We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor night's rest, all my enthusiasm out the window for this place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wood Castle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Wood Castle
Ranked #13 of 705 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Poor night's rest, all my enthusiasm out the window for this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

Returned to Wood Castle a month after our December stay and it was the pits. We were given a room on the first floor: if you stay here, make sure to request an upper floor room. The manager in the lobby watches the television until late at night, and the blare from it, and his conversation with his various employees, kept us up for hours. Found the guys who ran the place to be downright rude, and quite unhelpful. I wouldn't stay here again, but would look for another spot in Karol Bagh, as it's a decent neighborhood, away from the hustle-bustle of the train station and Chandi Chowk, but still quite central and near the metro.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, be sure to request a room on the upper floors....
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hodgepodge17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    730
    259
    75
    19
    14
See reviews for
135
376
160
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We booked Wood Castle on the basis of reviews and were very pleased that we did. Great place to stay in the real Delhi residential neighbourhood with mix of houses, people and restaurants and nearby local market. We felt safe walking in the evenings out for a meal, with less touting etc than in tourist areas. What was so good was the welcoming and helpful attitude of the staff, the complimentary wifi and tea at any time, help with a driver for a day, and the cleanliness of the rooms. The simple cooked breakfast was all we needed. We recommend this haven, despite barking dogs at times ...earplugs worked ....Value for money is better than other hotels we stayed in in Delhi and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be lighter, but we did not mind our spacious ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Wood Castle was one of my best hotel experiences during my 3 months travels in India. I must admit that even though the high rating on TripAdvisor, my experience went far beyond my high expectations.
It is located in a very nice and quiet neighborhood, only 10 minutes walking to the Metro station and very close to the charming Channa Market, a place that deserves a visit.

Every single member of the staff working here is passionated and happy to help in every detail they can…After a 8 hours flight, we were greeted warmly and escorted to our room, even though it was only 07:00 a.m. They are fantastic, polite and very kind.

Our bright room was big, well decorated, extremely clean and equipped with air-cooling system. The bathroom has also a good size and the shower provided hot water 24 hrs. with a great high pressure, although one of my favorite things about the room, was the bed. It was incredibly comfortable and I got the best sleep in 3 months. A big screen cable TV with plenty of english channels was the icing on the cake!

The breakfast is included and could not have been better, with 3 different choices of breakfast. They also offer lunch and dinner, and it is as good as you can expect. Doesn't matter at what time you go for breakfast, the staff always make sure it is freely made.

The hotel arranged a car service for a daily tour. The driver spoke excellent English and gave us a wonderful guided tour of the city. The price was even more reasonable than other agencies we asked before.

I can't recommend Wood Castle warmly enough. I would not hesitate to stay here again, if back in Delhi, and would happily recommend to anybody interested in a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrGud25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

I've been in Delhi 4 times and always used Wood Castle...The place is amazing and you can not ask for any better. It is really a home away from home, and that is how the staff make you feel!
It is located in a very nice, safe and quiet area, within 10 minutes walking from Karol Bagh Metro Station, which links to Connaught Place in 10-15 minutes.
Everything is super clean, the rooms as well as the whole building. The rooms have a good size, with all the amenities, the bathroom is big and the shower has a really good hot water pressure...
The staff is awesome; they are always there for helping you out with any request. Breakfast is included and it is so yummy and tasty: fresh fruits, cereals, toasts, eggs, butter, jam...
Can not say enough of this hotel! Give it a try, you will not be sorry.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank caterina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Wood Castle. The room was clean, the bed comfortable and best of all there was a heater and an electric blanket that we used as it was quite cold in Delhi when we were there. The breakfast was also good.
The hotel arranged a driver for us and he was just amazing. His name is Mohan, he took us to see all the sights. Really knowledgeable, with good English and a great driver. He also introduced us to some very tasty street food, we saw things with him we would never have found on our own. If you book a driver here ask for Mohan he's just lovely.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GillJezz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

If you are looking for an excellent mid-range hotel in Delhi, this is the place to go. The rooms are clean, comfortable, include satellite tv, shower with warm water, mini-bar, etc. Even better, the staff is very friendly, reliable and helpful. Just to give an example, at the beginning of our journey we bought lots of pottery in Jaipur. Our driver - which by the way we booked in this very hotel and we were very satisfied with him - brought the pottery back to Wood Castle for safeguarding, so that we could enjoy our trip in India without having to carry the stuff around with us. After 1 month we returned to Delhi before going back to Switzerland. Wood Castle delivered the package in perfect condition. Thanks again! Wood Castle is the top choice in Delhi!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

We had agreat stay at wood castle. Really nice place and clean ,comfortable and value for money. The room are cute and nice despite the location ..we have our dinner and breakfast at hotel itself. We dont have to go out looking food. We have full rest after travelling the whole day. The staff are very friendly and helpful.... Looking forward to come here again.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Siraj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Wood Castle Grand
#2 of 705 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#46 of 705 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#29 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Hotel City Star
#17 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Shanti Home
#4 of 705 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Castle

Property: Wood Castle
Address: 8A/7G WEA, Channa Market, | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#28 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#29 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wood Castle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the area of karol bagh in new delhi,Karol bagh is the centerally located i.e. heart of delhi. karol bagh is 16km from international airport, 12km froom domestic airport & 3km from new delhi railway station.We are quality focused,great in service,one of the three star amenities rooms.We have super deluxe rooms with EUROPEAN styles,with contemporary comforts to create a luxurious ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Wood Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Castle Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing