We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning elegance, excellent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Leela Palace New Delhi
Ranked #1 of 716 Hotels in New Delhi
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Stunning elegance, excellent stay”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I understand this is a fairly new hotel but it is so well done that it seems like an original, stately home filled with treasures and fresh flowers. I can't say enough about it! I would choose this over The Imperial in a heartbeat. Our room had delicious cookies and fruit (served on marble lotus plates with glass domes), an extremely elegant and luxurious bathroom bathroom, and plenty of room for two travelers (two twin beds). The only thing to complain about is that our stay was not long enough. One more thing, the man who checked us in (in the room) took too long....we were weary and just wanted to relax and get some dinner after our late arrival.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BijouxfromPasadena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel, staff and services. We will go extra mile to train and improve on areas addressed by you. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kunal Chauhan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,326
    322
    72
    31
    15
See reviews for
482
972
169
669
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chatham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I am sitting in the Leela as I write this review. my husband and I are in agreement that this is the most magnificent hotel either of us have ever stayed in. It is beautiful beyond belief. the stay has been seamless including the hotels pick up from the airport. They brought two vehicles one for my husband's disability scooter, walker and luggage, and a separate car for us. The room has EVERYTHING you can imagine including a TV built into the mirror with a huge bathtub. They have 24. Hr room service, a rooftop pool with amazing views of New Delhi, continuous lovely soothing Indian entertainment. We spent the extra for a Club Room. The Club is the best one we have ever been in. Often they put out all the food and drinks and you are on your own, even in 5 star hotels. Not at the Leela , the waiters are ever present in th Club Room. Outstanding. We were initially booked at the Taj Mahal in New Delhi, but the reviews I was seeing regarding The Leela, it appeared that the Leela had better reviews than the Taj. We wavered back and forth because the Taj has the reputation of being the premier hotel in Delhi and Mumbai. We are so glad we chose the Leela Palace.

Room Tip: Spend the extra for theClub room. it is worth it the appetizers are worth it. if breakfast is not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melodylbush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel, staff and services. We have shared your positive feedback with our team and its a source of motivation for all of us. Such scintillating reviews make our efforts worthwhile We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kunal Chauhan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

All I can say is "wow"! I have stayed at many hotels in Asia, but this one is simply the best on all fronts. The rooms are fantastic and the bathrooms well designed. Separate toilet and the shower and bath are wonderful. Fruit, cakes and chocolates refreshed each day AND the floor butler stocked extra of my favourite cookies. And that is simply because I told him I liked them, and he acted on this information. This is why the hotel is so exceptional, as they have the hardware right but also the service perfect. I was there for a week on my own and was impressed, but then my family with young kids joined me and I was blown away by the service. Nothing was a problem for the staff, and they treated my kids as real little guests. The restaurant staff were also sublime, taking them to the buffet, making sure they liked the food and delivering anything they wanted to the table. We have been back for 2 weeks and my kids are still talking about the staff!

The transfer service as mentioned by many people is also a step above anything else: I have never been escorted to the check-in desks and even the departure forms completed for us all!

Restaurants served fantastic food, but they are relatively expensive. Make sure you get a rate including breakfast!

This hotel deserves its top rating in Delhi, and quite possibly also deserves the top rating in Asia Pacific. It really was an experience.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank CraigandSculli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,


We thank you for posting a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay at our Palace.We are delighted to know that you loved our product and services. We have shared your excellent feedback with our team members and its a source of motivation and inspiration for all. We are extremely pleased that we could make your stay a memorable one. We look forward to welcoming you back at our Palace.

Warm Regards

Kunal Chauhan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wash DC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Leela is a relatively new property in very good condition. The room is reasonably sized with an outstanding shower. The water flow is regal...as most hotels now have the water saving nozzles that make a shower feel like a sponge bath. The food is also good as is the service.

I have visited here three times over the last year on business...if you have printing that needs to be done make sure you do it at the office and bring it along as the prices are killer.

You will not be disappointed with this hotel

Room Tip: Depends on what you like. If you want some cityscapes pick street side...otherwise pick the court ya...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCTravelerWashDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel, staff and services. We have shared your positive feedback with our team and its a source of motivation for all of us. Such scintillating reviews make our efforts worthwhile We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kunal Chauhan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, S Korea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Fabulous hotel!!! Five stars are not enough. The hotel staff met us at the airport and whisked us through customs into a BMW 7 series...we have had this service before, but when we returned to the airport for our departure, a gentleman took us through check-in and customs...that was a first! The hotel is incredibly luxurious. The staff is fabulous! Our photo was taken when we first arrived at the hotel...brilliant...the staff knew exactly who we were, even when we returned to the hotel 5 days later! The breakfast selections were outstanding! We traveled to the Oberoi in Agra and Jaipur, but the Leela's breakfast and service was far superior. Our only complaint was that the hotel driver we used for shopping one day in Dehli did not take us where the concierge recommended. Instead, he took us to two Kashmir stores in two different parts of town. After telling him we did not like the first store and that we wanted to go to the stores the concierge recommended, he instead took us a great distance away to the sister Kashmir store. We were not thrilled. We had to drive all the way back to the first location to the stores we wanted to visit. We had a limited amount of time and we were very frustrated! The service was not inexpensive.
Otherwise, the hotel was absolutely incredible! Definitely stay in on one of the two club floors.

Room Tip: The Club Floor was incredible...luxurious, top-shelf liquors, excellent service, delicious food. Ve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DesignEnthusiast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel.I have reviewed your comments about the unpleasant experience you had with our driver. We will go the extra mile to improve and train our staff. We shall ensure that the standards experienced by you will not be repeated and will be worked upon. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kunal Chauhan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level Contributor
305 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We spent the first night of our India holiday at the Leela Palace. Our agent had arranged an early check-in (9am) and we arrived about an hour before this time after our flight from London. The reception staff said our room was not ready and we waited in the lobby for about an hour before being shown to the room. The grand deluxe room was very nice with a comfortable bed and we soon fell asleep for much longer than we had planned. We enjoyed a snack meal in the Lobby Lounge and in the evening ate at the Jamavar restaurant which was good although obviously rather expensive. The breakfast included in the room rate was excellent. The location of the hotel is on the outskirts of the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob-a-JobSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kunal Chauhan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first experience at a Leela Hotel and it lived up to all the reviews that we had read on Trip Advisor and all the hype they cover on their website and facebook page. From the moment we arrived at Delhi Airport we were met by the Hotel's airport representative and treated like royalty until they delivered us back the following afternoon. The airport pickup was a beautiful white BMW 7 series which just glided through the dense Delhi traffic to the Hotel situated in the up-market Diplomatic Quarter. The welcome at the Hotel was grand and we were just blown away with the lush decor of the entrance and then our room which also was stunning.

As we booked a Royal Club Room we took advantage of the invitation for evening cocktails and canapes where the royal treatment continued in magnificent surroundings and very attentive staff. We were so well looked after we didn't need dinner.

Breakfast at the Cube was great and provided a good buffet selection and individual selection if required. We arranged for a vehicle for the morning for sightseeing which was provided at a very reasonable cost and a very informative driver.

The infinity swimming pool on the roof was a special highlight, it was gas heated and provided a great view over Delhi whilst swimming.

The service provided from all staff was impeccable and they all provided warm and friendly greetings to us throughout our stay. It is a standard of service that other chain hotels should copy and adopt.

Room Tip: Go for a Royal Club Room, it is worth every rupee and then some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KChauhan, Resident Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you for taking out time to post a review of us on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to know that you loved our hotel, staff and services. We have shared your positive feedback with our team and its a source of motivation for all of us. Such scintillating reviews make our efforts worthwhile We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kunal Chauhan
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 716 in New Delhi
2,708 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#10 of 716 in New Delhi
2,888 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#43 of 716 in New Delhi
3,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#23 of 716 in New Delhi
2,666 reviews
2.7 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#9 of 716 in New Delhi
2,005 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#16 of 716 in New Delhi
2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Property: The Leela Palace New Delhi
Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers in our luxury BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms up to 2 hours for its Royal Club guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing