We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly world-class”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Leela Palace New Delhi
Ranked #1 of 707 Hotels in New Delhi
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Truly world-class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a wonderful hotel! Stayed for 2 nights in May on a business trip.

I've stayed in a number of 5 star hotels in Delhi and Mumbai over the years. The standard has generally been high but Leela Palace really does set a new standard. The quality of service cannot be faulted - efficient, polite but low-key - but the highlight for me was the beautiful design of this modern but elegant hotel (which I believe was opened only 2 years ago).

My room was very comfortable and spacious with a really nice bathroom (with separate show cubicle and bathtub). Wi Fi in the room worked like a dream and is complimentary. The gym is located in the spa and is very well equipped. Buffet breakfast was great - I really appreciated the fact that besides the usual breakfast fare to be found in any good hotel, there was also a good spread of local Indian breakfast items - all very delicious. Tried the Japanese restaurant for the dinner - was a little nervous about having Japanese in India but the meal was really good. I assume the chefs have to work with the fact that key supplies such as fish have to be flown in from Tokyo every few days but the kitchen did wonders with what they had available.

My room package came with a hotel car from and to the airport. Highly recommended! The car from the airport was a BMW 730 (pure bliss!!) and the return trip to the airport was in a BMW 5 series.

Overall a great stay

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel, staff and services. We have shared your positive feedback with our team and its a source of motivation for all of us. Such bright reviews make our efforts worthwhile. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kunal Chauhan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,251
    310
    70
    31
    14
See reviews for
466
950
159
644
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

I spent four nights at Leela mid May and it was like nothing I have experienced before. Never has the phrase "2nd to none" been more applicable. Pure class.

The staff are fantastic and they really set the standard for hotels across the globe, they could not be more helpful. They know what you want before you have even thought of it. The facilities and the hotel itself are amazing especially the roof top pool and selection of restaurants and bars. Whatever you do don't miss the breakfast!

I could write and write about how good the Leela is, but just like India you have to see it and experience it to believe it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonr81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing a review of us on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to know that among others things you liked our pool, restaurants and breakfast. I am glad to know that you had a fantastic stay at our Palace. Such generous and scintillating feedback motivates us to perform even better. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Palace.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

After an awfully warm day, today we went to have a beer at this bar, but were disappointed with the lack of variety in beer..no peroni, no draft, no KF blue, no erdinger. However, it was a beautiful ambience, very tasty snacky stuff with the beer we finally had (KF ultra). The staff is very pleasant and helpful, and in a very quiet way which is highly appreciated. Lovely looking embellishments all over the hotel.. and so well located too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ganga D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting a review of us on TripAdvisor. I have made a note of your comment about lack of variety in beer. I understand the fact that you were disappointed with unavailability of draft beer at our bar. Our bar is known for finest and the most exclusive selection of beverages in India. however will look at the possibility of adding draft beer to our collection. We are glad to know that you liked the food at bar. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Palace

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

The Hotel Leela palace is simply superb in every department. If it is absolute opulence you are after this Hotel ticks all the boxes, can't wait to go back. Stunning !!!!!!! A little out of the way but Aotos are easy to find and the hotel will arrange everything for you.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Guest,


We thank you for taking out time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel, staff and services. Such scintillating reviews make our efforts worthwhile We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Nestled in the diplomatic enclave of New Delhi is this stand out hotel. From the moment you walk in every experience is wonderful Great service, beautiful rooms with lovely pillows and linen, fantastic dining, beautiful infinity pool and a terrific bar with a fantastic selection of wines and whiskey. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UndaraUAE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking out time and posting a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you enjoyed staying at our Palace. We are delighted to know that among other things you also loved our bar and our selection of wines and whisky. Such scintillating reviews make our efforts worthwhile We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

I generally don't take the time to comment on hotels, unless I've had a particularly bad experience. However, my recent stay at The Leela Palace in New Delhi was so overwhelmingly positive, I felt compelled to share.

We recently visited New Delhi on May 18-21, spending three outstanding nights at The Leela Palace. As others have stated, the hotel is quite exceptional, from its physical environment to the level of service. Having stayed at other hotels in New Delhi, The Leela Palace really stands out as one of the very few international-standard 5-star properties in the city.

Check-In
We were greeted by name upon arrival, and check-in was handled quickly and efficiently, with the paperwork being handled in our rooms.

Staff
All staff speak excellent English and are highly service-oriented. Other luxury properties in India go a bit overboard with service that borders on the intrusive. Staff at The Leela Palace, however, strike a nice balance between service and privacy. They simple seem to "know" when you need assistance.

The concierge team was a real stand-out. We felt well taken care of, and they provided great local information. They also arranged for daily excursions for us using the hotel's BMW. Their team of drivers were also helpful and informative.

Rooms
We stayed in a standard room, which came with a dedicated 24-hour Floor Butler, who handled everything from requests for ice to travel arrangements. The room was spacious (by any standard) and luxurious. The king-sized bed was roomy, but the mattress was slightly uncomfortable for our taste. Not terrible, just a matter of personal preference.

The all-marble bathroom had separate bath and shower, with plenty of vanity/sink space for two. The TV in the bathroom was also an appreciated nicety. Towels were fluffy and plentiful. Amenities were from Penhaligon's.

Rooms are serviced twice daily.

Food
We had food from several sources, including room service, Qube restaurant and the hotel's Indian restaurant. Every meal we ate, from breakfast to dinner, was absolutely outstanding. We also appreciated our server's recommendations in the Indian restaurant. Led to some great discoveries that we hope to find at home.

Facilities
The hotel has a great rooftop pool that is very relaxing. The infinity edge has great views over the city. There is a bit of a pigeon issue at the pool, but the attendants do a good job shooing them away.

Overall Impression
The Leela Palace is an exceptional property that I am pleased to recommend to all. I would gladly give it 6 stars if I could. If you are going to New Delhi, you should make it a point to stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel, services and staff. We have shared your positive feedback with the team and its a source of motivation for all of us. Such scintillating reviews make our efforts worthwhile. We have noted your comment about mattress and we will make sure that you get something of your choice and comfort during next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Palace.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We spent four nights at the Leela Palace and we found the hotel to be utterly charming. The staff were very attentive and extremely courteous. The reception, restaurants and bar were all stylish and luxurious. The rooms were also beautifully decorated and furnished and as for the bathroom, well, it was just in a league of its own. There was a huge bathtub (perfect for two), a wet-room and lots of marble and gold framed mirrors. It was pure opulence. The only thing that let it down was that the bathroom TV could not be seen from the bath tub – they had mounted it too high in the wall.
The hotel room rates were extremely good value (by European standards) but the food and drinks were very expensive. Probably on par with the prices at a top London hotel.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Delhi. It’s perfect for business and pleasure and it had the added benefit of free wi-fi. I really couldn’t have asked for more!!!

Room Tip: Get a suite and so gain access to all the free drinks and snacks
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frankymRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel, staff and services. We have shared your positive feedback with our team and its a source of motivation for all of us. Such scintillating reviews make our efforts worthwhile We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kunal Chauhan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 707 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,598 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#9 of 707 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,834 reviews
6.6 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 707 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#17 of 707 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,600 reviews
2.7 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#8 of 707 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,943 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#47 of 707 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Property: The Leela Palace New Delhi
Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers in our luxury BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms up to 2 hours for its Royal Club guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing