We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in Paharganj”
Review of Hotel Le Roi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Le Roi
Ranked #112 of 712 Hotels in New Delhi
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We booked this hotel directly on their website and got a reasonable deal for an Executive room. The hotel is located in Paharganj area near New Delhi Railway Station. The area represents a picture of Old Delhi but it's a heaven for back packers. We stayed in this hotel as a stopover twice during our trip to India.
We have stayed in this area before but this hotel seems to be the best out of all. As soon as you walk into the hotel you literally forget about the area and you feel you are in different part of Delhi.
The check in / check out process very prompt and the staff spoke English and were friendly and courteous. The lobby is clean, air conditioned and has Business centre with free access to Internet and foreign exchange bureau.
When we walked into the rooms we were amazed to see the cleanliness and there was no insects, mosquitoes or any bad smell and even sound proof. The rooms had tea/coffee, AC, clean and comfortable beds, shower room with clean toilets, toiletries, etc. We did not get a chance to try their complimentary breakfast as we always left at crack of dawn to catch the train.
Rest assured we will always use this hotel when passing through Delhi and is recommended to all as long as you don't mind the area. It's not bad but just old part of Delhi so is expected.

Room Tip: We went for Executive rooms that was at a reasonat
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank upg_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandeepVerma09, Manager at Hotel Le Roi, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2011

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

This is our pleasure, you enjoy your stay with us & we make your stay memorable.

Hope we will see you again.

With warm regards

SANDEEP VERMA

Hotel Le Roi
New Delhi
India

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Le Roi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

451 - 457 of 745 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2011

One of the best hotels I've stayed during my 2 week trip around India. Rooms were nice and the bed was a dream! Awesome breakfast with eggs to be ordered as you wish. Being near the New Delhi station was another big positive point for me, because with 80 rupees we got the Express Airport Train to be at the international airport in roughly 20 minutes!
I had to deal with some issues during my stay at Le Roi, due to an incovenient staff member, but nothing that would affect my choice of staying there again on my next trip.
We were 2 girls traveling alone around India and choosing our hotels "on the fly" and this hotel was our big hit for those 2 weeks! Definitely worth it! =)

Room Tip: Always ask for a room in the back!
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Yani81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandeepVerma09, Manager at Hotel Le Roi, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

This is our pleasure, you enjoy your stay with us & we make your stay memorable.

Hope we will see you again.

With warm regards

SANDEEP VERMA

Hotel Le Roi
New Delhi
India

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2011

worth of staying in Paharganj area. My stayed at Le Roi on 14may , then come back again on 20may.this area is very close to bazaar which u can shop a lot :-) and also 10-15mins walk to train station. Its worth it stayed here(if u dont bothers about the chaos outside the hotel...bcos this is INDIA!) Room and interior is very modern and simple-Very clean .
Staff are very helpful and the
airport service pick-up are good too..i had very good night sleep there. Breakfast is ok, you can ask for egg(my husband ask for half boiled eggs but got boiled eggs..haahaa. But thats not a big issue)

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SalinaIsmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandeepVerma09, Manager at Hotel Le Roi, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

This is our pleasure, you enjoy your stay with us & we make your stay memorable.

Hope we will see you again.

With warm regards

SANDEEP VERMA

Hotel Le Roi
New Delhi
India

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2011

All together, we stayed 8 nights at « Le Roi ». 4 on arrival, 4 before leaving India.
Hotel Le Roi is like a little gem in chaotic, busy and overcrowded Paharganj.
You can reach the nearest Metro station in 5 minutes and the ND Railway station in 15 minutes.
The staff is very kind and helpful.
The rooms are clean, spacious and with new furniture. In the bathroom you get a complimentary dental kit, shaving kit and shampoo. There is a big flat screen TV with cabled channels. The beds are very comfortable.
Wi-Fi (a little bit slow) is complimentary as is breakfast.
For this price, this hotel is a bargain. On our first stay, we got a room with a window looking out on a little narrow backstreet which was very good but on our second visit, we got one on the main street which was sometimes a nightmare. Dogs barked like mad and you had the impression they were directly in your room !
I would recommend this hotel and would return myself on my next trip to Delhi but make sure you have a room in the back (209 or 210 for example).
I liked : the staff, the value, the furniture
I disliked : the un-soundproofed windows

Room Tip: Rooms with window looking out on a backstreet
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Madame-Minouche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandeepVerma09, Manager at Hotel Le Roi, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

This is our pleasure, you enjoy your stay with us & we make your stay memorable.

Hope we will see you again.

With warm regards

SANDEEP VERMA

Hotel Le Roi
New Delhi
India

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

I have never wrote a review before and never cared to follow them cause they tend to be subjective: one doesn't know the background of the reviewer therefore qualifications are relative. So let me quickly state my background: 36yo male, high end residential architect used to finest home materials and finishes and had maids clean my condo in USA. I am a clean freak and traveling around the world on a very tight budget for almost a year. I did NOT want to spend a lot of money in a hotel, but felt in Delhi i needed to upgrade my hotel budget, so i did. I searched and searched for hours and i wanted the Ritz for the price of a backpacker! so I started reading these reviews for this quick trip to Delhi on my way to Nepal. I must say that I narrowed my search to a hotel near the train station as my only motive to be in Delhi was to go to Agra on an early train. There are 'nicer' hoods in the city, and this is not a nice one. Its chaotic, dirty and dusty, noisy and traffic is a mess, but once the porter opens the doors for you, you step into an oasis.

First- the hotel is in great condition. must have been built within a decade. marble floors, glass partitions, AC all over, clean and bright dinning room with buffet style breakfast, travel desk and butlers, elevator, electronic keys, flat screen TV, wood wall paneling accents, bright white crisp sheets, great firm mattress, silk drapes, mini fridge, marble slab tile bath with good lighting, modern toilets sterilized, bowl sink, great shower with mosaic tiles, more marble, chrome fittings, etc, etc,etc... you get it: is perfectly fine inside this hotel. I did not want to leave once i entered. My ears where ringing and i was frantic with the world outside, but i got to my room, flipped the AC on took a shower and crawled in bed with my laptop and watch some bollywood music and ordered room service.
if you want this location- be worry free about this hotel-

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Architect75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandeepVerma09, Manager at Hotel Le Roi, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2011

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

This is our pleasure, you enjoy your stay with us & we make your stay memorable.

Hope we will see you again.

With warm regards

SANDEEP VERMA

Hotel Le Roi
New Delhi
India

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2011

We choose this hotel as our first stop in Delhi and India, the hotel and rooms we're of a better standard that some European ones at this price so it was a real bargain. The area could be a problem for some but once you become accustomed to India it felt safe wandering round even at night and was in a great position for some good local bars and restaurants. Even on only the second floor we did not find the noise too much and sleep well on the comfy big beds.
Food from the restaurant was good and cheap and the staff we're all very friendly and helpful. If you are looking for a mid to cheap price hotel i would defiantly recommend this place.

One downside is the hotel taxi pick up was overpriced, just use the police ran taxi booking service that guarantees the correct price for the distance.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCUK2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandeepVerma09, Manager at Hotel Le Roi, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

This is our pleasure, you enjoy your stay with us & we make your stay memorable. As per the Airport Transfer service we would like to intimate the entire guest, when we send any cab to the Airport for Airport Pick-up, we need to pay the High Parking fees with Entrance fee of our Representative so we can give a warm welcome to our Guest. These extra costs make Airport transfer little expensive but with this, our guest got a Nice, Safe & Secure Arrival on new destination (if you are first time visitor).

With warm regards

SANDEEP VERMA

Hotel Le Roi
New Delhi
India

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

This hotel is really weird. Not because of the hotel itself, but because of its location. If this hotel was at a better location in New Delhi, it would be just perfect.

Some words about the hotel: The hotel can be described as posh, stylish, high standard. It has a really nice, contemporary interiour design, almost like an upmarket boutique hotel. Everything makes sense, everything is new, clean, good. Staff is professional.

The problem: Pahar Ganj, the area of New Delhi where the hotel is located, is a really bad part of the city. In the hotel's neighbourhood, there are hundreds of unlicensed, shabby cheapest hostels where poor Indians from the countryside stay when they have to do something in the city, along with some Western backpackers and Goa drug hippies. Amongst Indians, the area has the reputation of being the main area in New Delhi for drug dealers and other criminals. You won't feel very safe on the street at night, with weird people staring at you.

The Hotel Le Roi is like a U.F.O. which has landed at the wrong location. Its clientele are middle-aged Europeans and American couples on an India sightseeing trip, who you would rather expect sitting on a nice tourist terrace sipping their coffees than mixing up with the people you will find in Pahar Ganj. I think most of them, after having had a short look on the street in front of the hotel, will decide not to leave the hotel at all. It seems as if the tour operators that arrange their trip book this hotel, because it is really a 4-star hotel, but at a 2.5-star price because of the location. They are trying to give value to the tourist's package this way.

If you want a good hotel at a low price and you don't care about the area (or you even enjoy such area), then this is the first choice for you.

If you are in New Delhi on a business trip, never tell your business partners where you stay or they will not take you serious any more!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Botoxmonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SandeepVerma09, Manager at Hotel Le Roi, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2011

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor.

This is our pleasure, you enjoy your stay with us & we make your stay memorable. We always accept this fact we are situated on busy street & due to the same it’s create little extra noise.

Hope we will see you again with some more nice & beautiful reviews.

With warm regards

SANDEEP VERMA

Hotel Le Roi
New Delhi
India

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Hari Piorko
Hotel Hari Piorko
#54 of 712 in New Delhi
1,711 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Treebo Natraj Yes Please
Treebo Natraj Yes Please
#79 of 712 in New Delhi
241 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Shelton
Hotel Shelton
#73 of 712 in New Delhi
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pahar Ganj
Grand Godwin Hotel
Grand Godwin Hotel
#52 of 712 in New Delhi
1,117 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
Hotel Godwin Deluxe
#61 of 712 in New Delhi
822 reviews
Pahar Ganj
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
Hotel Prince Palace Deluxe
#71 of 712 in New Delhi
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Le Roi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Roi

Address: 2206 Rajguru Road | Paharganj, Near New Delhi Railway Station, New Delhi 110055, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi > Pahar Ganj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 712 Hotels in New Delhi
Price Range: $29 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Le Roi 3.5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Roi Delhi provides you luxury accommodation in the heart of the Delhi. It is located in Paharganj near New Delhi Railway Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Le Roi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing