We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Average Business Traveller hotel”
Review of Iris Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Iris Park Hotel
Ranked #145 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very Average Business Traveller hotel”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Since it's in Posh South Ex - it's got a hefty price tag. Nothing wrong with the hotel other than it's super average - from food, to service to the Wi-Fi speed.

Breakfast Buffet was same almost every day and the 'good' coffee was extra (paid).

Rooms are strictly okay. Once we booked a triple occupancy and they forgot about the 3rd bed till midnight and kater force fitted it into the room - after removing all the chairs and coffee table! Was super uncomfortable - Just book another room!

There's a lot of options available in the Safdarjung area and while this look Swanky, there's no other reason to repeat.

Room Tip: Dont. Find a cozy BnB and stay there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pookiepdia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aashishkr, General Manager at Iris Park Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
We are posting the response to this review delayed due to a tragedy that occurred with one of our team members, without interviewing whom, this investigation would not be deemed complete.

A few points that need clarification:

The guests were booked by our corporate client after due negotiations for a marriage function and hence the 'hefty price tag' is not a point that merits any discussion as the tariff was neither discussed with the guests of the host nor was the guest expected to pay anything other than any optional extras.

The good coffee alluded to as extra is clearly displayed on the table top cards as well as in the menu cards. So the same is not served with any hint of a projection as though it were complimentary and later charged for.

The guest was personally shown the rooms in the East Wing where it was, before check in, informed to her that as a standard practice, only the West Wing Rooms could accommodate an extra bed and the request for an extra bed in the East Wing Rooms would necessitate removal of the coffee-table and chairs.

The guest, now fully aware, agreed to the same as she liked only the East Wing room. Hence, the projection of inconvenience is also not correct as facts were made very clear to her before she checked-in.

The establishment is stated to be in posh South Ex. in the first line of the review. We clarify that it ought to read as Safdarjung Enclave, where the hotel is actually located.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    76
    42
    3
    5
See reviews for
25
10
16
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Oh god, I got a chance to stay at The Park Hotel, Chennai and Delhi. They put me in room where all the bathroom & Bedroom fittings were filthy and rusty. There were water seepage everywhere inside the bath room. Floor trap cover is rusty. Toilet seat cover fittings are rusty and filthy. Cieling is about to fall and the paint is pealed off due to water leak. Lights weren't working. A/C was noisy. I was unable to touch the wash basin mixer as it was black in colour. The bedsheet and the bed room were smelling. Overall it was terrible and I don't want to stay there anymore. How a hotel can put a client in this kind of a room.

Helpful?
Thank Manoj G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aashishkr, General Manager at Iris Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
I have read your review and would like to share that it seems that this is erroneously posted to the wrong hotel.

The Park Hotel and Iris Hotel, Kalkaji New Delhi and Iris Hometel Harinagar New Delhi are all establishments with a similar name.

As your review mentions The Park Hotel, Delhi and Chennai, I state that we have no branch in Chennai.

Also, I have personally checked all records from a fortnight before your date of review and have checked and photographed rooms that were occupied by persons with initials having any similarity to your username on this website.

I have not come across any rusty, black colored bath fittings, rusty floor traps, not have I come across any ceilings peeling off.

Even the AC, being a VRV Type III (Central Cooling style) unit, has no chance of being noisy.

Also, no guest that we have experienced will, once shown into a room such as you describe, will continue to even stay for a minute, let alone endure such a room for a night and not report his discomfort to the Management then and there.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I just loved this hotel! The rooms are modern , clean and very well equipped with amenities.
The hotel staff is very kind. Free Internet access (two computers).
Breakfast is complete and good quality of the food.
It is located near the embassies area. Safe place.
I stayed 3 nights at the IRIS PARK with a friend.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aashishkr, General Manager at Iris Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you for choosing Iris Park Hotel for your stay and for taking time out to write a review.

One is glad that your experience was a pleasant one and your stay a safe one.

Yes, some of our hotel's biggest positive points are the fact that we offer around-the-clock- F&B Service, maintain our own cars and are located very conveniently close to the Embassy Area (Diplomatic Enclave - Chanakyapuri)

We look forward to serving you again soon.

Aashish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Dear friends this was my second stay at this hotel in last 4 months. The first visit was for 5 days with my manager for a business trip and then now with my family for one week. As usual in April it was intolerable heat outside and had tough time managing sightseeing but we still did it. The plus point was this hotel where we stayed. Its a small hotel in residential area , away from busy markets or old Delhi. With family we didnot want any area dangerous or intimidating. After these horrifying incidents which we read and hear every day in news paper I was worried but this particular hotel has that advantage of good location, good connectivity, good people and safety.

Rooms are bit small but neatly maintained. Good AC and good room service. Breakfast was a little disappointment. There was hardly any change in the menu. Sometimes we felt that are they serving yesterday's left over or what ( of course food was freshly made )? Instead of fresh fruit juices they kept canned fruit juices which are sugar syrups and no nutritional value except empty calories. if they improve breakfast a little, it will help.

Front desk is OK and helpful. They had arranged pick-up and drop so we were happy. With kids and family you donot want to be hassled by rough taxi / auto drivers.

Hotel manager is a nice person and that was something really noticeable. He greeted us personally everyday and recognized that it was our second visit. One day while we were leaving for sightseeing in the morning he advised us that it will be very hot by the time we reach some points and we should carry enough bottles of mineral water and he himself brought 3 bottles and insisted that we take them, complimentary !! That was a real nice gesture and made us feel at home.

All in all a very satisfactory stay and we will definitely come back. A small suggestion though, that they should improve on Breakfast menu ( especially guests with family would appreciate that ) and if they can offer some welcome drink, especially in hot season it will be great !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jalananil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aashishkr, General Manager at Iris Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Jalan,

Thank you for taking time out to post that very detailed review.

Yes, one remembers one's very brief interaction with you and being health conscious oneself, one gets into the habit of asking those around to remain hydrated, specially in your case as you were going for a sightseeing visit at the onset of what still is a very hot summer.

I would like to apologize that you weren't offered our best welcome drink yet. In Summers, we offer a very traditional "aam panna" that is, perhaps, the most ideal for such weather for guests stepping in from the heat.

I will make sure that you try it on your next visit (in Summer).

Though we shifted to the best branded fruit juices, I know what you mean by empty calories. Regrettably, one cannot offer freshly extracted fruit juices as one needs to operate with a very thin staff, owing to the format of the services. One of the less healthy beverages seems to be a great favourite and is actually demanded by most of our guests, hence, we replaced the branded juice with it, something that you noticed. This Winter, we will be offering two tetra-pack based juices with the fruit flavoured, very popular, though less healthy option.

Our aim is to offer Iris Park as a full-service, low-cost option with least gimmicks with least fluctuation in tariff to the guest who is looking for an option that is not only central in location, but offers a degree of safety with a reliable team.

The Iris Park guest should not have to think twice about a freshly cooked meal in case his flight landing is delayed to midnight, or standing in line for cab at the airport.

Again, I extend my thanks to you for giving us an opportunity to be of service and I wish you a better experience on your next visit.

Best wishes,

Aashish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights.. Good Hotel in this location (safdarjung enclave).. Property seems to be old however not major problems.. Like any hotel located in prime location, rooms are relatively small to have more rooms in the property.. Breakfast is ok but not great.. Maybe just value for money with no intention for WOW effect.

Sleep was distracted due to once in a while traffic noise ..

Room Tip: Take rooms away from road side ..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sai9701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aashishkr, General Manager at Iris Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Sai,

Thank you for choosing Iris Park Hotel for your stay and taking time to post a review.

Yes, one agrees that the rooms, (the largest being around 230 sq ft.) may not be considered large, however, this decision to have a certain number of rooms is normally taken once financial feasibility studies are conducted as to the break-even period that a hotel in this location ought to take.

The Hotel is divided into two Wings. The West Wing was operable after mid 2009 and the East Wing was ready for operations after December 2010.

At Iris Park, each room of the hotel gets at least two coats of paint in one year. Hence, one cannot put a fixed date to the last renovation as this is an ongoing process.

Also, you allude to the WOW effect being absent. We aim to position Iris Park as a clean and hygienic establishment that offers a freshly cooked meal way beyond standard serving hours, its own modest fleet of well maintained cars and attendants around the clock.

Given that we were to embrace the concept that you mention, being subjective as it is understood to be, it would, but naturally, have certain cost implications and the end-user would have to bear the same. Also, most such themes are short lived and often require more capital / cost inputs with time. Hence, unless the senior management / owners see the financial feasibility of such a change, one regrets that we shall continue to operate as a value-for-money, full-service establishment, serving the needs of the price conscious business and leisure traveler.

Thanking you, once again.

Regards,

Aashish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

For my sister wedding we had booked this hotel for her in-laws and our family member’s accommodation for a week, they were very happy with the hospitality, food, room service and transportation. They have also mentioned that the food was multi-cuisine and was just adequate and quite tasty. As per our convenience hotel management booked complete floor for us, it was very genres of them. Size of rooms was good with double bed. I liked the room's décor. Room furnishing and the bathroom was modern, nice and very clean. Hotels free Wi-Fi facility was amazing. Had a good banquet hall and was perfect for hosting 40-50 guests also they have in-house cafe serves Continental, Indian and Chinese dishes. Cab facility was very good. I found the staff was vey friendly, helpful and polite. Location of hotel is very good; we can hike to local market. Also shopping places like Ansal Plaza & South Ex part 1 & 2 and also very near to Airport and New Delhi Railway station. I would recommend if you're visiting Delhi, especially south Delhi and are looking for somewhere convenient to stay that provides the facilities of home, Iris Park Hotel located in Safderjung Enclave could be the answer.

Room Tip: All rooms are good and fully AC, 1 can choose near by elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soanand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aashishkr, General Manager at Iris Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Soanand,

Thank you for taking time out to post a rather extensive review.

One is glad to learn that your guests seem to have enjoyed their stay and that the entire effort made by the team of the hotel went well-noticed.

Thanking you and looking forward to hearing from you and your guests.

Aashish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed there for one night. I was looking for a hotel near Chanakyapuri area and found this one to be conveniently located. I had asked for a airport transfer, the car they sent was good. The cost for this car was quite expensive when compared to local cab. But then the hotel car is preferred since the location of the hotel is a bit inside. I was unable to see much around the hotel as it was a late night arrival and early morning departure. The staff was courteous, and house keeping was prompt. I had booked a double bed hotel. The room was in general clean. I had some issues with finding the switch for some of the lights. There was no hot water in the morning, but they sent a guy up and resolved that in few minutes. The breakfast was multi-cuisine and quite tasty, in particular the aloo-paranthas.
Will definitely book this hotel if I am looking for one in that area.

Room Tip: My room was on 3rd floor, first left off the elevator, first room. The window was looking onto a bla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suyash_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aashishkr, General Manager at Iris Park Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Suyash,

Thank you for choosing Iris Park Hotel to serve you and for taking out time to post the review.

Apologies for the unintended and avoidable delay in responding.

One is pleased to know that you had a reasonably pleasant experience at Iris Park and though not a perfect one, whatever hiccups you encountered, they were solved promptly and to satisfaction.

One agrees that the Car service provided is slightly expensive, though unintended to be so. This is because we operate exclusively for the guests and as opposed to other commercial cabs, are not permitted seamless uninterrupted parking at the Airport. If, however, you were to hire our cars for local / inter-city running (New Delhi - NCR) you would find them actually 30% cheaper than the new commercial services launched recently by some well-known operators.

Ours is one of the few establishments in this grade of the hospitality industry that offers food freshly cooked into the very late hours of the night keeping in mind the late arrivals of our guests as well as very early morning in-room breakfasts for those having early morning departures.

We would like to get more chances to serve you again so that one may have the honour to personally show you around the hotel, something that wasn't possible for you during your last visit. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hauz Khas
Shreyans Inn
Shreyans Inn
#167 of 715 in New Delhi
58 reviews
The Ashtan Sarovar Portico
#97 of 715 in New Delhi
361 reviews
Hauz Khas
Deer Park Villa
Deer Park Villa
#137 of 715 in New Delhi
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauz Khas
Hotel Park Residency
Hotel Park Residency
#458 of 715 in New Delhi
61 reviews
Hauz Khas
Hotel Africa Avenue
Hotel Africa Avenue
#498 of 715 in New Delhi
99 reviews
Hauz Khas
Hotel Zara Grand – Green Park
Hotel Zara Grand – Green Park
#443 of 715 in New Delhi
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iris Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iris Park Hotel

Property: Iris Park Hotel
Address: A-1/23&-24 | Safdarjung Enclave, New Delhi 110002, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Hauz Khas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Iris Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Iris Park is conveniently located within Safdarjung Enclave, a short walk from Bhikaji Cama Place and an 7 km (4 mile) drive from Nehru Place. We are located about 10 kms (7 miles) from Connaught Place, the heart of the city. It offers comfortable, eco-friendly rooms with an LCD TV and Wi-Fi Connectivity. The 55 Rooms at the Iris Park Hotel have comfortable beds and have ample work space. A refrigerator is provided for the convenience of guests. Iris Park has an on-site cash machine and business centre. A concierge provides information on local attractions. Other services include car rental, travel desk and laundry. The in-house cafe serves Continental, Indian and Chinese dishes. Iris Park is a 15-minute drive from the Indira Gandhi International Airport (Domestic Terminal), 20 minute drive from the International Terminal and a 20-minute drive from the New Delhi Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Iris Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing