We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Choice”
Review of Karim's

Karim's
Ranked #529 of 12,577 Restaurants in New Delhi
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Germany
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Choice”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

The place is set in a very Moslem quarter of New Delhi. There were not many female faces about, which I, as a women, found a bit intimidating. That said, I was with three men, so felt quite safe.

The food was very good, naturally Halaal, but the setting was pretty average. Clearly no alcohol is served.

My guess is that there are many many good restaurants that are not even listed, but if the restauarant is in your area, pay a visit, otherwise look for a nearer alternative.

Be warned that there are several Karim restaurants, but only two that belong to the original owner and have a good reputation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PenfromSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    57
    30
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“nice one .”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

At this place i love butter chicken, they make it so nice that if i think of butter chiken i want to visit the place and eat there... its funny but i got to know about this place from a foreigner friend of mine from the USA...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank loveUtraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Historic Place but average”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The place has been around for ever and they are using that to make it high volume and profit location. Lot of foreigner's end up here due to its mention in the travel guides. But they miss out on some really excellent food at restaurants close by.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ravishashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Food”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Nan served here is the best I have tasted till date. We ordered Gurda kaleji and Chicken Jahangiri Boneless with the super tasty Nan. The chicken Jahangiri was okayish. But, Gurda Kaleji was amazing. To further satiate our hunger, we ordered Mutton Nihari (which was not on the menu) on the Waiter's insistence. And, guess what. It was a very different and finger licking Mutton recipe which I had not tasted before. A big Thumbs up to this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAM_CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dirty, very dirty.”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The place was dirty, the food was cold, I sincerely do not recomend it. Do not waste your time or your money. It is ridiculous to have to relly on spices to make a foos eatable....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesus Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karim's also viewed

New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
New Delhi, National Capital Territory of Delhi
 

Been to Karim's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing