We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great host and Concierge”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tree Of Life

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Tree Of Life
Ranked #5 of 1,054 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
175 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 404 helpful votes
“Great host and Concierge”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights.The guest house is on the second floor and includes an elevator.Completely renovated large rooms.King size bed,large bathroom,nicely decorated room.The rooms have all the ammenities of a 4*hotel for the price of a B&B.NIce breakfast and community area with internet.Ashwani can plan all your touring activities.I used his car and driver service for 10 days and all my needs were provided at a very reasonable price.I visited every place i had planned to visit and i was treated to many other great attractions that i knew nothing about.SO IF YOU NEED A GREAT PRIVATE TRIP FROM SOMEONE WHO CAN HELP ASHWANI IS THE GUY.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brownfootedboobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    61
    2
    3
    0
See reviews for
90
147
45
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
230 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed here only one night in early November, because of an overbooking at another bed and breakfast run by the owner's mother. We were very impressed with Tree of Life and would definitely like to return. There is a lift, which was a pleasant surprise. Spotlessly clean, with nicely decorated large bedroom. Bed was comfortable. Enjoyed the cook-to-order Indian breakfast. There was a nice view from the balcony overlooking the street in the morning. The owner/manager was very helpful to us and several other guests, providing travel advice and information. Only a five minute walk to the metro, and on a quiet residential street, it could not have been in a better location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eramakri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

It's nice to have a place to head back to after a hectic day in Delhi that is calm, peaceful, and quiet. This place ticks all those boxes. Ashwani, the owner/manager, is very friendly and calm, and available whenever you need him. His English is superb. We were very late for dinner one night and he and his staff were accommodating and not at all upset! Phew! Very clean and quite comfortable. It's not a luxury property and when it's full it can be a little cramped in the public areas but what do you expect for being in a B&B in a big city? It's a bit far from the major sites but public transit and rickshaws are close by and readily available. There was a bit of confusion picking us up from the train station, because the drivers said they didn't have passes to get into the railway, but when we left the railway they entered it and drove right around to leave. I suggest having a phone that works in India if arranging a transfer from a railway station to the property. Ashwani wouldn't accept a tip when we left, so be sure to tip the staff for their good work along the way. Nice selection of India-centric DVDs and documentaries in the library area.

Room Tip: They all seem nice, but 101 I think is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gooserino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

I’ve been hesitant about writing this review, because it is like I am rating a friend or a family member. Yes, the rooms are clean. The staff is fantastic, providing just the right amount of attention and leaving you alone when you need some down time. The location really isn't that far away from everything, unless you're planning on walking. It absolutely feels like an oasis from the craziness of Delhi. Some of my favorite moments were waking up early, going out onto the deck of our room, and getting a glimpse of everyday life. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else. If you’re hesitating staying here for any reason, don’t. We arrived in Delhi at the start of our month long India trip. We were three women without much traveling experience. Ashwani went out of his way to make sure we felt safe and well taken care of. I am still embarrassed at the number of times he had to come to our rescue, even after we had left his home. To say he went above and beyond is an understatement, and he always did so graciously. If you’re looking for a safe place to land, somewhere you can let your guard down, among people you can trust, this is the place. It doesn't get any better than this.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Tree of Life was perfect for my solo trip to India! They were very accommodating and always on hand to help. I was recommended this through my tour company and had a lovely stay here, it was a great base for exploring Delhi. The room was nice and clean with a pleasant bathroom and English TV, a great place to relax after exploring during the day. Ashwani and his staff went out of their way to help me if I had any questions. Had a lovely breakfast every morning and with bottled water put in my room. The location of the hotel is within walking distance of the metro and to all the major sights in Delhi.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancesM648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

I chose Tree of Life from Trip Advisor to stay for the beginning & end of my 5 week stay in India. I am so glad I did. Ashwani arranged our airport pick-up, a blessing after a long flight! A short drive & we were there! To be greeted by staff member Krishna. Great room, comfortable bed, breakfast. When I awoke from my nap, Ashwani was available to answer any queries about Delhi, trains, car hire, guided tours etc. I found him to be an intelligent & considerate man. He is helpful & respectful of his guests, without being intrusive. We were within walking distance of the Metro, which we used for the whole time we stayed. It's fast, efficient, cheap & way to get around. The tour he suggested for the next day was excellent. The blessing for me, was that the staff were unobtrusive, allowing me privacy & a place to truly relax. But, as soon as I needed something, they were available. They were excellent cooks & readily met my particular requests. I really enjoyed my stay here & will return next time I am in Delhi.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

We were recommended by a friend to come here and we found it to be very pleasant . The owner is so helpful and his very pleasant . We were unwell at the time we came here and it was a good place to rest .Ashwani went out of his way to help us .We highly recommend this place as good value

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BronnieChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.7 mi away
Sheraton New Delhi
Sheraton New Delhi
#16 of 707 in New Delhi
1,404 reviews
10.1 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 707 in New Delhi
195 reviews
3.9 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 707 in New Delhi
2,673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn New Delhi / Saket
0.3 mi away
Saket Bed and Breakfast
Saket Bed and Breakfast
#2 of 1,054 in New Delhi
371 reviews
3.5 mi away
Colonel's Retreat
Colonel's Retreat
#4 of 1,054 in New Delhi
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tree Of Life? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tree Of Life

Property: Tree Of Life
Address: D - 193, New Delhi 110017, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Run with loving care and sensitivity by Suruchi, a teacher / practitioner of Yoga and Foot Reflexology, and Ashwani, a travel professional having his car rental agency featured in the Lonely Planet, Le guide du Routard, Footprint India, Love Delhi, Reise Know-How, etc. Furnished with large solid wood beds, in warm honey hues, sourced from Jodhpur, Rajasthan, each room features a 32" LCD TV. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tree Of Life reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tree Of Life Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing