We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A bit of sunshine in Delhi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wood Castle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wood Castle to your Saves list
Wood Castle
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8A/7G WEA, Channa Market, | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
FLAT OFFERS
Ranked #7 of 691 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
alberta
Level Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“A bit of sunshine in Delhi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Three of us stayed in Delhi 3 nights, even though the city itself leaves a lot to be desired, this hostel is a bit of bright sunshine. The staff are so friendly, helpful, honest and very hard working. We were there during record cold temperatures and one of us was sick with a very bad cold, the staff brought up a great heater without us asking, and the next day one of the boys went to the Pharmacy for us to get cold supplies. The food was very good, prices a bit high, but nice homey atmosphere to eat in. Room was small and cramped for 3 of us, but we managed, overall a great stay and we would return, if we ever HAVE to return to Delhi. Good location, but it is 20 minutes to Metro not 5--by walking.

Room Tip: If more than 2 of you, ask for a bigger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crossdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    225
    65
    19
    13
See reviews for
116
345
156
66
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aurangabad
Level Contributor
59 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We somehow found a good place to stay in Delhi as this was by chance we entered the hotel , It was really a good experience as the stay was very comfortable and the rooms too were very neat and clean. The staff too was very interesting and cooperative. It is really a good place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank pratap48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I stayed at the Woodcastle for 2 nights and was very impressed with the place. The rooms are excellent - very spacious with lots of light and all amenities. The location is brilliant in the karol,bagh and its very easy to travel using local transport (rickashaws, Metro etc). Its very safe and there are several good restaurants close by. The best part was the stellar hospitality of People there. They're very warm and friendly and provided us with very good advice regarding places to visit, restaurants, shopping, etc .staff were very helpful to make our stay comfortable by arranging our transportation, helping us to log on and connect to PC/Internet, and by providing information about Delhi shopping and site-seeing
The food is excellent as well. Great breakfast and to be honest I was really surprised at both the variety and the quality of the food.

This is a terrific Place and I would definitely stay there again when I'm in Delhi next.

Room Tip: our room was very clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dorta m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Island, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We started and finished our 3 weeks in India with woodcastle people, the four nights we stayed here were the perfect start and end to our wonderful trip.

This was my second time in Delhi, I wasn't particularly looking forward to this part of the trip, but now I can’t wait to go back!

This was all thanks to javid, at woodcastle, from the minute we arrived to the minute he left and made us feel at home, he was a fantastic, kind and caring person. The accommodation was perfect, the rooms were spacious and clean and the showers were brilliant!

We had breakfast each morning and the food was among st some of the best we experienced during our trip. (Especially the Aloo Partha!)

Every morning and evening we would have a nice chat with javid, He would kindly take the time to give us tips and advice and ask what sort of things we liked, he would then write up a list of things that she thought we would like to see and do each day, his recommendations were spot on, we visited some great shops and ate in some great places, that without javid would have been difficult to find.

I can’t recommend Woodcastle enough and look forward to visiting again soon!

Thanks javid!!!

Room Tip: Rome no 201 we stayed was beautiful, we love he room and was very clean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grove s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wood Castle is an ok hotel in terms of the standard of the room but the staff have no respect for women and need to learn how to treat female guests properly.

My experience as a single female traveller were as follows:
- hotel is run by men who hang around in the basement reception area and look at you in a very sleazy way all of the time, there are no female staff here (despite the reviews that say there are). One of them kept trying to touch my arm whenever I was near him and I ended up avoiding the reception area as much as possible
- staff pressure you to take their tours, which are over-priced and i wouldn't have felt safe doing if the drivers were of the same calibre as the hotel staff
- rooms are basic, but at least clean, but I couldn't sleep as there were dogs barking outside all night. I have no idea why reviews mention '5-star quality', there was nothing above 3-star quality here, and that's being generous!
- breakfast consists of basic toast and stale cornflakes
- hotel is located down a narrow, unlit street, not that safe for going out after dark on your own, rickshaw drivers also have trouble finding it

Overall I didn't feel comfortable staying at Wood Castle. The price was ok for a basic room, definitely 2-star adn no more, but the staff really put me off and made my stay unpleasant to say the least.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
25 Thank 927Melissa_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here in oct for about 5 nights in total. We had booked an airport pickup which was great after our long flight. When we arrived at the hotel we were greeted by the very friendly bunch of staff who treated us so well throughout our stay and made us feel so welcome. The food is amazing!!!!
We booked a trip through the hotel which was excellent value for money, we had the best driver!! He looked after us and even taught us some useful Hindi!!

The hotel is about 10 minute walk from a cool market which unfortunatley we only discovered on our last day!!
Didn't feel unsafe atall in the area.

WHEN we return to Delhi we will definatley be staying with our new friends at woodcastle.
Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurablabla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The service at Wood Castle was very poor quality. Over a period of 3 days it was consistently poor and I was even tempted to change hotels.

Such an example of the bad service was:

I asked if the main person at reception could recommend any places to eat, he just said go for a walk near by, you will see for yourself.

Whenever I needed something, such as a map, food/beverage I felt like I was asking a favour. This made me feel that I could not request the services on offer.

There were also unnecessary comments made repeatedly by staff, in a very condescending manner.

Also, the 'continental breakfast' consisted of some toast and 2 eggs in a bowl.

Despite the lets downs, the room was actually pretty good (i.e. clean and a good shower) but no wifi inside the room. If you wanted wifi you had to go down to the 'basement' reception area where 3-5 of the staff loitered awkwardly around.

The poor attitude of the staff and average food baffles me as to why this place is highly rated. I am sure there are better places to stay in Delhi, it does not deserve the 4/5 (very good rating).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jack c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
4.4 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#1 of 691 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
6.5 mi away
Shanti Home
Shanti Home
#4 of 691 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,068 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel City Star
Hotel City Star
#15 of 691 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
Suncourt Hotel Yatri
#14 of 691 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 stars 665 reviews
2.1 mi away
bloomrooms @ New Delhi Railway Station
4.5 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#2 of 691 in New Delhi
5.0 of 5 stars 2,116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wood Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wood Castle

Property: Wood Castle
Address: 8A/7G WEA, Channa Market, | Karol Bagh, New Delhi 110005, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in New Delhi
#14 Best Value Hotel in New Delhi
#26 Romantic Hotel in New Delhi
#29 Family Hotel in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Wood Castle 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in the area of karol bagh in new delhi,Karol bagh is the centerally located i.e. heart of delhi. karol bagh is 16km from international airport, 12km froom domestic airport & 3km from new delhi railway station.We are quality focused,great in service,one of the three star amenities rooms.We have super deluxe rooms with EUROPEAN styles,with contemporary comforts to create a luxurious ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Wood Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wood Castle Hotel New Delhi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing