We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blood Stains on the Bed Linen-Africa Avenue, Safdarjung Enclave”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Africa Avenue
Ranked #498 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Blood Stains on the Bed Linen-Africa Avenue, Safdarjung Enclave”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

Only thing good about this hotel is its location, rest all is bogus, 'dilli type'. I stayed alongwith one of our foreign guests, experience was terrible. Bed linens were not cleaned and they contained "blood stains on them...." also Wi-Fi internet service was not working and the manager was trying to fool us around in typical Delhi style.....we got frustrated just after 10 mins we entered this hotel.

Breakfast was just a formality.......which they wanted to fulfill.....no choices....just few slices of sandwiches and you have to compulsorily eat Puri-Bhaji, which was also not good in taste......breakfast area seemed like a Godown area (store house), not at all clean........this is waste of money.

Rooms are also not properly lit, there is very few lighting, they are dark, ok if you like to live in dark places :-) TV doesn't work properly, if you are used to moving images then ok, but ofcourse on paper they have FLAT LCD TVs mentioned...

Will never recommend this hotel to anyone, unless you don't find anything else in the vicinity.

We changed the room next day morning itself.

Room Tip: Take roadside rooms, at least in morning you will get sunlight in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mvpandey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    28
    43
    10
    12
See reviews for
10
29
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

This is a overpriced budget hotel.I stayed there for 3 nights as it was convenient for me to travel to my business area .the hotel is clean but old and the single rooms are very small.the bathroom fittings were all loose and the tasteless breakfast very limited..The cleaning staff hang around the reception area which is not appealing to visitors.The tariff is absolutely ridiculous for such a hotel cheaper better hotels close by .Definately will never stay there again or recommend anyone

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SKYErain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New Delhi hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Conveniently located hotel close to Bikaji Cama place and ring road. Hotel rooms are neat, clean and comfortable. Though Breakfast is complimentory items are very very few to choose from. They have to improve their dining hall and quality of food. There is lot of scope to improve, with the locational advantage this can turn our to be sought after hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank miahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delhi
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

This hotel is located just across the road to Bhikaji Cama Place, one of the popular business district of Delhi. So if you have business there, you save a lot on time and money on transport. I stayed there because, my rich American colleague stayed at 'Hyatt Regency", which is almost next door. The hotel is a good night sleeping place, with small rooms (it is bangalow converted into a hotel, which earlier was perhaps head office of TRAI). It can be stuffy, if you get a room with no window. Skimpy breakfast is served in morning on rooftop. I would not stay here, if I had more money.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anilsaxena99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
372 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I was travelling with a large group to India, Delhi was our first port of call. We had a morning flight to catch to Srinagar, the tour organized for us to stay in this hotel for a few hours to catch some sleep. It was a 30 min drive from the airport to the hotel. It didn't look very impressive on the outside, but once inside, I was relieved to find that this hotel is quite ok. Decor was minimal but tasteful. The best part was the room, It is fairly clean, had a good bathroom (good water pressure, seat toilet and hot shower) and very comfortable bed, all made for a good short nap. Breakfast was ok too, with a small selection of westeren and indian. Do go for the Indian choice, it's more tasty I think. There's nothing worth seeing outside of the hotel, one will only use it as a refreshment stop before going elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_speranza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights on arrival in Delhi at the end of the Commonwealth Games and our room was ready on arrival at 0330 am.

The room was fine, staff were pleasant, bed reasonably comfortable and it wasn't too noisy.

Breakfast was served in the restaurant on the roof and was fine.

We have been to Delhi several times before so would possibly look for a small hotel with a pool next time but if it is your first visit and you are out sightseeing most of the day it would be a good choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveller1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

It was a business trip, so a central location was important. Africa Avenue was a perfect fit in that sense. Functional. Serves its purpose. The rooms are way too tiny. I'm slightly built so I can manage. Had a visitor who wasn't and the room felt like a prison cell. Didn't eat, so can't tell about the quality of food. Don't think it had any facilities as such. Members of the staff were very courteous. When my taxi to the airport didn't turn up at the nth hour, they arranged for an alternative very quickly.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank socrates009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Hauz Khas
Iris Park Hotel
Iris Park Hotel
#145 of 715 in New Delhi
179 reviews
Hauz Khas
Shreyans Inn
Shreyans Inn
#167 of 715 in New Delhi
58 reviews
Hauz Khas
Hotel Oscar
Hotel Oscar
#483 of 715 in New Delhi
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hauz Khas
Deer Park Villa
Deer Park Villa
#137 of 715 in New Delhi
26 reviews
Hauz Khas
Hotel Park Residency
Hotel Park Residency
#458 of 715 in New Delhi
61 reviews
Hauz Khas
Hotel Zara Grand – Green Park
Hotel Zara Grand – Green Park
#443 of 715 in New Delhi
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Africa Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Africa Avenue

Property: Hotel Africa Avenue
Address: Africa Avenue | South Delhi, New Delhi 110017, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Hauz Khas
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #498 of 715 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Africa Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Hotel Africa Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing