We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Devna

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Devna
Ranked #55 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I am surprised that this guest house is "Top Choice" in The Lonely Planet. Its location is good, and David Raj is welcoming and friendly, but it is the only place that we stayed during our 6 week trip of India where we had to pay for our own welcome drinks! We were part of a larger group and specifically asked to have adjacent rooms on the first floor. This request was agreed AND confirmed by email, but on arrival we discovered that two of our group had been relocated to a different hotel down the road without any prior consultation. We all thought that breakfast was disappointing - no fresh juice, little choice of fresh fruit, instant coffee and omelettes that came wrapped in kitchen roll. We chose not to stay at Devna when we returned to Delhi, as we considered it to be poor value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor are superior to the others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 10Beth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devna10, Owner at Devna, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Mott,

I was surprised to see your comment on tripadvisor. I totally agree with you that you were inconvenienced because we had to shift you to another guest house (which is a house away).
Though we had confirmed your booking via email, I personally spoke to you during your stay at our place regarding an emergency situation concerning a tragedy in the family of one of our regular overseas guest.
In this connection since the bereaved guest had to stay on with us for the connecting flight, I requested you to kindly shift to another suitable accommodation down the road at our expense. You graciously agreed and we personally made sure of your comfort at the alternative hotel and cleared your lodging bills ourselves.
I really appreciate your help in case of the unforeseen emergency of one of our guests but this was beyond our control.
As far as breakfast is concerned, I apologize if things were not up to your liking. We do not serve welcome drink so you were charged for something you must have ordered.
We look forward to hosting you on your next visit to Delhi and assure you of the most satisfying and comfortable experience.

Best Wishes
Devna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

192 - 198 of 298 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

We stayed at Devna for three nights in early October. The place is located in a quiet neighbourhood but with easy access to the main attractions with a short taxi ride. We felt as special guests from the moment we arrived until we left. The staff attended to any questions we had on the area, where to go, where to buy and eat (nice restaurants near by). The room was specious and comfortable. They also organised a driver for our stay (Dao) who was fun and looked after us. Definitely a great place to stay when in Delhi.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tsachi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

My husband and I stayed in Devna for 3nights. Unfortunately we couldn't get one of the rooms on the first floor, our room was in the basement and had almost no day light, since we were never in the room during day, it was OK. but for the price that we paid we were a bit disappointed.
The service in Devna was really great, people were super friendly and helped us a lot (it was our first days in India and we really needed some help). and try the fresh made aloo parathas for breakfast, they were really good.
all in all if you want to stay in Devna ask explicit for a room in first floor.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahsa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

I stayed 16 days at Devna this September and there really isn't anything else to say beyond what all the other excellent reviews have said. UNBELIEVABLE SERVICE....I will start by saying that the service at this hotel was superior to any other we have stayed in. Manoj, was the finest example of a concierge I have ever had the pleasure of being helped by.
The garden has a wonderful atmosphere for breakfast and snacks. All room service orders were correct and delivered on time. location and room was enough pleasing to get the feel of home for me. Would really like to thank to Manoj and other staff for their excellent service

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kstone644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Devna is an absolutely superb little guest house within the larger enclave of Sunder Nagar, a leafy, quiet, sanctuary amid the turmoil of Delhi. We checked in at midnight, after a long haul, and felt instantly at home. In the morning we savoured breakfast in the beautiful courtyard and looked forward to returning each night.
Only 5 minutes walk from the Devna are great local shops and restaurants, so you really don't need to leave Sunder Nagar at all but we had our lovely driver, Dau, who collected us from the airport (arranged by the Devna) show us the sights and sounds of Delhi.
At the end of a long hot tour of Rajasthan, we were so looking forward to returning for our last night in India at the Devna, where we enjoyed a candle-lit meal of Kumari's delicious chicken biryani.
All the staff are fantastic and will make you absolutely welcome. See you next time!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I arrived late in the middle of the night. This was my first of many experiences in India and i did not know what to expect. I stayed in many 5 star hotels later and must say the Devna was extraordinary. Very clean, comfortable, central and hospitable. I had to leave for Agra the next day at 5:00am and they packed my breakfast meticulously in a cloth bag and even put the mixed pickles, they knew I liked, in a nice plastic container. Highly recommended and I am fussy. David Raj was very helpful and went out of his way to make sure I was happy.

Room Tip: I asked for a quiet room and I had no complaints.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Devna is located in a posh area, with a small park nearby, the Zoo and a historical site.
It has few rooms and thus very personal. The rooms are very exquisitely furnished and tidy. Coming back to India from our recent trips to the South, Rajasthan and Kolkata, it is refreshing to find a decent and clean hotel, a home away from home.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The owners are also often there and are very friendly.
They can organize you a nice car for Rp1,200 for 8 hours city tour. It was worth the money and you can see Delhi in one day.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms, and they are more or less the same. We stayed in the middle room and that wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maritesthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Nizamuddin
La Sagrita
La Sagrita
#64 of 777 in New Delhi
366 reviews
Nizamuddin
Shervani New Delhi
Shervani New Delhi
#182 of 777 in New Delhi
140 reviews
Shanti Home
#4 of 777 in New Delhi
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
bloomrooms @ Link Rd
#31 of 777 in New Delhi
1,033 reviews
The Manor
#74 of 777 in New Delhi
446 reviews
Hotel Palace Heights
#33 of 777 in New Delhi
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Devna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Devna

Address: 10 Smaller Gate, New Delhi 110003, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Nizamuddin
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 777 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: $62 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Devna 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The property houses it's private art collection and guests are welcome to enjoy the art - a collection of new and old paintings by India's finest artists. Ten, which has just five rooms, enjoys a wonderfully quiet location opposite a grassy green park in the classy suburb of Sunder Nagar. It seems to be particularly popular with people staying in the Indian capital for more than just a couple of days. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Devna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing