We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shalini is a Saint!”
Review of Sham Nath Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Delhi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sham Nath Villa
Ranked #4 of 1,096 New Delhi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Shalini is a Saint!”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I stayed here on the recommendation of a NRI (non-resident Indian) friend of mine, and am delighted that I did so. Shalini is an incredibly gracious, caring, and knowledgeable hostess, and will move mountains to ensure you enjoy your stay in Delhi. She gave me helpful advice on where to eat, what to see, and how to get around. On my first day in town, she even had one of her staff drive me to a nearby park so I wouldn't get lost. Towards the end of my stay, I had the pleasure of accompanying her and her friends on their daily walk around the same park, where they've been feeding stray dogs for years. She is so kind.

It is a testament to Shalini's able care that many of her guests are repeat visitors, sometimes staying for months on end.

Finally, I highly recommend taking a walking tour of Delhi with a friend of Shalini's named Surekha Narin. Ask Shalini for details.

Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank LingBKK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sham Nath Villa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for your warm comments . It was our pleasure to host you in our house . We are happy that you enjoyed your stay as much as we enjoyed having you over . Hope to see you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    15
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
54
83
46
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

We had a lovely stay at Sham Nath for the start and end of our tour of India. This was the perfect choice to ease into India with Shalina, the owner, providing a tour plan for each of our days with her. The best reason to visit Sham Nath is the wonderful hospitality!

The houses are beautiful and very spacious - one room we had opened out to a balcony overlooking one of the gardens and the second room was on a ground floor with access to sit in the main garden. I wish we had longer time to spend here. Breakfasts included eggs cooked to your specifications and toast, juice, tea, coffee. You could order dinner, which we did one night. We had a wonderfully cooked Indian meal. At other times, Shalina would send us a special treat or dish to try - very sweet!

The location in the city is very convenient - we were just a block from the Metro line and Shalina even had passes from previous guests for our use. The only small issue were some pretty hard mattresses - but this seemed to be the case throughout most of India (we must be spoiled by our mattresses at home!). We would love to stay with Shalina at Sham Nath again should we be in Delhi in the future. Thanks!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeavingSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sham Nath Villa, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks for your encouraging and warm comments . We enjoyed hosting you in our house and look forward to your next visit ,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Our stay in Sham Nath Villa was lovely and very peaceful. Shalani is a great hostess, very welcoming and knowledgeable about the city. The room was large and comfortable, and the house has several common areas where you can relax with a nice hot cup of tea. There is a lovely public park (Kamla Nehru Ridge) within walking distance, and lots of conveniences close at hand (ATM, small grocery store, a few restaurants, etc). Most importantly, the Civil Lines metro station is just steps from the front door, making travel to the rest of the city incredibly quick and convenient. We would recommend Sham Nath especially to first-time visitors to Delhi: tranquil yet well-connected, and the staff take evident care and pride in ensuring your stay will be memorable as well as comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topaz1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Our first trip to India and the first place we stayed. What a fantastic introduction. Shalina looked after us as if we were family. The house is beautiful we had a very large room and huge bathroom. The food was very good and the staff all very courteous. Shalina joined us at meals and we had some really interesting conversations with her about India, the house and their family history. We would stay there again if visiting Delhi. The location is great as the metro is just down the road and Shalina even gave us the cards needed for the trains[equivalent to oyster cards]. Shalina is a lovely, warm,intelligent individual you cannot help but warm to her immediately. She is very knowledgeable about Delhi and gives great advice about sightseeing.
Thank you Shalina.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Sham Nath Villa, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Thank you for your encouraging comments . Makes us happy when our guests go back with happy memories of India . Hope to see you again soon .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

What can I say that hasn't already been said? Probably nothing, so I'll just say it all again. Sham Nath Villa is the perfect home away from home. The villa itself is beautiful (and has lots of history if you care to inquire). The rooms are spacious and clean, and the one we were in had a huge balcony overlooking the beautiful garden. And the location right next to the metro is unbeatable. I was absolutely floored by how nice/efficient/cheap the Delhi metro is. By far the best way to get around the city. But what really stands out about this place is the service. Everyone was so kind, and we had everything we needed within a moment's request. Oh, and the food is amazing. Do try to eat dinner there at least once...the family has employed the same cook for over 30 years, and there is a reason why! Ultimately, though, it all comes down to Shalina, the owner (with her husband Arun) of the guesthouse. She took us in as her own, and we have made a life-long friend in her. She is so kind and incredibly knowledgeable about the city. She knew exactly where to tell us to go...and she was never wrong. We enjoyed it all. Be sure to take advantage. And if you have time, ask her about herself and her family. Their story is fascinating. Thank you Shalina and Arun (and staff) for making our stay in Delhi one to remember for years to come. We will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lbb531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kawagoe, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed January 27, 2013

My husband and I were so glad that we decided to stay here the whole two weeks of our stay in India.It won't be an exaggeration to say that this villa was one of the highlights of our trip.
The location is very convenient with a restaurant, a cafe, a hairdresser, a bank and the metro station within 5 minutes walking distance. New Lines itself is a very good area- not too crowded but not too far away from the city center either. Our bedroom was spacious, clean and comfortable. The garden was simply beautiful- perfect for reading outside or just enjoying the masala tea and biscuits that the staff provides every afternoon. The staff was just helpful and very courteous- the cook even let me into the kitchen to learn how to cook Indian food! We really enjoyed the very filling Indian breakfast. There was always something new to try every everyday- parantthas, mango pickles, biryani- all very delicious!
Last but not least, our hosts Shalini and Arun were just amazing! They really treated us like family. Shalini would join us every morning for breakfast and give advice on where to go, what to do and how to do things. She knows everything there is to know about the best places to shop with the best prices.
We spent Christmas and New Year in Delhi. For both occasions Shalini and Arun invited us over for drinks to celebrate. Their warm hospitality really made us feel right at home away from home. We felt like we found our new Indian family!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SriSB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Japan
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Shalini and Arun are quite frankly superstars. They looked after us like family. They gave us Sage advice about the where, when, who and hows of traveling in New Dehli for India Novices.
The staff was quiet and courteous, always remembering to come around and offer us Masala chai in the afternoon. The rooms were clean,tastefully decorated and spacious. The hotel garden was lovely, unfortunately New Dehli had the coldest winter in living memory (this is India so living memory is a loooong time;) so we didn't get to enjoy the garden as much as we wanted. We spent 2 weeks in New Dehli over the Christmas break and we had a great time. Please ask shalini about The Kingdom Of Dreams and Akshardam, she recommended these two places for us and for me they were the highlights of our trip. Across from the hotel is a Hookkah cafe that was pretty cool too. The hotel has a good relationship with a small tour car company run by the friendly Rajun, good service, reliable drivers and decent prices. the Metro is a stones throw away,the most useful line(yellow line) to see all the standard New Delhi tourist locations. This BnB has my seal of approval 100%.
oh and breakfast rocked.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanBJapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New Delhi hotels
0.1 mi away
Maidens Hotel
Maidens Hotel
#11 of 715 in New Delhi
1,091 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Leela Palace New Delhi
The Leela Palace New Delhi
#1 of 715 in New Delhi
2,832 reviews
7.0 mi away
Wood Castle Grand
Wood Castle Grand
#9 of 715 in New Delhi
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Tatvamasi Homestay
Tatvamasi Homestay
#1 of 1,096 in New Delhi
285 reviews
10.8 mi away
Saket Bed and Breakfast
Saket Bed and Breakfast
#3 of 1,096 in New Delhi
375 reviews
7.4 mi away
Colonel's Retreat
Colonel's Retreat
#2 of 1,096 in New Delhi
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sham Nath Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sham Nath Villa

Property: Sham Nath Villa
Address: 12 Shamnath Marg | Civil Lines, New Delhi 110054, India
Location: India > National Capital Territory of Delhi > New Delhi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 1,096 B&Bs / Inns in New Delhi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sham Nath Villa bed and breakfast delhi has 5 elegantly furnished bedrooms. All bedrooms have balconies and are with modern bathrooms. We offer a complimentary continental or traditional Indian breakfast.A great opportunity to live in India while enjoying five-star quality surroundings – a perfect answer for those visitors who appreciate a touch of home.A stay at Sham Nath Villa is really a home away from home! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing