We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and Inspiring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Leela Palace New Delhi
Ranked #1 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent and Inspiring”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I had the opportunity to spend the weekend at the Leela after a busy conference in Hyderabad. From the moment you're greeted at the tour, you know that this place is special. The decor, the courtesy and friendliness of the staff and the quality of everything in the place is first class.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gabrielperera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,387
    332
    72
    31
    15
See reviews for
504
994
171
684
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (496)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

Just got back after staying here for 10 days and this is the best place I have been lucky to stay at . Outstanding service , beds were heaven, bathrooms out of this world . Would never go on a budget in India again . Great place to ce back to after seeing all the sites and partying at night . Will be back

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liverbird69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I won't stress much the fact that Leela Palace is opulent on every single detail, from the facade to the lobby to the corridors of the club-floor. I'll take that for granted. What really impressed me was the warmth of the staff, that consistently (and apparently genuinely) goes the extra mile to help you. Take these few examples. I arrived at 3 A.M. but had a booking only for the following night (that is, I should be checking-in at 2 P.M. later that day). Seamlessly they were able to accommodate me and I was in the room about 5 minutes after I entered the lobby. In fact, I signed the check-in papers already in my room. On that same day at lunch my waiter went himself to the buffet and filled my plate with portions of different Indian dishes, then patiently explained me the etiquette on eating them. That was the same with desert! Mind you that being 39, from Brazil, wearing jeans and sneakers, I probably don't look like at all the typical habitué of a 5-star hotel...
And yes, the food was wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ0518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gypsum, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

My partner and I have just spent three nights at the Leela Palace, and I certainly can wholeheartedly recommend it as the Super Five Star property they aspire to be! Check in is quick and very courteous, featuring an introduction to the floor butler and a complete explanation of the room's many amenities. Breakfast, included in the room rate, is a superb mix of buffet and food cooked to order. The rooms themselves are spacious, immaculate, very comfortable, and quiet. The concierge team, led by Mr. Varun Mehta, goes way out of its way to be helpful and informative - they provide great service, on a par or better than any other five star hotel we have ever stayed at, anywhere! The rooftop infinity swimming pool, with a wonderful view of most of New Delhi, is a great sanctuary from a very busy and often noisy city. What a wonderful home base from which to experience New Delhi!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JulesLandsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This was my second visit to the Leela in Delhi and the first hotel I stayed at in a string of 10 on a recent business trip. After staying here it's all down hill as Leela sets the bar very high when it comes to luxury hotels. It is extremely hard to fault anything about the service, food or environment, unless you're not a lover of opulence, which Leela has in spades. I particularly love the flowers, where no expense is spared. As I was travelling alone, I appreciated the service and pleasant conversation offered by the team at Le Cirque, the 10th floor Italian restaurant. The food here is also excellent, and I will remember an amazing carrot and cardammon souffle for a long time to come.

During my stay there appeared to be a political summit happening with a Head of State staying at the hotel. This did cause an increase in security and involved guests having to use an alternative entrance. The staff handled this with their normal good grace, but the only drawback was the security guards in the hotel corridors who continued nosiy conversations through the night. As this was clearly a one-off I did not complain and managed to sleep through.

The hotel's location is reasonable for visiting most of the sights, and the Lodi gardens are very near by taxi. I'd also recommend the shopping in Hauz Khas village.

Despite the minor hiccup it would take a lot to disuade me from staying here again and again. Highly recommended for business or for pleasure - It really would be hard to go wrong with the Leela.

Room Tip: Even the standard rooms at the Leela are large, brilliantly appointed and fit for a king, so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DanBCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just got back from a week in Delhi. We stayed on the Royal Club level at the Leela Palace, and we can't say enough good things about the experience. The hotel staff consistently exceeded our expectations, and treated us like family the entire week. The room was great, the food excellent, staff was always ready to assist us. The Royal Club benefits gave excellent value. Every detail was executed in a superb fashion, from an early morning welcome to the surprise birthday cake, card, and champagne from the staff for our daughter. The staff was happy to recommend things to see and places to eat across the city. There was no heavy sell for the hotel restaurants, however we found them to be very good, if a bit pricey. All in all, we had an fantastic stay and would definitely return.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for the Royal Club level rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glattonfolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I've stayed in 5 stars in many parts of the world but this had the best service I've ever experienced. Truly top class, nothing overlooked, every need fulfilled. I've never been treated so well. Each floor has a butler there to help with your every request. I was at the rooftop pool reading emails on my phone while lying down, slightly lifting my head, and the pool guy comes over and puts a rolled-up towel behind my neck without asking. Ridiculous. So nice. I also had a good bottle of wine to take back with me and asked for bubble wrap. After returning from a meeting the bottle was perfectly wrapped and ready to go. I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelingMahesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
1.6 mi away
Taj Palace Hotel
Taj Palace Hotel
#6 of 715 in New Delhi
2,800 reviews
4.2 mi away
The Lalit New Delhi
The Lalit New Delhi
#39 of 715 in New Delhi
3,821 reviews
3.2 mi away
Le Meridien New Delhi
Le Meridien New Delhi
#17 of 715 in New Delhi
2,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Imperial Hotel
The Imperial Hotel
#12 of 715 in New Delhi
2,939 reviews
3.3 mi away
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
Shangri-La's Eros Hotel
#24 of 715 in New Delhi
2,744 reviews
4.7 mi away
Roseate House New Delhi
Roseate House New Delhi
#3 of 715 in New Delhi
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Leela Palace New Delhi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Leela Palace New Delhi

Property: The Leela Palace New Delhi
Address: Diplomatic Enclave | Chanakyapuri, New Delhi 110002, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Luxury Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#1 Spa Hotel in New Delhi
#3 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Leela Palace New Delhi 5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Leela Palace New Delhi at Chanakyapuri is located in the exclusive Diplomatic Enclave and has room sizes starting from 520 Sq ft. The hotel is close to the seat of government and houses four specialty restaurants and three bars, a multilevel spa with a fully equipped fitness center and the city's only rooftop temperature-controlled swimming pool. The hotel offers five complimentary food & beverage presentations round the clock, round trip airport transfers in our luxury BMW fleet and complimentary use of meeting rooms up to 2 hours for its Royal Club guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Leela Palace New Delhi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Leela Palace New Delhi Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing