on the third party guide experience in Agra and shall conduct our personal reviews immediately.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Palace New Delhi very soon.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,907)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,913 - 1,919 of 2,907 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at the Leela Palace on two separate occasions, at the beginning of our trip to India and the last two days. We had very spacious and beautifully decorated rooms with wonderful-spa like bathrooms. Good breakfast, very friendly personnel. Would not hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Room 603 was large and although facing the front of the hotel, absolutely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luchyswanwick_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thank you for choosing The Leela Palace New Delhi in the beginning and the end of your recent India visit.

I am delighted to read that our accommodations and staff services scored high on your experience. Thank you for recommending the food offerings at The Qube.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Leela Palace New Delhi soon.

With kindest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

The Perfect Hotel The Leela Place ,Delhi,This was an outstanding experience: good service, good meals, very friendly personnel. Hotel are just amazing giving you a world class experience. A great fun loving place to stay either with family or with people around you.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAJAKI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2014

I am delighted to read your kind appreciation about the hotel services, meals and the staff. Your very kind description of “Amazing” will certainly motivate our teams to strive even further in our quest to customer satisfaction.

Thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to welcoming you again.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Having stayed at the Leela Mumbai - which I feel is good but not spectacular, I was expecting similar in Delhi, but I was blown away but the step up at the Leela Palace. I had a standard room but it was everything I needed and had an awesome Bathroom. The Palace has such great architecture and it really feels like one is staying somewhere special. As expected service was amazing and I used the Spa Facilities which were top quality. The Qube restaurant was very good, though at night it was a little cold in their (but Delhi is cold in Jan!). It was an expensive stay relative to other options, but certainly if you want an extra special 5 star service, this is the place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AviBhadresha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments and for making The Leela Palace your preferred choice while in New Delhi.

We are happy to know your appreciation about the overall architecture and décor and are glad to read your satisfaction with our very large and luxuriously appointed bathroom.

I am happy to know that you had a great dining experience at The Qube and also enjoyed our services and treatment at the spa by ESPA. My apologies for the temperature during your dinner at The Qube, but we got caught by the surprising chill of this time of year and will take measures to be better prepared for next January.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Yours sincerely,
Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

By far, the best hotel we've ever been!!! The staff is amazing, the food in the QUBE spectacular and ESPA is a paradise. We would like to emphasize the develpoment and care of two memebers of the Staff. One is Vidur in the QUBE his treatment with us was wonderfull. Furthermore, he is a good photographer. The other is Hemant, who was in charge of housekeeping of our room!!! Thanks a lot!!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Vidur, Hemant, the entire Leela team and I thank you for your wonderful comments. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are glad to read your appreciation about the hotel and our all dining restaurant, The Qube.

I am delighted to know that you experienced our spa by ESPA and enjoyed our treatment and facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you to The Leela Palace New Delhi in not too distant future.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

This is a great hotel. It's very new so everything looks and feels super clean and luxurious. We are staying in a Junior Suite and it is fantastic. You get club access (unlimited coffee/tea, little snacks and the cocktail period in the evening when you get free drinks and canopies). The room is so spacious and absolutely beautiful. The breakfast buffet is also great.

The only things they could improve on:
> Providing a comb would be great
> There doesn't seem to be a turn down service (at least we didn't get one on our first night)

All in all I love staying here. We've also stayed at the Taj Mahal hotel in New Delhi - also a great hotel but I have to say the Leela is a Lot better.

Room Tip: Room 727 is our room - and a great room but you will be able to hear the noise of Delhi traffic outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AprilSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Thank you for staying at The Leela Palace New Delhi and we are delighted that you had a wonderful experience and enjoyed our services at The Royal Club Lounge.

While we do provide several additional amenities upon request, I do take note of your concern regarding the comb and also about turn down service in the room. In our continuous efforts to improve our services and iron out any imperfections I shall take the liberty to contact you via private email to find out more please.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kindest regards,
Louis Sailer,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We spent total y 3.5 nights in the Leela Palace. This was an outstanding experience: good service, good meals, very friendly personnel. I really felt as a maharajah !
Particularly the "Le Cirque" restaurant was perfect - we could feel like in Italy. The Indian restaurant and the Qube restaurant were also very good with very accurate service.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Perudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SailerLouis, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this reviewResponded January 24, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful experience at The Leela Palace New Delhi and highly appreciate your positive review on TripAdvisor.

It is heartening to know that we managed to make you feel like a Maharaja and that our services and offerings at the restaurants especially Le Cirque were a success.

We sincerely thank you for staying with us and hope to have the opportunity to be of service to you soon.

With warmest regards,
Louis Sailer
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#42 of 715 in New Delhi
3,964 reviews
1.6 mi away
Taj Diplomatic Enclave, New Delhi
3.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#4 of 715 in New Delhi
373 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#28 of 715 in New Delhi
2,807 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#13 of 715 in New Delhi
3,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110 023, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $292 - $469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers in our luxury BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms up to 2 hours for its Royal Club guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing