We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly and great place - excellent for first timers”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #27 of 1,135 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

The owners here are fantastic - so friendly and relaxed, but extremely helpful with much knowledge not just about Delhi, but also much of India. I really enjoyed my stay here and would definitely recommend it. The stuffed parathas are worth it in themselves!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ravisomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiranSingh, Manage website at Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thankyou for such kind words.
We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards
Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

84 - 90 of 187 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is part of our India Journal:

We didn’t land in Delhi until 00h30 or half past midnight on the day of arrival in India but we had booked a hotel for the whole night in order to have somewhere to sleep when we arrived after a long journey from the USA. We chose the Aashiyan Bed and Breakfast, recommended by others on TA.

It was a good choice and turned out to be by far the best place we stayed at for comfort, hospitality and CLEANLINESS. “Clean” seems to have a different definition in much of India than in the west, especially where hotels are concerned. If this bothers you then you need to stay at the big international hotel chains but the big drawback of that is that you stay in big international hotel chains! In other words, no real experience of the country or culture. However, the Aashiyan was clean by western standards.

Anyway, the Aashiyan was simply wonderful and we give it our highest recommendation. If we were forced to come up with a negative, we’d point out that it is under one of the flight paths for the airport and the planes begin around 05h30. This didn’t bother us but bring earplugs with you anyway because you are going to need them in the other cities to dull the loud music, dogs, cows, goats, motorcycles and constant traffic horn blowing. Overhead aircraft were nothing in comparison! The Aashiyan is a relative paradise, believe us!

The owners are Kiran and JP Singh. Kiran was away in the USA seeing her brand new grandchild and JP had just come back. Chatting with JP was one of the highlights of the stay here. He is a very interesting gentleman and so easy to talk to. And he really is a gentleman.

He is a vegetarian, as are most Sikhs and as are Hindus. One of the stories he told us was of some vegetarian friends who brought up their dog to be vegetarian. Like JP, these friends have no hesitation cooking meat for guests but apparently the sight of meat or the smell of itcooking does not bother the dog – it has no apparent carnivorous leanings!

Another thing we learned from JP was how to prepare Darjeeling tea. I didn’t think anyone knew more about tea preparation than what I’d learned from my Mum - but I don’t remember her venturing into Darjeeling. The secret is to brew it not too strong (but still with all the usual pot warming routines), serve at after around four minutes and only add a few drops of milk maybe half a teaspoon for example. I had never liked Darjeeling in the past because it tasted awful when I made it to standard British strength with the usual British standard slug of milk. Now it was perfect refreshing drink! Note that you could also serve it with lemon juice.

Our second night was also spent at the Aashiyan. There we had an excellent meal along with another guest, a lady travelling on her own. JP and the always willing “boy”, Prakesh, who was actually a middle-aged man, cooked and served the multi-dish meal along with chapatis straight from the pan.

Then we went off touring for a couple of weeks and left some luggage at the hotel because we were stopping in freezing Paris and London before returning to the US and therefore had lots of extra clothes.

We returned to the Aashiyan to collect our luggage and to rearrange everything for flying. JP received us warmly and made a room available for us for several hours where we could work on our luggage, have a shower and lie down before our 02h30 (2:30 am) flight. Prakesh, the “boy”, carried our really heavy bags up the stairs so we could sort them out and brought us a pot of Darjeeling.

JP would not accept any payment for the use of the room – wonderful hospitality!

Room Tip: We only saw two rooms, both were good with nice en-suite bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yarmbutts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiranSingh, Public Relations at Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for such kind words. We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards
Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Aashiyan's in February 2013 - so sorry for the delayed review!

Our room was fantastic, clean and spacious and Mr JP Singh was an amazing host. His hospitality was second to none - not only cooking us beautiful food (even when we arrived at 7am after a long train journey), getting up at a crazy hour to make us tea and breakfast before our trip to the Taj Mahal, and helping us print off tickets and reservations he also arranged us a great taxi driver but most amazingly drove us to the train station when we found out an hour before our train that there was a taxi strike!

Location is great - a peaceful haven in a busy city (but close enough to not miss the action!)

Mr Singh was a true gentlemen, very knowledgable, a great cook and a brilliant driver in the madness of delhi! Their house is beautiful and we cannot wait to stay again!

You must stay here! Thank you so much
Paul and Katy

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnsteyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiranSingh, Public relations at Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for your kind words.
We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards
Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Again, I had the great pleasure of staying at Aashiyan Bed and Breakfast on my most recent trip to Delhi. As always, it was the perfect homebase to venture forth from in the morning and return home to in the evening. And one can also be completely assured that the gated community where Aashiyan is located is a safe haven, so a walk in the cool air before bedtime - in the park right in front of the house - is a wholly relaxing experience.

There was not a single need or wish that was not catered for so generously by Kiran, JP and the staff. And the well chilled glass of beer that waited for me at the end of a hot day was truly something to look forward to!

I also specially enjoyed learning so much about regional cuisine from Kiran who is extremely knowledgeable about North Indian cooking and eager to share her wonderful knowledge, and her enjoyment, of the ingredients and cooking methods that result in the most delicious dishes. I was very fascinated to learn about the fruit, herb and vegetable recipes that help us keep cool and healthy in the summer heat. These are true treasures of local knowledge. The green mango drink ‘Mango Panna’ was a delight!

This time, I was in Delhi later in the year, from end of April to mid-May, which of course brought higher temperatures. I really appreciated how pleasantly cool and well ventilated the house is, both during the day and at night. Desert coolers are marvelous inventions, that is for sure, blowing a cool gentle breeze throughout the house, and the air conditioners and fans did the rest. A wonderfully comfortable indoor climate was maintained as the temperature outside started to touch 40 degrees Celsius and more.

Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank latte_and_chai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiranSingh, manage the website at Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Thankyou for such kind words. We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards
Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Aashiyan for two nights at the end of a 16 night stay in various cities. We are so glad that we chose this homestay as it was wonderful. We had the room at the front with a large balcony overlooking the park.Everything about our stay was magnificent and I have not got vocabulary sufficient enough to praise fully the efforts by JP and Prakash (Kiran was away.) I became ill a few hours after arriving from Varanasi and the following day JP took my care into his own hands and provided very small special portions of food every two or three hours designed to help my recovery, sending Prakash out to market specially. JP is the kindest man you could ever hope to meet. The evening meals were excellent and very reasonably priced. JP and his team thoroughly deserve their "excellence" awards for the past two years. Thank you JP.

Room Tip: The front room on 1st floor with large balcony is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fernchlu_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiranSingh, Manage website at Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2013

Thank you for such kind words.
We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards
Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

New Delhi early morning in our friendly homestay. Fresh chai. Gentle light filters through the windows and the sound of birds and early morning park life calls. Feeling the adventure of a new day. Thus began my text message to a friend on Easter Day as I awakened to my first experience of India hosted by Aashiyan. My partner and I agree it couldn't have been a better start and finish to our Golden Triangle trip. J.P Singh, his household and dog, Cuddles, couldn't have made us more welcome!

Aashiyan is set in a south Delhi residential suburb only twenty minutes from the airport, historic sights and gardens, and half an hour from the centre. The host's hospitality make it even better than a hotel and from the moment we arrived we felt at home and comfortable. We were made to feel very relaxed with beverages provided, comfortable, clean and spacious accommodation, great food and useful information.

We'd definitely stay there again and recommend you do too!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CathyJ666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiranSingh, Manage website at Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2013

Thank you for such kind words. We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards
Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Mr Singh and his team ensured that our stay(s) were very enjoyable. Home cooked food was great value and in such quantities to feed an army. Beer is available. Rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. Plenty of towels, soap shampoo etc.
£2.00 in a motor rickshaw will get you to Connaught Place in the centre of Delhi, £4.00 there and back to the Parl Ballucho restaurant.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorks_tourer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KiranSingh, Manage website at Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2013

Thank you for such kind words. We look forward to hosting you again.

Regards
Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Saket
BnB Chrysalis
BnB Chrysalis
#10 of 1,135 in New Delhi
319 reviews
Saket
Grace Home
Grace Home
#9 of 1,135 in New Delhi
234 reviews
Nizamuddin
Eleven
Eleven
#8 of 1,135 in New Delhi
605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greater Kailash/Nehru Place
Bed and Chai Guest House
Bed and Chai Guest House
#22 of 1,135 in New Delhi
202 reviews
Saket
Tree Of Life
Tree Of Life
#4 of 1,135 in New Delhi
447 reviews
Thikana
#7 of 1,135 in New Delhi
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast

Address: B-133, Shivalik Enclave, | Panchsheel Geetanjali Road, New Delhi 110017, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 1,135 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range: $46 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Aashiyan Bed & Breakfast 1*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We warmly welcome you to Aashiyan Bed and Breakfast for a perfect stay and experience of a cosy Indian home. Aashiyan B&B is centrally located in Shivalik B Block, one of the finest residential areas in South Delhi. It is within a 20-30 mins drive from IGI airport, and a 7 mins walk to the Metro Station. Our B&B provides a true flavour of Indian hospitality where " Atithi " (guest) is considered above all, thus providing them with a warm friendly welcome, relaxed atmosphere and delicious home cooked Indian food. After all, that's what you want in a foreign land after hours of travel. Aashiyan is in a gated community that is bubbling with energy during the day but quaint at night. It is the perfect place to stay for couples, families, a group of friends, or the solo traveller. The B&B's location offers a safe environment for women around the clock. Free high speed Wi - Fi connectivity is available throughout the premises. We offer two clean, cosy, comfortable, well-ventilated and air-conditioned rooms with ensuite bathrooms (attached bathrooms) - and a delicious breakfast, Indian or Continental to your choice. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing