We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place, would definitely stay here again”
Review of Devna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Devna
Ranked #51 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“Great place, would definitely stay here again”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

In addition to being located in a very nice part of Delhi, this charming small hotel has a lot of character, is beautifully furnished and - most importantly - is staffed by some of the friendliest people we had the pleasure to meet in all of India. Thanks again to the entire Devna team.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidMWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    65
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
54
100
31
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at devna over Christmas and had a great time. The hotel is located on a quiet rd but in a central location close to all the tourist attractions. Breakfast was included in the price and was excellent. Nothing was too much trouble for their charming staff. The hotel is beautifully decorated. I would stay there again.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Will O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013

A small but a great place to stay in Sundar Nagar, not far from the city centre. The staff is very helpful and the food is also homemade and great. If you are looking for a comfortable stay, this is it. Beds are very comfortable and rooms clean with a curios adorning the property. The sit out is very enjoyable.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms. Opt for the 1st floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajiv_Lall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We arrived at Devna at 3 in the morning having just landed from a long flight. We were immediately made to feel welcome and part of the family. Oversleeping the next day and missing breakfast, an impromptu brunch was whistled up for us.The hotel is very clean and pretty, the courtyard outside for meals and drinks really is an oasis from the bustle of Delhi. There is a pleasant restaurant within walking distance, most other things seem to be a car journey away.

Look out for the sound and light show at the fort (almost) next door. It's a little hard to find. but great fun.

David has good contacts with a local car hire firm, and from our limited experience with them I would recommend booking cars through him too.

Room Tip: Upstairs room are nice, didn't see downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harpenden4912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

I have been travelling to Delhi for years and have at last found the place I really want to go back to. Devna is a tiny (4 bedroom) boutique hotel in Sunder Nagar, a good neighbourhood, close to shops, especially antique shops,and Humayun's tomb, one of my favourite places in the capital. The hotel, which is more like a private house, is surrounded by greenery, and has a very nice little breakfast courtyard out the front. I love the decor - full of late-Raj memorabilia, a wind-up record-player, and lots of quirky modern art on the walls. The staff were very easy to communicate with, and the bookings went smoothly. I recommend you use Devna's airport pick-up service. It took all the hassle out of getting from the airport to the hotel. Rooms were about R5000 per night. I have paid this much for places that were not nearly this pleasant.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have external windows and a tiny balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McComas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I am surprised that this guest house is "Top Choice" in The Lonely Planet. Its location is good, and David Raj is welcoming and friendly, but it is the only place that we stayed during our 6 week trip of India where we had to pay for our own welcome drinks! We were part of a larger group and specifically asked to have adjacent rooms on the first floor. This request was agreed AND confirmed by email, but on arrival we discovered that two of our group had been relocated to a different hotel down the road without any prior consultation. We all thought that breakfast was disappointing - no fresh juice, little choice of fresh fruit, instant coffee and omelettes that came wrapped in kitchen roll. We chose not to stay at Devna when we returned to Delhi, as we considered it to be poor value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are superior to the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10Beth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devna10, Owner at Devna, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Mott,

I was surprised to see your comment on tripadvisor. I totally agree with you that you were inconvenienced because we had to shift you to another guest house (which is a house away).
Though we had confirmed your booking via email, I personally spoke to you during your stay at our place regarding an emergency situation concerning a tragedy in the family of one of our regular overseas guest.
In this connection since the bereaved guest had to stay on with us for the connecting flight, I requested you to kindly shift to another suitable accommodation down the road at our expense. You graciously agreed and we personally made sure of your comfort at the alternative hotel and cleared your lodging bills ourselves.
I really appreciate your help in case of the unforeseen emergency of one of our guests but this was beyond our control.
As far as breakfast is concerned, I apologize if things were not up to your liking. We do not serve welcome drink so you were charged for something you must have ordered.
We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Delhi and assure you of the most satisfying and comfortable experience.

Best Wishes
Devna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at Devna for three nights in early October. The place is located in a quiet neighbourhood but with easy access to the main attractions with a short taxi ride. We felt as special guests from the moment we arrived until we left. The staff attended to any questions we had on the area, where to go, where to buy and eat (nice restaurants near by). The room was specious and comfortable. They also organised a driver for our stay (Dao) who was fun and looked after us. Definitely a great place to stay when in Delhi.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tsachi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Nizamuddin
La Sagrita
La Sagrita
#66 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Ahuja Residency Sunder Nagar
#108 of 713 in New Delhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Shervani New Delhi
#141 of 713 in New Delhi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
bloomrooms @ Link Rd
#28 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Hotel Palace Heights
#26 of 713 in New Delhi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devna

Property: Devna
Address: 10 Smaller Gate, New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Nizamuddin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 713 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Devna 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property houses it's private art collection and guests are welcome to enjoy the art - a collection of new and old paintings by India's finest artists. Ten, which has just five rooms, enjoys a wonderfully quiet location opposite a grassy green park in the classy suburb of Sunder Nagar. It seems to be particularly popular with people staying in the Indian capital for more than just a couple of days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Devna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing