We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hub in crazy Delhi”
Review of Wood Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Wood Castle
Ranked #22 of 736 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013

As our first time in Delhi and first time in India we found woodcastle the perfect hub to explore from. We stayed here for 3 nights and not only were the rooms really good value for money, clean, nicely decorated, but the staff were extremely friendly too. They can give you great advise on where to go and what to see and will look after you like family. Food is good too, great breakfast included in the price. If you need a driver, Kamal is the best, an absolute star. He knows his Delhi and will take you to places you wouldn't find in the lonely planet, without any alterier motive.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Topknot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed April 19, 2013

We found Wood Castle to be surprising at every turn, the staff we so helpful and genuinely friendly and completely not \what we'd expected after several quite harsh warnings not to trust anyone. These guys really do think of you like family! The rooms were big, spacious and good value and Kamal the driver was an absolute legend, the safest taxi driver in the whole of Delhi!! top marks

Room Tip: the three bed rooms are actually a double with an additional camp bed but it was comfy and a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hoola_lula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a marvellous hotel, small but perfect in every detail. Yes, it is difficult to find but, en route from the airport to the hotel, we rang the hotel from the taxi and handed the phone to the taxi driver so the hotel manager could give him precise directions. One of the staff even came to the end of the main street to guide the driver up the side street where the hotel was.

The day and night managers were delightful, extremely helpful and spoke excellent English. I would descibe the hotel as boutique, decorated in a modern western style, warm and friendly. Unsurprisingly, therefore, only international guests stay there. The bed was the most comfortable I slept in India on this trip. The bathroom is breathtakingly modern as it doubles as a walk-in shower. It also has its own water heater so you can have as much hot water as you want, when you want. One small criticism was that the air-conditioning was noisy, so, at night we turned it off and used the ceiling fan instead, which was much quieter and kept us cool enough.
You can have breakfast at any time of the day or night. We heard one couple who had an early flight to catch, ordering theirs for 4am.
Wifi is only available in reception but it was cosy there on the big sofas. Reception is also the social hub of the hotel where you can chat with the manager or other hotel guests. There's also a small workstation where you can print out your boarding pass.
The hotel is situated about a 10min walk from the metro, and a big shopping street with lots of restaurants in it. It's also about 30mins from the airport, and the hotel arranged a taxi to take us to the airport at a very reasonble rate of 500 IR.
We were only there one night but when I visit Dehli again I will certainly stay at this hotel. Stayed there 28.03.13, travelling with friend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikekd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I would recommend Wood Castle to anyone looking for a place to stay in Delhi. The staff are lovely, and nothing was too much trouble for them. When we were looking for a place to eat out, they suggested a wonderful restaurant just a five minute walk away, and one of the staff members escorted us there and said to call them if we needed anything. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and I enjoyed the breakfast provided each morning. Our taxi driver had some trouble finding it, so as suggested previously, I would arrange for the hotel to pick up from wherever you are arriving from.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MazzlesJ91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Very clean! Modern! Nice rooms! Big washroom! Hot water all day long! A/C!

5 minutes walk from the metro station. Safe area!
30 minutes in tuktuk to Red Forth and to airport (150 rupees).

Taxi drivers may have difficulty to find the hotel. Located in a small street with no adress. Bring the map on the website of the hotel and the phone number to reach the staff if necessary (mostly if you arrive at night).

When you arrive, they welcome you with juice/tea and cookies. Free breakfast (bananas, toasts with jam, eggs or omelet, coffee, juice).

The restaurant is also very good for lunch/supper.

Free wifi but only at reception or at the restaurant.

Manager and staff are very nice and understanding.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emzie0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff here are lovely especially party boy who is always eager to assist you in finding a party if you so desire. There is also a lovely restaurant close by which has live Hindi music at the weekend. The room was perfect and clean. It was no problem for us to leave our bags when we went to Amritsar and they waited for hours at the station for us when the train was delayed (sorry we couldn't find you!). Breakfast is an added bonus, made to order either omelette or Indian style breakfast. I would definitely return. Only not giving 5 stars because it is a bit tricky to find so I would advise arranging for them to pick you up on arrival in Delhi.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annat2700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

Maybe I was beat down after a 20 hour train ride, but this place was great. Our cab had some trouble finding it, but we were happy when we arrived. Clean and comfortable rooms, friendly and engaging staff, on site restaurant that accommodated our early morning departure, and at a reasonable price. What more could I ask for.

Also, we made some friends on our train ride. They didn't have a place to stay in Delhi, so we turned them on to Wood Castle. I called and got them the last room. They were pleased enough to stay a couple of days.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ynnub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle Grand
#11 of 736 in New Delhi
221 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#39 of 736 in New Delhi
1,203 reviews
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#43 of 736 in New Delhi
801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Amax Inn
#21 of 736 in New Delhi
782 reviews
Hotel City Star
#27 of 736 in New Delhi
1,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Castle

Address: 8A/7G WEA, Channa Market, | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#17 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#29 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range: $38 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wood Castle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the area of karol bagh in new delhi,Karol bagh is the centerally located i.e. heart of delhi. karol bagh is 16km from international airport, 12km froom domestic airport & 3km from new delhi railway station.We are quality focused,great in service,one of the three star amenities rooms.We have super deluxe rooms with EUROPEAN styles,with contemporary comforts to create a luxurious ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Wood Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Castle Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing