We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“BRILLANT” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Leela Palace New Delhi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Leela Palace New Delhi
Ranked #2 of 704 Hotels in New Delhi
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“BRILLANT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

Fantastic in every way. Fababulous service, accommodation, food, facilities, etc. what more do you want. I went with my son, daughter and wife.. We wanted for nothing, great holiday & would recommend to all!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travelexpert186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,995
    285
    61
    28
    14
See reviews for
408
845
145
586
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

WOW! Lovely being back after a year and good to see that the high standards are still in place. Equally happy to see the extremely professional Pratik has joined this hotel from another Delhi 5-star hotel that we used to stay in before The Leela. Good move. Breakfast is a treat and the staff friendliness is a big plus. I left a generous tip because the hotel has a shared tip policy which helps a lot. My experience with other hotels in this regard was not as good. Wish that I could remember more names because I'd love to dish out more kudos. The hotel is near the diplomatic enclave. Tip: This time we used a hotel taxi and it was worth the money. A BIG thanks to management for keeping up the standards. I look forward to returning. Our meal at The Library was excellent and they go over and above to please their guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank JburgSouthAfrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

We are on an extended business trip/holiday in India and the Leela Palace was where my husband had to attend a conference. I really wanted to stay at The Imperial so was disappointed when we were booked in here. Wow! did I soon change my mind. Right from the very start arriving from Dubai at 4 a.m were we met with such fantastic service and attention to every litlle detail. The room had everything you wanted and was extremely luxurious with lovely little touches like homemade biscuits and sweets under glass domes and a full bowl of good fruit. The bathroom was fantastic with 2 basins and a large, and very comfortable, bath with good products. The only slight irritant was the very weak hairdryer with no nozzle. Luckily my fast turbo hairdryer goes everywhere with me as I very rarely find one in any hotel!

Breakfast the next morning has to be one of the best we've both experienced. You can even choose your own juice which is made in front of you and the choice from the buffet is amazing with all the pastries and the coffee being of the highest quality. Can't really find fault here at all with such incredible staff in a beautiful hotel.

The position is probably not the best in Delhi and there are no grounds to walk around in, just a small garden with lovely f lowers. The rooftop pool had an amazing view over Delhi and was kept heated to 28 degrees which was good as it was quite cold when we were there.

We loved the bar which made incredibly good cocktails and had a very good atmosphere but did not get round to trying any of the restaurants . All in all we had a very good stay here and would certainly come back again when next in Delhi although we also love the Imperial so it would be a difficult choice!

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor. The view was just on the road. Maybe it is worth checking if there is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gertrudeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

With this review, I would like to reinforce all the positive reviews that have been given to this hotel in tripadvisor. The hotel is beautiful and elegant from the moment that you arrive. The staff are very attentive, helpful, and friendly. The room were we stayed was quiet, comfortable and elegantly decorated. This is among the best hotels where we have stayed in terms of elegance, overall experience, and amenities. The swimming pool is outdoors and has a great view of Delhi. Unfortunately, we did not use it as the weather was not optimal. We tried 3 of the restaurants and were pleased with the presentation and quality of the food at the Japanese (Megu) and Italian/French (Le Cirque) ones. The breakfast buffet is good but not very impressive as some other local hotels. We were surprised to receive a delicious chocolate cake at each restaurant when they overheard that we were celebrating a birthday. It was a really nice (and delicious) touch. We plan to be back to this hotel.

Room Tip: I do not believe that we got a "special" room. In fact we stayed in the third floor by the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I'm a seasoned traveller, and have stayed in many 4.5 - 5 star hotels and resorts. The Leela Palace has been one of the best hotels both my husband and I have stayed at to date. We didn't expect much coming to India, but the Leela superseded our expectations.
The rooms were extremely beautiful with gorgeous amenities - we just stayed in the deluxe room. The buffet breakfast was hands down the best we have encountered in India and rivaled some of the buffets we have had in Thailand / Australia.
The service was outstanding in all aspects.
The restaurants although Stunning and excellent food served, are quite pricey and there are a number of local restaurants in Connaught place that have equally as good food for a third of the price - however, in saying that - Megu restaurant served up some of the best Sashimi I have had.
The rooftop pool, which overlooks Delhi was heated and a lovely 28c when it was only 17c outside - beautiful. Overall - hands down one of the best hotels I have stayed at!!!!

Room Tip: We only got the Deluxe - Indian Beds are generally hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BecMchugh17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

difficult to beat this spot... service, decore, food qulaity, comfort, safety... all top notch. was here for a 3 day meeting on site, but also able to enjoy with my wife. the bar (Libary) classical comfort.. laid back for a nice "clenasing wiskey" to complete a long day. The breakfast spot (also serves lunch and dinner) was a FULL buffet... and if you don't find what you want... just ask and they will make it happen. the rooms were a mixture of contemporary, old india and "smart" antique furniture. Service from the entry, to the lobby to any of the resturants to the room... absolutely inpecable. I like to have a decent work out facility and this was among the better... honestly did not expect that much from a hotel of this level as most that stay here don't use it. Modern equipment and lots of options and space for working out. Has an incredible sushi resturant (I know... don't go to India for sushi, but this is worth it... believe me!!!)

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

The Leela New Delhi is a really good hotel. They are overly nice, to a somewhat annoying part, and the rooms are comfortable. As a forewarning, should you live in India and book the rooms by calling the hotel reservation line, it can be a frustrating process and my only criticism is of their process when one books a reservation through the phone. I have a corporate discount so I have to call the reservation number. I tell them I want a room with my corporate discount. They can not disclose the discount over the phone yet take your details and ask you then to send them an email from your company account, with your information and your credit card number. I do not provide my credit card number in emails which we went back and forth on a number of times. I then sent my email to them (without the credit card number) and they took close to 8 hours to respond. All worked out in the end but this was a frustrating process for my unique situation. This process is consistent with all Leela's in India.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamir_Kobrin, General Manager at The Leela Palace New Delhi, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
It is indeed unfortunate that you have had to deal with such a mediocre, to say the least, performance of our central reservations office. This is not the manner by which we would like you to have a first impression of the hotel and I have taken this up strongly with our outsourced reservations office. They will take the necessary steps to learn from this, improve and make the necessary changed that will facilitate a smooth reservations process. That is the ABC of an excellent hotel, my apologies, once again.

Tamir Kobrin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#5 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,313 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#7 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,628 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#14 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#1 of 704 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
4.6 mi away
JW Marriott Hotel New Delhi Aerocity
2.7 mi away
Taj Mahal Hotel
Taj Mahal Hotel
#6 of 704 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Property: The Leela Palace New Delhi
Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers in our luxury BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms up to 2 hours for its Royal Club guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing